Jodey&Eddie&Blue
Member Since 2021
Eddie, who has had surgery (hypophysectomy) and SRT for acromegaly has, for me, a confusing BG pattern, as you can see from his SS.
I recently increased his insulin (Glargine) from 13u to 14u in response to the variations on the BG theme. I was feeling quite encouraged yesterday when he started out in the blue zone (158) and stayed there at +5 (110) but then went all the way up (PMPS 365) and then again at +2 (434).
I emailed my vet who is not all that well-disposed to "internet advice" to ask his opinion on dosage and he was more annoyed that he didn't like the spreadsheet so didn't give any advice. I was having an online discussion on a FB Acromegaly group page about Eddie's numbers and someone said this: "you've been at 14u after fluctuating since 12u in the last two months. You're seeing occasional good numbers, and lower preshots, but you're still spending quite a bit of time in the pinks and some yellows. The occasional blue, though a little startling to you, have been good blues, and no greens exc 9/14. If it were me, I would do a bigger increase. 20% is 2.8u, and 25% is 3.5. 18% 2.5u. At a minimum, I would do the 18% increase, so 16.5u. Do you feel comfortable with that bump?"
I was a bit shocked at the suggestion of increasing 2.5u (!) but don't know if I should be shocked? I've always been told that increases should be moderate (like .5 or 1u) and I'm wondering what would be accomplished going to 16.5u from 14u??? I do not have enough experience to judge this suggestion.
Not having the experience and unable to assess the suggestion, I am seeking advice (given the variables in Eddie's case) from those experienced with dosing according to the spreadsheet.
Honestly, I'm at the limit of my experience when it comes to insulin (I've got the basics but not when it comes to regulation) and I would really appreciate some help here.
Thank you.
I recently increased his insulin (Glargine) from 13u to 14u in response to the variations on the BG theme. I was feeling quite encouraged yesterday when he started out in the blue zone (158) and stayed there at +5 (110) but then went all the way up (PMPS 365) and then again at +2 (434).
I emailed my vet who is not all that well-disposed to "internet advice" to ask his opinion on dosage and he was more annoyed that he didn't like the spreadsheet so didn't give any advice. I was having an online discussion on a FB Acromegaly group page about Eddie's numbers and someone said this: "you've been at 14u after fluctuating since 12u in the last two months. You're seeing occasional good numbers, and lower preshots, but you're still spending quite a bit of time in the pinks and some yellows. The occasional blue, though a little startling to you, have been good blues, and no greens exc 9/14. If it were me, I would do a bigger increase. 20% is 2.8u, and 25% is 3.5. 18% 2.5u. At a minimum, I would do the 18% increase, so 16.5u. Do you feel comfortable with that bump?"
I was a bit shocked at the suggestion of increasing 2.5u (!) but don't know if I should be shocked? I've always been told that increases should be moderate (like .5 or 1u) and I'm wondering what would be accomplished going to 16.5u from 14u??? I do not have enough experience to judge this suggestion.
Not having the experience and unable to assess the suggestion, I am seeking advice (given the variables in Eddie's case) from those experienced with dosing according to the spreadsheet.
Honestly, I'm at the limit of my experience when it comes to insulin (I've got the basics but not when it comes to regulation) and I would really appreciate some help here.
Thank you.
