Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Member Since 2018
By the way Wenchie such a beautiful girl, you will do fine once you get the hang of itHe does!!!! We do it together! But he won't do it without me. She's a two-person job!
By the way Wenchie such a beautiful girl, you will do fine once you get the hang of itHe does!!!! We do it together! But he won't do it without me. She's a two-person job!
Don't mean to get off the subject congratulations on the baby and Buzzy sure is a handsome boy, he looks big, just like my Tyler@Diane Engoron literally you sound EXACTLY like me last week. I also am up at 4-something every day, am pregnant, and can't stay up. I 100% promise it gets easier. When you have more data, the decision become much easier to make. You're in the thick of it right now -- the hardest part
When you say 5:30am, is that before or after eating while taking her insulin?
Vomiting can definitely wonk w/ numbers. Someone more advanced with it will have to give advice. My former diabetic foster became a puker and he puked alllllllllllllllllllll the time. Fortunately, he went into remission, so we didn't have to worry about insulin anymore. We put him on a twice daily antiacid, he also was on bp medication, and I had a whole routine for his vomiting episodes (we're talking non-stop for hours) that involved withholding food til it stopped, slowly reintroducing food, and Cerenia at the worst of it. We did also have to change his diet, which seemed to help for brief periods of time, but the vomiting always started back up.
Thank God you tested him when you did, good job with the HC and KaroRetested at +4 - 32!!!! Karo and FF Beef Feast with Gravy (high carb). Can you imagine if we followed the vet's protocol and gave her 1/2 unit of Lantus! This is happening on 1/4 unit!
We have to run out to drop off the car but coming straight back home to be with her and retest at a little more than +5
32?! Have you retested yet? How's your kitty doing?
Thank God you tested him when you did, good job with the HC and Karo
Please let us know
Yup, we could imagine what would happen if you were giving the vet recommended dose.And thankfully I'm not following the Vet's protocol of 1/2 unit twice a day - could you imagine if I gave her 1/2 unit this morning????
No apologies needed here. Ever. Sheesh, you were simply trying to help your Wenchie. We all understood.
Yup, we could imagine what would happen if you were giving the vet recommended dose.
Or not home testing.
FYI for NEXT TIME
Change the title on your post when you get low numbers like that 32!!!! Late to do that now.
Do you know how to do that?
Put the 32 BG reading in your post, put the 911 prefix on your post and scream for help. Just like calling 911 for your local emergency services.
Don't need to do that now. But looking at the titles of posts helps us to prioritize who needs help faster.
Yes still using the Alphatrak. And I’m still monitoring. Just on my iPad right now as my husband is on the desktop. She’s absolutely fine. Eating, purring, sitting on my lap. Very scary but thankful I knew what to do right away.Are you still using an AlphaTrak meter? The 32 is even more worrisome if so.
What syringes are you using?
Please keep monitoring. Karo wears off quickly.
Is she keeping the food down?
Yes it would be interesting to see what tonight brings, only a suggestion you might want to change your signature to read that you are giving 0.25 of lantus twice a day, only if you want to so members can take a quick look at itI keep two bottles of Karo and a ton of carb canned & dry food in the house. She's back up now. It will be interesting at PMPS to see what's what.
Is it anyway possible that she could finally be making her own insulin? My husband asked me that and I don't know the answer. I'm just happy we're home with her and can watch her.
This disease sucks!!!!
Yes it would be interesting to see what tonight brings, only a suggestion you might want to change your signature to read that you are giving 0.25 of lantus twice a day, only if you want to so members can take a quick look at it
Oh gosh I'm sorry I wasn't following this closer, although you're in some good hands here of course. So glad you caught it testing! It can get kinda addictive, to be honest.
A half unit is a very reasonable starting dose, but I too had a diabetic who was very sensitive to insulin and would show large drops in BG on very small doses. That’s why it’s so important to home test. Kudos for educating yourself and knowing exactly what to do when the BG went so low.
Has anyone asked or verified that you’re drawing insulin to the correct spot on the syringe? I mention that only out of an abundance of caution as we’ve had members inadvertently give 2.5 units rather than 0.25 by misinterpreting the syringe markings. It should be just barely past the very first line (zero line) on the syringe.
A half unit is a very reasonable starting dose, but I too had a diabetic who was very sensitive to insulin and would show large drops in BG on very small doses. That’s why it’s so important to home test. Kudos for educating yourself and knowing exactly what to do when the BG went so low.
Has anyone asked or verified that you’re drawing insulin to the correct spot on the syringe? I mention that only out of an abundance of caution as we’ve had members inadvertently give 2.5 units rather than 0.25 by misinterpreting the syringe markings. It should be just barely past the very first line (zero line) on the syringe.
This is a great point, it's a bit uncommon (but not unheard of) for a cat to drop that low on .25 units of Lantus. With that 33 on the Alphatrak, I would lower the dose to .1 units if you were shooting a true .25 units. Here's a couple pictures of what .25 and .1 units look like. They're very small!
View attachment 51441 View attachment 51442
Don't get freaked out if Wenchies BG is high tonight. Often times you'll see high numbers a cycle or two after a hypoglycemic incident.
Thank you for this pic! Now I know I’m right on target.
Her BG was 282 tonight so we shot a .10. I am thinking she is extremely sensitive to Lantus or the drug just works really well.
I will be retesting tonight just to double check.
Exactly what I would do! With Lantus, it's great to get at least 1 mid-cycle test, but perhaps one or two more if you're able. We do the preshots to make sure it's safe to give insulin, but the mid-cycle numbers really tell us how the insulin is working to lower her blood sugar. It's very hard to find the right dose with Lantus without a daily mid-cycle test(s).
I would hold the .1 units for 3 days (as long as she doesn't drop too low again) and see what happens! It's very possible some of those high preshot numbers you've been seeing the past few weeks are because she was dropping too low mid-cycle (because we generally see high numbers after a cat drops low).
This is great news--it's very possible she's going into remission quickly. Some cats do that after a diet change and/or a cleared infection and don't need insulin long.
I see that you're feeding the YA dry in addition to the canned food--just a word of caution, the YA dry can cause BG spikes in some diabetic cats. The starch used to bind the food is low carb, but not low glycemic, and some cats are sensitive to that more than the carb content. I could feed Bandit a lower glycemic canned food with 8-10% carbs with no affect on his BG, but his BG would spike after a handful of the YA zero. Just want to mention that in case you see some wonkiness in numbers after the .1 unit dose settles--if that happens, I would pull all the dry and see what happens before you raise the dose back up.
Good luck!
Exactly what I would do! With Lantus, it's great to get at least 1 mid-cycle test, but perhaps one or two more if you're able. We do the preshots to make sure it's safe to give insulin, but the mid-cycle numbers really tell us how the insulin is working to lower her blood sugar. It's very hard to find the right dose with Lantus without a daily mid-cycle test(s).
I would hold the .1 units for 3 days (as long as she doesn't drop too low again) and see what happens! It's very possible some of those high preshot numbers you've been seeing the past few weeks are because she was dropping too low mid-cycle (because we generally see high numbers after a cat drops low).
This is great news--it's very possible she's going into remission quickly. Some cats do that after a diet change and/or a cleared infection and don't need insulin long.
I see that you're feeding the YA dry in addition to the canned food--just a word of caution, the YA dry can cause BG spikes in some diabetic cats. The starch used to bind the food is low carb, but not low glycemic, and some cats are sensitive to that more than the carb content. I could feed Bandit a lower glycemic canned food with 8-10% carbs with no affect on his BG, but his BG would spike after a handful of the YA zero. Just want to mention that in case you see some wonkiness in numbers after the .1 unit dose settles--if that happens, I would pull all the dry and see what happens before you raise the dose back up.
Good luck!
Hi Diane from one Diane to another, that's exactly what Tyler is on 0.10 unitsThank you for this pic! Now I know I’m right on target.
Her BG was 282 tonight so we shot a .10. I am thinking she is extremely sensitive to Lantus or the drug just works really well.
I will be retesting tonight just to double check.
Hi Diane from one Diane to another, that's exactly what Tyler is on 0.10 units
Can't wait to see how you girl does on that dose
You are doing great, and so cute she opened one of the cabinets and sitting on the dish towels, she's such a beautiful cat, sleep wellMe too. I think that's exactly enough for her. Just tested her and we did see a bounce from today's hypo event but she's feeling good and feisty, happily eating her FF. I can go to bed feeling somewhat relieved.
Thank you for checking in!!!! You guys are all so incredible! Night night!