Dosing Advice ASAP

Cali22

Member Since 2026
Cali had a fur shot yesterday evening, resulting in his BG remained high (>300) all night. This morning his appetite was poor, his BG had dropped a bit to 273, so out of caution I reduced his 6am shot from the normal light 2.0 to 1.5 units. His BG came down gradually during the morning to the mid 100's and his appetite came back. Yah!

So, should his 6pm shot go back to the normal light 2.0 units or should I raise it gradually over the next day or two?
 
I decided to be conservative at shoot 1.75 at 6pm. Tomorrow, I plan to resume his 2.0 unless his pre-shot BG level is unusually low.
 
I saw the reduced dose this morning and was thinking that cutting the dose by half a unit was too much since his AMPS was nearly 300. But at least he was in blue numbers for quite a while. I was concerned about him climbing too high by PMPS.
 
It seems I got another fur shot! Cali's BG is not dropping after 2 hours since his shot. I was very careful in giving his shot and I felt no moisture on the fur after his shot. Did I inject the insulin into the wrong area, maybe muscle?
 
Last edited:
I'm wondering if the insulin is loosing it effectiveness. The bottle is about 10 weeks old, but I see no floating clumps in the bottle. I'll try to get a fresh bottle from the pharmacy today.

I think it's most likely the recent increased dose from 1.75 to 2.0 is causing this BG response. Could his body be rejecting this higher dose?
 
Last edited:
Hi. Last night he should have gotten the full 2 unit dose since he was starting in the 300s. Hold this dose of 2 units and try to shoot it and weather these higher numbers. He should come down.
 
Last edited:
As for fur shots in general (I saw you had asked about this somewhere) the rule is that we never shoot again after a fur shot — because you don’t know how much insulin got into your cat, and if you give additional insulin during the same 12 hour cycle, you risk sending the cat into hypoglycemia.
 
If you do try a fresh vial of ProZinc, be sure to prominently mark on your spreadsheet that you have started a new vial. Many people add a horizontal line across their spreadsheet and write in there that they’ve started a new vial. Then we’ll be able to see after a few days if it is making any difference. I often see people do this and it seems like for a couple of days it makes a small difference and then everything is back to the previous pattern of BG. It can’t hurt to try.

I think Cali has been bouncing a bit and will be coming down. It’s important to try to give the 2 units as consistently as possible so we can really evaluate the situation over several days and see what the 2 unit dose is doing
 
Back
Top