Dosing advice BS 121 should I give Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Will&Laura

Member Since 2016
Kenzo had first dose of Lantus 2 units given by vet at 930am and she told me to give him the second dose at 8:30 p.m. due to the time change. I just checked his blood sugar on the ReliOn confirm and it was 121. Should I give him another two units tonight Or skip the one for tonight and start tomorrow morning? I really don't want to have a hypo cat this evening.
 
Have you fed him yet? If not, don't feed him and check his BG again in 20-30 minutes

Lantus should only be given every 12 hours.....what most of us do during the time change is start several days early and start shooting 15 minutes early each cycle, so that when we "spring forward", we've already given the cat a chance to get used it a little at a time

If your schedule permits, I'd shoot tonight at 9:15pm....that's 11.75 hours since this morning....and then work your way to your "chosen" shot times by shooting every 11.75 hours until you've made up the hour
 
Since we don't have any data on him yet, it's going to be safer to skip

We have a spreadsheet we all use here to record our test results that is a VERY helpful tool. It will really help in the future if you'll start using it so we can see how he's doing. It will help us to help you!

Here are Instructions on getting the FDMB spreadsheet....if you have any problems, holler! We can help set it up!

Edited to add...skipping tonight will also solve your time change problem and you can set your shooting schedule for when it's best for you starting tomorrow morning
 
Since we don't have any data on him yet, it's going to be safer to skip

We have a spreadsheet we all use here to record our test results that is a VERY helpful tool. It will really help in the future if you'll start using it so we can see how he's doing. It will help us to help you!

Here are Instructions on getting the FDMB spreadsheet....if you have any problems, holler! We can help set it up!

Edited to add...skipping tonight will also solve your time change problem and you can set your shooting schedule for when it's best for you starting tomorrow morning
Thank you so much! This is all so new and confusing!
 
BG at 700am is 128 and 126 on relion confirm should i give half a dose?? He's only had one dose of Lantus at vet yesterday am at vet why would his number be so low after 22hrs? I even checked my civie zoey to make sure the meter was working at it is....
 
Hi Will & Laura,

I see from your intro post that you changed to low carb food after receiving Kenzo's Dx. That has likely had a significant impact on his blood sugar levels.

Couple of questions:

1. How long is it since Kenzo had any high carb food?

2. Does he get vet/travel stress?

3. Did he have any other illness (e.g. an infection) when he was first diagnosed?

4. Did your vet run a fructosamine test as part of the initial diagnostics? If yes, please can you post the result.

I don't comment much on dosing unless I can see that someone could potentially overdose their cat. For reference, the 121, 128, and 126 numbers (human meter) are hovering around the top of the normal BG range for a non-diabetic cat. If Kenzo were my cat I'd seek advice on the safety of giving any more insulin: with numbers like that and very little data to go on I would be very cautious. (For myself I certainly would not be comfortable giving 2 units - other FDMB members may take a very different view).


Mogs
.
 
Have you changed Diet since diagnosis. If you did diet change alone could put him into remission.
 
Agreed with the others about diet change possibly putting him in remission or drastically affecting insulin needs.

Just my personal experience with that "first dose":

Pimp's first dose of Lantus, given by the vet for a curve in the office, was 2 units. He started over 400 BG. That was a Friday morning, when we picked him up in the evening, he was around 120. They said don't give insulin that night and bring him back in the morning for another test (I wasn't home testing yet). Long story short, he didn't go back over 200 until Monday morning, and we started dosing 1 unit BID.
 
So he was 222 at 1230pm, I'll check him again at 7pm and if hes still over 200 you're saying @Andy & Pimp I should start with 1 unit not 2 as recommended by vet? I want to keep him on a 7a 7p schedule so i dont want to shoot him now because it will mess up the entire 12hr schedule. @Ferndoc He's been on low carb wetfood for 3wks and just started lantus yesterday.
 
Hi Will & Laura,

I see from your intro post that you changed to low carb food after receiving Kenzo's Dx. That has likely had a significant impact on his blood sugar levels.

Couple of questions:

1. How long is it since Kenzo had any high carb food?

2. Does he get vet/travel stress?

3. Did he have any other illness (e.g. an infection) when he was first diagnosed?

4. Did your vet run a fructosamine test as part of the initial diagnostics? If yes, please can you post the result.

I don't comment much on dosing unless I can see that someone could potentially overdose their cat. For reference, the 121, 128, and 126 numbers (human meter) are hovering around the top of the normal BG range for a non-diabetic cat. If Kenzo were my cat I'd seek advice on the safety of giving any more insulin: with numbers like that and very little data to go on I would be very cautious. (For myself I certainly would not be comfortable giving 2 units - other FDMB members may take a very different view).


Mogs
.
@Mogmom and Goofus no high carb food x3wks and no fructosamine test. They didn't even tell me to home test just said give 2units Lantus 12hrs apart have a nice day recheck bg in 1wk at vet. Thank God I had read and learned so much from this forum!
 
I would start at no higher than 1u. I don't use lantus but I do subscribe to the start low and go slow. I'd even consider starting a .5u or less with those numbers but would defer to lantus users for that.
 
So he was 222 at 1230pm, I'll check him again at 7pm and if hes still over 200 you're saying @Andy & Pimp I should start with 1 unit not 2 as recommended by vet? I want to keep him on a 7a 7p schedule so i dont want to shoot him now because it will mess up the entire 12hr schedule. @Ferndoc He's been on low carb wetfood for 3wks and just started lantus yesterday.
I'd rather not give definitive dosing advice without any BG history, however the recommended starting dose for either TR protocol or SLGS method is 0.5-1 unit depending on the cat's weight and the method of dosing employed.
I just wanted to share my experience, how Pimp had a much longer lasting and marked response to his first dose, than any subsequent dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top