Dosing advice for Oscar - Can't get out of the pinks :(

Could you catch a urine sample? Vet can dipstick it for various things (not all of which are accurate) but some things are indicative. The sample needs to be fresh. So when you catch it put it in the fridge and out of the light. Might be worth the vet checking for blood and if cloudy perhaps get a culture? It seems odd that he is not responding to the increase in the dose (but an increase dose take 5 to 7 days to have in impact).
 
I think Oscar must have know I was complaining! :nailbiting:

After days of flat number he finally pulls a 5.7! Big drop so I'm expecting a big bounce in the morning, but let's hope that now the dose has kicked in I start to see an improvement
 
Hi Carrie,

Just saw your comment about the ketone reading of 1.4mmol/L -- if you search my name, there are some posts with some good discussion about ketones from last week or so. I'd definitely encourage you to get some more food and lots of water into Oscar and keep monitoring that. There seems to be a bit of debate about what exact number is trouble, but either way, that's higher than you want it to be.
 
Thanks for the advice Alana, I'll definitely have a look through some of your posts.

I'm feeding him six times a day at the moment. He has a larger meal with his shot, and then two smaller meals at +2 and +4. I have been adding two tablespoons of water to his main meal, but I'll start adding more to the smaller ones as well. I've not notice him drink at all from his bowl since I changed him to wet food.
 
Ah yes -- Fats doesn't drink from the bowl either, just the bath tub tap! He basically gets "soup" to eat though. Hopefully that nice 5.7 means a lower ketone reading too. I think they can show up at lower numbers sometimes but that's for sure a good direction to be heading in :D
 
Red gums... get the vet to check it out! It could be the reason..
Agree with Sasha, those gums look like they are a bit inflamed, a bit of gingivitis, maybe some plaque on the upper teeth in the back. Can't see real well to tell. Definitely an "ask your vet" question.

I've just retested his ketones and they were down to 0.8mmol, definintely a better direction!

His +4 BG was 4.2/76 and that's with him eating bits over the past hour. @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ shall I drop back down to the 1.25u tomorrow morning?
I don't think you do want to decrease the dose just yet. Mainly I'm saying that because of the slight elevation/presence of ketones.

Finally some blues and greens! But you want more than 1 cycle with lower nadirs, and when your cat has some ketones. Try feeding a bit more food to Oscar, at his main meal if he will eat it. Maybe only a teaspoon or two. More food means he might not "burn up his own body tissue" to get energy to fuel his body. Ketones are produced when not enough food + not enough insulin and/or infection/inflammation.

Keeping him hydrated will help to flush out excess ketones from his bloodstream too, since he'll need to pee more.


p.s. New thread when you get a chance please, as this one is getting mighty long.
 
Back
Top