Dosing advice? New to Lantus

barrybuttonsmom

Member Since 2020
Hey everyone!

Barry recently started Lantus after his poor response to ProZinc. He has started having neurological episodes again. Seems to only happen when BG is >350. I know I need to hold the starting 1u dose to 7 days. But, seems like he needs a much higher dose than that anyways.

What do I increase to and when? He started having large amounts of glucose in his urine again today.
 
Hi Emily!

Welcome to Lantus!!! I don’t know much about switching from Prozinc to Lantus, but wanted to say welcome :)

I’m sure someone will be along to advise better.

Barry is so handsome :cat:
 
Since you are seeing blue numbers after just 7 cycles on 1 unit, keep holding the dose to let the depot fill. That takes 5-7 days (10-14 cycles), so you have at least a day and a half to go.

Have you looked at our Dosing Methods Sticky Notes and decided which one you'd like to follow? Our suggestions on dosing and timing are based on which dosing method you'd like to follow with Barry. The size of the increase would be 0.25 units at this point. Timing TBD.
 
Hi Emily, looks like Barry likes Lantus! :-)

Could you add a row in your SS before 1/13 and say switching to Lantus or something like that? I can do this for you, if you'd like.

I don't know if I am misreading it, but it seems like your shot times are different every day? Is there a reason you aren't shooting at the same time every day? 15 mins here and there is okay, but an hour early or later could be the equivalent of an increase or a decrease. Were you trying to move to a 7am/7pm shooting schedule?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
 
Hi Emily, looks like Barry likes Lantus! :)

Could you add a row in your SS before 1/13 and say switching to Lantus or something like that? I can do this for you, if you'd like.

I don't know if I am misreading it, but it seems like your shot times are different every day? Is there a reason you aren't shooting at the same time every day? 15 mins here and there is okay, but an hour early or later could be the equivalent of an increase or a decrease. Were you trying to move to a 7am/7pm shooting schedule?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
Hi there! I will add that line today.

His current shot schedule is the absolute best I can do. I work weird hours and very long shifts. I have no help with him. My schedule already stresses me out a lot. I am trying my best :(
 
Since you are seeing blue numbers after just 7 cycles on 1 unit, keep holding the dose to let the depot fill. That takes 5-7 days (10-14 cycles), so you have at least a day and a half to go.

Have you looked at our Dosing Methods Sticky Notes and decided which one you'd like to follow? Our suggestions on dosing and timing are based on which dosing method you'd like to follow with Barry. The size of the increase would be 0.25 units at this point. Timing TBD.

I don’t see it being possible to accurately dose out 0.25cc. There is no way I could do that on the syringes I have and I currently can’t afford to buy new ones until I run out :(
 
Emily --

Bhooma's concern over shot time is due to the way the depot works. An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction. You have about a 30 min. window before the depot become a factor in your shot time. Some cats may allow for a little more flexibility but the shift in shot time can make the numbers less predictable. I know you don't have control over your schedule. Depending on how Lantus is working for Barry, you may want to think about using Prozinc as an alternative since it does not have a depot.
 
Last edited:
I don’t see it being possible to accurately dose out 0.25cc. There is no way I could do that on the syringes I have
Which brand are you using? There is a paper ruler than can be used with BD syringes. We all use 1/2 unit marked syringes, and eyeball the difference. Or fill an old syringe with coloured liquid as a reference syringe.
 
Emily --

Bhooma's concern over shot time is due to the way the depot works. An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction. You have about a 30 min. window before the depot become a factor in your shot time. Some cats may allow for a little more flexibility but the shift in shot time can make the numbers less predictable. I know you don't have control over your schedule. Depending on how Lantus is working for Barry, you may want to think about using Prozinc as an alternative since it does not have a depot.

Hi there! So, Prozinc is a no go. Barry did not respond well at all to it. :(
 
Which brand are you using? There is a paper ruler than can be used with BD syringes. We all use 1/2 unit marked syringes, and eyeball the difference. Or fill an old syringe with coloured liquid as a reference syringe.

I am using a mixed variety of U-100s. Some BD-ultra fine and some Walmart brand. None of them have half marks between the units :( where can I find a ruler?
 
I am using a mixed variety of U-100s. Some BD-ultra fine and some Walmart brand. None of them have half marks between the units :( where can I find a ruler?

I thought Walmart's ReliOn brand came with half unit marks?

139650458_1105001393273687_7166421636263618861_n.jpg
 
The Relion syringes do come with both 1.0 and 0.5u markings. You need to make sure you're buying the ones that are marked in half unit increments.
 
The Relion syringes do come with both 1.0 and 0.5u markings. You need to make sure you're buying the ones that are marked in half unit increments.

Hi Sienne, do all of them not come with 1/2 unit markings? Remember Chris saying something to that effect. I could be wrong since I've never bought them!
 
Hi Emily, since money seems to be tight and you're in the US, have you written to Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN)? They're a wonderful organization, and if you need help, they can send you free Lantus pens and a few weeks worth of Carepoint syringes that come with half unit markings. It takes them about three weeks to send them out, but it's helpful nevertheless. Here's a link to their assistance programs: https://dcin.dreamhosters.com/assistance-programs/.
 
Back
Top