Oscar and Carrie
Member
Hi everyone,
I've been a bit quiet as we moved house last week so busy with that!
I would like a bit of advice with Oscar. I had him at 0.5u for just short of 3 weeks, in the hope that it was the bottle of ProZinc that was not as effective, but even after a change to another one there was no improvement in numbers.
I increased him to 0.66u just over a week ago, and this has had little impact. If anything his numbers have gone up!
The vet suggested I shouldn't have increased his dose as he hadn't been on the 0.5 long enough to see an impact and that his numbers looked fine before the dose increase ?? (though if I'm following the SLGS method, a week is enough isn't it?). My argument was that I'm testing frequently enough to see very quickly what the effect of a dose change is and that his nadir had never dropped under 10 so his BG levels were still too high.
I'm going to try and get a curve today, but it does look like he needs an increase. Should I go up to 1 after the 0.66, or should I do 0.75 first for a week, and then up to 1 if needed?
I've been a bit quiet as we moved house last week so busy with that!
I would like a bit of advice with Oscar. I had him at 0.5u for just short of 3 weeks, in the hope that it was the bottle of ProZinc that was not as effective, but even after a change to another one there was no improvement in numbers.
I increased him to 0.66u just over a week ago, and this has had little impact. If anything his numbers have gone up!
The vet suggested I shouldn't have increased his dose as he hadn't been on the 0.5 long enough to see an impact and that his numbers looked fine before the dose increase ?? (though if I'm following the SLGS method, a week is enough isn't it?). My argument was that I'm testing frequently enough to see very quickly what the effect of a dose change is and that his nadir had never dropped under 10 so his BG levels were still too high.
I'm going to try and get a curve today, but it does look like he needs an increase. Should I go up to 1 after the 0.66, or should I do 0.75 first for a week, and then up to 1 if needed?