Dosing advice needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mariaana and Milo

Member Since 2021
Our Vet increased Lantus dose from 2 Units to 3 Units yesterday. (May 6th) At AMPS i decreased Insulin to 2.5 Units, as i felt very uneasy giving another whole Unit. BSL was going down nicely in the day...but at PMPS
Milos BGL was 5.5mmol/L i stalled for 30 min and retested @ 5.4.mmol/L Decided to not give any Insulin. *** The Vet has always stressed to not give any Insulin if AMPS/PMPS are below 10 mmol/L.***

AMPS This morning (May 7) was + 20,so i shot 2.5 Units.
What am i to do now? Now when we get a 'nice' PMPS number like 5.5 mmol/L i cant
give him his Insulin and then of course his AMPS is always high...
I am unsure how to get of this "merry go round" and need some guidance please.
PS: Milo is due his PMPS dose in 8 hrs. Food: FF Pate and Friskies Pate.
Thank you.
 
Last edited:
What am i to do now? Now when we get a 'nice' PMPS number like 5.5 mmol/L i cant
give him his Insulin and then of course his AMPS is always high...
Lantus is a depot type insulin, so what you give as a dose this cycle, does not all go to work in that cycle.

I think you would be better posting over in the Lantus/Levemir/Basaglar ISG group.

Lots of sticky posts at the top of that forum too, to give you more information on how Lantus works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top