Dosing advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,

I am brand new to the forum and have been advised from some AMAZING people from the health site to pose my question here as well. Below you will find my original post. If you are interested in the thread then you can find it in health "New to forum..dosing question."

This morning my cat had a bg of 3.3. She uses lantus and is currently on 4 units per day. I panicked and skipped the dose. I just did her pre-shot and she is at 486mg and just had some food. Some people said that I should give her 3 units and would like to confirm with other Lantus users. My original post is below. Please advise as I need to give her dose at 7:30pm.

Thank you SO much!


My 9 year old cat Ella was diagnosed with acute pancreatitis in Decemeber. She was hospitalized for what seemed like the longest four days of my life. Since then she's become diabetic and we still haven't been able to get her regulated. She is currently on four units of Lantus twice a day and her numbers have been slowly decreasing over the last month. Before her injection last night, I noticed that there was a lump under her skin where I normally inject (scruff). I did not see redness and when I touched it, Ella didn't seem uncomfortable so it may just be scar tissue?!
We injected her 4 units to the left of the lump and I began to panic, thinking that perhaps the insulin has not been able to absorb properly because I have been injecting in the same place. This morning she was begging for food (more than ususal) and seemed agitated. I fed her, she ate well, and then checked her blood glucose level and she was at 3.3! This is the lowest that she has ever been! I didn't give her the insulin shot and offered some wet food which she also ate. She currently eats dry hills m/d and I have wet m/d for emrgencies if I have to syringe her when she is sick.
I tested her bg an hour later and she was at 8.5. She is sleeping comfortably right now but I'm not sure if I should have given her a decreased shot when she went up to 8.5.
I will continue to test her bg throughout the day but was seeking advice regarding doses from expereinced pet owners.

Now with these numbers it important to know that her insulin might not have been absorbed properly this whole time.
My vet told me that I could use the scruff for up to a year without rotation. She had a fever a few days ago, with diahrea and has been lethargic. I took her to the vet on Friday and she gave me Fortiflora to help stop the diahrea. She had some yesterday but no poo in the litter box today so perhaps it is working. Temp went down too. Last night I tested her because of her lethragy and she was at 17.6 and her glucose strips showed high glucose in the evening which is why I was very surprised with this morning number of 3.3. I'm assuming the insulin hasn't been absorbed properly. I apologize for the long winded email but I guess my question is: should I have given her a decreased dose when she went up to 8.5? She is on a long acting insulin and it was an hour after her required dose so I just trust my intuition but am curious as to what others think.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posting:) Looking forward to your comments.

Tamara
 
Tamara

Since you already started a thread....I responded there regarding dosing suggestions so please check in that thread:

Ella's First Post

If you start a new thread like this one, then people will not realize all you have already been told :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top