Dosing advice needed soon

Status
Not open for further replies.
As long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as may be necessary, you should plan on shooting anything over 150. As you gain more confidence and experience, that number goes down even further.

If you shot the 3U tonight, I'd get a +1 and +2 to start with
 
As long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as may be necessary, you should plan on shooting anything over 150. As you gain more confidence and experience, that number goes down even further.

If you shot the 3U tonight, I'd get a +1 and +2 to start with
Thanks so much! I did 3U and she’s at 188 +1. Thank you for helping us
 
Kristen when you get a chance please add SLGS to your signature, and color your PMPS green :cat:
Kristen if no one replies I would skip tonight, that number is too low using a pet meter
I don't feel comfortable and not that experienced with giving advice on dosing
But since no one is on board I would skip. You can put NS in the unit column
 
Last edited:
Kristen when you get a chance please add SLGS to your signature, and color your PMPS green :cat:
Kristen if no one replies I would skip tonight, that number is too low using a pet meter
I don't feel comfortable and not that experienced with giving advice on dosing
But since no one is on board I would skip. You can put NS in the unit column
Thank you for your help. I was going skip unless someone experienced came in and said otherwise.
 
Just seeing the tag.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90, provided you can monitor. I know you are an hour past your shot time, but if you can adjust your schedule to accomodate delay, you can still shoot.
She has earned a reduction to 2.75 with that diip below 90. So your new dose going forward is 2.75U

Next time you get a number below 90, stall without feeding and test again in 20 mins. If the number rises over 90, it is safe to shoot - provided you can monitor.

Since you are using Lantus, you would get more eyes on your posts on the Lantus forum.
 
Just seeing the tag.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90, provided you can monitor. I know you are an hour past your shot time, but if you can adjust your schedule to accomodate delay, you can still shoot.
She has earned a reduction to 2.75 with that diip below 90. So your new dose going forward is 2.75U

Next time you get a number below 90, stall without feeding and test again in 20 mins. If the number rises over 90, it is safe to shoot - provided you can monitor.

Since you are using Lantus, you would get more eyes on your posts on the Lantus forum.
Thanks, good to know about the Lantus forum. I did stall without feeding for 20 minutes and she was at 81. I didn’t shoot and hopefully everything will be okay. Thank you for your help.
 
Just seeing the tag.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90, provided you can monitor. I know you are an hour past your shot time, but if you can adjust your schedule to accomodate delay, you can still shoot.
She has earned a reduction to 2.75 with that diip below 90. So your new dose going forward is 2.75U

Next time you get a number below 90, stall without feeding and test again in 20 mins. If the number rises over 90, it is safe to shoot - provided you can monitor.

Since you are using Lantus, you would get more eyes on your posts on the Lantus forum.
I have to keep reading up but SLGS is only done if there is dry food in the picture? I have dr elseys dry on hand that I sometimes give to my cat, but not that much at all. She could likely go without it completely. I just generally need to have a lot of food choices on hand because she has GI lymphoma and is not always the best eater and/or is picky. If she only eats wet I do a different dosing protocol?
 
I have to keep reading up but SLGS is only done if there is dry food in the picture? I have dr elseys dry on hand that I sometimes give to my cat, but not that much at all. She could likely go without it completely. I just generally need to have a lot of food choices on hand because she has GI lymphoma and is not always the best eater and/or is picky. If she only eats wet I do a different dosing protocol?

Yes, if you give dry food, you have to follow SLGS. With SLGS, you hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter, 68 mg/dl on a oet meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats on a human meter). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
 
Yes, if you give dry food, you have to follow SLGS. With SLGS, you hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter, 68 mg/dl on a oet meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats on a human meter). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
Thank you so much for the explanation. I should prob stick with SLGS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top