? Dosing advice and general help

Having 3 kitties myself, two of whom are grazers I know all too well how difficult it can be to avoid those occasional pilfering escapades. My extra sweet girl dives in and finishes her meals but then will push her brothers out of the way to scarf down their meal too. Luckily they are on diabetic safe food BUT she has food allergies so I still have to play lunch room monitor at every meal. When I have to go out for lengthy periods, it's no doubt a free for all on many occasions. Now you know Oscar will go and pilfer so just be on the lookout. None of us can monitor them 24/7 but take necessary precautions when you can.

Chances are good the carb count for the Saucy Seafood is high. Guaranteed analysis can give some pretty misleading numbers on occasion. Go by the dry matter analysis numbers.
Will do! He dropped to 336 by his pm shot, so I feel like that must have been the issue....if he was just rising on his own, I can't imagine he would have dropped so quickly. Once he dropped he looked like he was feeling a lot better. I'm feeling a-okay again! Thank you for talking me through this moment of confusion and panic!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Was thinking about upping his dose to 2u at his PM shot tonight. I do have a work meeting at 9am tomorrow (he gets his shot at 8am), will be home no later than 11am.

Do you think it will be okay if he isn't monitored those two hours (likely even less)? He gets his dry food snack at 10am.
 
I don't see what Oscar did today on his SS but if number have not come down, which I assume they haven't, then yes, you can increase to 2u. Get a test when you get home. As long as AMPS is not low and with ProZinc onset not till around +2, Oscar will be fine.
 
I don't see what Oscar did today on his SS but if number have not come down, which I assume they haven't, then yes, you can increase to 2u. Get a test when you get home. As long as AMPS is not low and with ProZinc onset not till around +2, Oscar will be fine.
Eh, I got cold feet and shot 1.75u. I'm quite tired tonight and was worried I would fall asleep before he dropped. Plus even though I probably wouldn't have tested him in that two hour window tomorrow morning anyway, I'd feel better if I was with him. I'll start tomorrow night. I do worry I'm holding doses too long, but I also worry much much more about hypo.

I forgot to update SS, numbers still high. AMPS 402, PMPS 355.
 
I really don't think you need to worry so much about a potential hypo situation and could increase the dose tomorrow AM but the choice is yours. Personally, I always preferred to make any dose increases on a day cycle when I knew staying awake if need be wasn't going to be a problem. You said you'd be back by +3, so I really don't think there is cause for concern.
 
I really don't think you need to worry so much about a potential hypo situation and could increase the dose tomorrow AM but the choice is yours. Personally, I always preferred to make any dose increases on a day cycle when I knew staying awake if need be wasn't going to be a problem. You said you'd be back by +3, so I really don't think there is cause for concern.
Thank you for the reassurance! I ended up increasing this PM, I'm a bartender so I tend to sleep in later during the day and am up later at night than most...so increasing at night makes sense for me :) I'll let you know how the increase goes!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

We seem to be stuck in purples, can't break under 300. Ugh, you were right that I didn't need to worry about a hypo! I'm off work until Friday, so I'm hoping to make some progress with Oscar in that time. If no progress is made soon, when would be the appropriate time to increase again? If necessary, I'd like to start a new increase sometime this week while I'm home so I'm here to keep an eye on him.
 
Oscar finally is showing some yellow tonight so if he's still yellow tomorrow AMPS, then hold the 2u dose as that can be a sign that BG is coming down some from breaking a bounce. If he's back in purple at AMPS then bump him up to 2.25u and monitor. Tag me if any questions/concerns.
 
Oscar finally is showing some yellow tonight so if he's still yellow tomorrow AMPS, then hold the 2u dose as that can be a sign that BG is coming down some from breaking a bounce. If he's back in purple at AMPS then bump him up to 2.25u and monitor. Tag me if any questions/concerns.
He ended up all the way in red by AMPS, but he had diarrhea this morning, so I decided to wait until tomorrow AMPS to raise his dose. I'm guessing his IBD is acting up again because of all the wet food we've been trying to get him to eat :/. I'm making him a vet appointment tonight to get him in next week. Not really sure what to do from here...wait it out and see if it passes, take the wet food away? Idk.
 
I don't know if it is IBD or a bounce that caused that red this AM. It looks like it could be a bounce from the yellows last night. He almost was at red after the last time he saw yellow too which makes me think it's a bounce. That said, diarrhea needs to be dealt with. Have you tried plain pumpkin to up the fibre a bit? Certainly if the problem persists, it's going to be a matter of finding food he can eat without aggravating the IBD. I wouldn't take the wet food away necessarily but maybe slow down the transition or try a different kind slowly. That might help.
 
I don't know if it is IBD or a bounce that caused that red this AM. It looks like it could be a bounce from the yellows last night. He almost was at red after the last time he saw yellow too which makes me think it's a bounce. That said, diarrhea needs to be dealt with. Have you tried plain pumpkin to up the fibre a bit? Certainly if the problem persists, it's going to be a matter of finding food he can eat without aggravating the IBD. I wouldn't take the wet food away necessarily but maybe slow down the transition or try a different kind slowly. That might help.
He ended up refusing to really eat his wet food tonight anyways, he took a few bites, but wasn't into it. So I offered him dry instead, and he ate that with no hesitation. In the past when his tummy hurts, he doesn't want to eat wet food...not sure if he's somehow aware that it makes him not feel good or something, idk. I'll keep offering it to him, but I think it'll probably be mostly dry the next few days until he gets back to normal and we can try again with a different wet food. He has an appointment on Tuesday at the vets, just to put my mind at ease I want them to run some blood work and make sure there is nothing else going on (he just had some ran less than a month ago, but I'm paranoid. His voice has been a little wheezy too and I want to make sure there's no type of upper respiratory infection brewing).

Also wasn't sure if that red was from a bounce or from pain, but when I just tested him at +2 he did come down to 268 again, so we'll see what happens tomorrow morning I guess. Do you think I should wait to increase, or does this not really change anything?

Oh and yeah, I did try canned pumpkin. He wouldn't touch it, but I was kind of naĂŻve and thought he would eat it straight up (like his sister's have done in the past, they oddly love the stuff). I'll try again tomorrow by sneaking it into his food. Thank you Linda.
 
He's got to eat so feed him whatever you have to. Are you checking for ketones? Sounds like Oscar is a real kibble addict (been through that and know the frustation all too well) and going to make transitioning him difficult. It's not unheard of to have them turn down food they associate with not feeling well so maybe a different food would appeal more.
I think his BG is high enough you can increase as long as you can monitor and Oscar is willing to eat the crunchy stuff if nothing else. Get the vet to check his teeth as well. It's quite common for a little inflammation of the gums or bigger tooth issues to cause higher BGs.
 
He's got to eat so feed him whatever you have to. Are you checking for ketones? Sounds like Oscar is a real kibble addict (been through that and know the frustation all too well) and going to make transitioning him difficult. It's not unheard of to have them turn down food they associate with not feeling well so maybe a different food would appeal more.
I think his BG is high enough you can increase as long as you can monitor and Oscar is willing to eat the crunchy stuff if nothing else. Get the vet to check his teeth as well. It's quite common for a little inflammation of the gums or bigger tooth issues to cause higher BGs.
I've been checking for ketones daily, sometimes they come out lighter than anything even on the chart, sometimes a bit darker, nothing more than trace ever though (it never starts to turn color)...it's just like the test strip gets a little darker, but doesn't change color itself (into a pink or purple) if that makes sense. I don't think ketones are a problem right now. I think it's just his tummy hurting, and so he's not eating quite as much as usual. He will eat the dry without issue. I'll make a trip to the pet store tomorrow to try and find some low carb grain free wet food and see if that helps. I've heard people talk about Weruva (sp?) and I know they have that at my local store, so I was thinking of trying that. I knew things were going too well with him eating wet food.

I'll definitely have the vet take another look at his teeth at his appointment. When they saw him last month she did look and mention he has some "mild dental disease" but that it wasn't too bad. She didn't really get into it too much at that point, but now that we know about his dx and what not, maybe it's worth looking into seeing if it's something we should/could get fixed. I do have this gut feeling that something else may be going on that's keeping his BG up, whether it's his IBD or his teeth, I don't know, but when he was first diagnosed he was at 420 and now we're at 2.25u of insulin and still these numbers aren't coming down.

Thanks for the suggestions, and I'll start with an increase in the AM.
 
A cat needs the amount of insulin they need. SOme cats go up in dose before they come down so don't despair. You've only been at this for a month so you are still very early in the process. This takes patience and isn't always a totally straight path.
Weruva is a good food for our sweet ones. Rawz and Hounds and Gatos have unique proteins which could help too. Check the food list HERE for more options.
 
A cat needs the amount of insulin they need. SOme cats go up in dose before they come down so don't despair. You've only been at this for a month so you are still very early in the process. This takes patience and isn't always a totally straight path.
Weruva is a good food for our sweet ones. Rawz and Hounds and Gatos have unique proteins which could help too. Check the food list HERE for more options.
He got his increase today, was a weird day with numbers. I did overfeed him a bit, I read up on pancreatitis and got paranoid so I kept feeding him to make sure he wasn't off food (spoiler, he's definitely not). Still refused his wet food tonight, but chowed down on some canned pumpkin once I topped it with dried freeze chicken! So hopefully that helps :)
 
We decided to switch up Oscar's food, since well we had to, and in hopes it will bring numbers down.
He's currently back on his old food, Crave (wet, pate), which seemed to always agree with him. He's eating 1 portioned cup before each shot, then at 10:00am/pm he's getting a very small amount of Dr.Elsey's mixed with some Instinct Rawboost Mixer (he's tried it before and loved it, so hoping it can act as a sort of replacement for a portion of the dry). And then for his 1am/1pm snack we're going to try putting a portion of Crave in his timed feeder instead of the Dr.Elsey's. I have a suspicion that the calories in the dry food is hindering his numbers from coming down- so we're going to give this a go and see if it helps bring them down before we need to increase again.
 
Sounds like a good plan! Good luck! I hope this helps keep the diarrhea at bay and his BG down. Will be watching for an update. :)
 
Sounds like a good plan! Good luck! I hope this helps keep the diarrhea at bay and his BG down. Will be watching for an update. :)
Could you take a look at his numbers, Linda? We started last night giving him wet food instead of dry at the 10pm/am mark, and he's been on what I assume, is some dramatic bouncing. Not sure if I should do or change something. He's been up and down by 200 points!
 
Patience. It can take a few days before the result of withdrawing some of the kibble becomes apparent and you are feding kow carb kibble so the change may not be overtly noticeable. Looks to me like Oscar needs a bit more juice. I'd increase him to 2.5u and if possible try to get some tests in the +5 to +9 timeframe to see what he is doing later in the cycles. Day time is fine but if you get up in the night grab a test then too.
Looks like he's bouncing from those yellows but that's fine. It's normal. He'll get used to them and stop bouncing quite so much gradually.
 
Patience. It can take a few days before the result of withdrawing some of the kibble becomes apparent and you are feding kow carb kibble so the change may not be overtly noticeable. Looks to me like Oscar needs a bit more juice. I'd increase him to 2.5u and if possible try to get some tests in the +5 to +9 timeframe to see what he is doing later in the cycles. Day time is fine but if you get up in the night grab a test then too.
Looks like he's bouncing from those yellows but that's fine. It's normal. He'll get used to them and stop bouncing quite so much gradually.
Thank you for the reminder to be patient, I needed that! I'll start an increase tomorrow am, and I'll get those extra tests in. He has a vet appointment on Tuesday, I'm gonna have them to take blood to make sure there's nothing else keeping his numbers up. I'm also interested in eventually trying lantus, but I read it's recommended to stick with the same insulin for three months.

By the way, kind of unrelated, but have you ever heard of a cats voice changing, from diabetes or otherwise? Oscar's meow has been..different...and he makes high pitched noises when he eats that he never did before, same with purring. It's really odd, but I couldn't find anything on it when I searched.
 
Can't help with the voice change but our kitties are capable of a pretty good range of sounds so maybe it's just a new one Oscar hasn't shown off before. I have one who literally shrieks on rare occasions when she is playing and it still sends chills up my back and has me running to see if she is OK every time. Maybe the vet can shed some light. Take a recording with you.
 
Can't help with the voice change but our kitties are capable of a pretty good range of sounds so maybe it's just a new one Oscar hasn't shown off before. I have one who literally shrieks on rare occasions when she is playing and it still sends chills up my back and has me running to see if she is OK every time. Maybe the vet can shed some light. Take a recording with you.
I guess it just may be! I had been concerned about a possible upper respiratory infection, and I plan to have the vet make sure on Tuesday, but he's never had one before...and he seems otherwise fine...kitties are so strange sometimes! That's very funny about your kitty, I have another cat (a maine coon) who has a whole range of strange noises...she still meows like a kitten but chirps like a bird when she's excited! Oscar also has a specific meow that we dubbed his "Minnie cat meow" because he only does it after he gets into a fight with his sister, it's like a very loud very dragged out "mrrrraw rar rar rar rar" where he sounds so upset and depressed! He'll walk around doing that while he looks for his sister after he played too rough with her and she got upset and ran away :facepalm:

I decided to wait for the increase, I think I'm going to start Tuesday. Between work and classes (busy season at work and finals coming up at school) I've barely been able to get in AMPS/PMPS testing and I want to be able to do the appropriate amount of testing when we start his increase. My boyfriend is starting to get the hang of testing though, so that should help me out a ton once he's comfortable enough to do it more often. My lancer broke today, and I learned to do free hand! Irrelevant, I know, but I was super excited once I did it and realized it's so much easier and I can get closer to the edge, thus making it more comfortable for him :)

And good call about taking a recording! All he does when he's at the vet though is purr (so much so they have trouble hearing his heart beat) and he seems to do it quite a bit when he purrs, so I'm hoping she'll be able to hear it, but I'll be sure to bring a recording just in case. I also read online today that cats with acromegaly sometimes have soft tissue growth in their esophagus, making their meow change...that made me kind of nervous, but hopefully we don't get to that point where I need to worry about him being an acro kitty. I'm hoping numbers start to finally drop for him. :cat:
 
Yes acro can change a kitty's voice but that's a long shot. Keep us posted on what the vet has to say. :)
Hey Linda, so tomorrow will mark 4 days of the 2.5 dose, with no improvement. Thinking about raising him to 2.75 tomorrow PM. I've been sick and busy the past couple days, so have been getting pretty minimal testing in...do you think there are any tests that would be important to get before increasing? His appointment was rescheduled from Tuesday to tomorrow due to my being sick, so I won't have those results for a couple more days.
 
Yes it does look like Oscar needs a little more insulin so go ahead and increase when you can monitor a bit between +2 and +6 of the cycle. Hard to see exactly when Oscar is hitting nadir yet.....it seems to possibly be around +3 some days but other days it appears to be later around +5. That may just be because of the testing times and some cats do not always nadir at the same time and sometimes it changes anyway so it makes it hard to suggest exactly when to test. You're getting good testing at night so maybe try to aim for the +4/+5 timeframe for a night or 2 if possible to see if numbers are any lower then.

Hope you are feeling better now. :)
 
Yes it does look like Oscar needs a little more insulin so go ahead and increase when you can monitor a bit between +2 and +6 of the cycle. Hard to see exactly when Oscar is hitting nadir yet.....it seems to possibly be around +3 some days but other days it appears to be later around +5. That may just be because of the testing times and some cats do not always nadir at the same time and sometimes it changes anyway so it makes it hard to suggest exactly when to test. You're getting good testing at night so maybe try to aim for the +4/+5 timeframe for a night or 2 if possible to see if numbers are any lower then.

Hope you are feeling better now. :)

We went to the vet today. They didn't want to do blood work yet so soon since it's only been a little over a month and there hasn't been much change in numbers yet. They said he looks good though, and I shouldn't be worried about him having an infection or anything.

They suggested I go to 3.5u in the AM and keep 2.5u in the PM. That just seems stupid, so I'm going to increase to 2.75 in the AM as we planned and go forward from there.

They also tried to sell me some Purina prescription food. They told me it was a low carb dry food, and when I asked to see the carbs she turned the bag around and it said 18%, lol. I said he's already on a low carb dry food that is only 4%, and I plan to switch him to wet food only anyways. She had claimed that she thought Oscar had a chance at complete remission with the Purina, suuuch bullshit. So, declined that offer.

I asked her about switching to Lantus if we didn't see any change in numbers by the end of our second vial of ProZinc. She admitted she knew nothing about switching insulin, or even Lantus for that matter and had to look it up online, and said we should wait 6 months but if I wanted to switch earlier, it's up to me as the owner. I've just been reading a lot about how cats have higher chance at remission with Lantus, but I agreed I should wait to see if we can regulate him at all first with ProZinc.

He did gain two pounds, from 10 back up to 12 which is close to his healthy pre diabetic weight, so that made me happy. Hopefully that means something is helping?

The vet was happy to hear about my home testing, which was a nice change from the tech I saw last time who smugly told me I'd be torturing Oscar. So all in all it was a pretty pointless office visit, could have just went over this on the phone..but oh well, at least I was able to see he gained some weight.

Anywho, just wanted to let you know how it went, and share my frustrations with vets and their crappy prescription food haha. Hope all is well and you enjoy your weekend!

Oh by the way, his PMPS tonight (directly after we got home from the vet) was 567!!! Talk about stress raising blood sugar...
 
I'm sorry your visit was kind of a wash but knowing OScar is gaining back lost weight is great.

Giving 2 different doses of insulin AM vs PM only serves to muddy the waters and set off more bouncing when you are trying to get a cat regulated. Looks good on paper but rarely works even in a regulated cat. Good choice to do 2.75u AM/PM. Fingers crossed that helps get his numbers down a bit more.

I deal with 2 vets I think the world of but the one tried to get me to try some canned alternate protein food for my girl that was WAY over 10% carbs. I just laughed and explained that you can't judge carbs by the label. OH! she exclaimed. Vets get their nutritional education from Purina, Royal Canin etc. and get brain washed into thinking the foods they are peddling are great. Purina DM dry isn't diabetic food.....it's dietetic food.....for weight loss. Most cats don't lose weight on it and most diabetic cats have already lost weight and don't need to lose more so how they came to the conclusion that was good food for a diabetic is anybody's guess. You really have to wonder how they can get snowed by the big pet food companies but they do. :rolleyes:
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Quick question for you...this morning when I was preparing Oscar's shot, I noticed there were a couple tiny bubbles in our vial. After rolling it gently, they would go away for a moment before reappearing, or they would show back up as I was pulling the insulin up into the syringe. I managed to pull the insulin into the syringe with just the tiniest air bubble near the bottom, and figured it wasn't worth wasting the insulin over..wasn't big enough to mess with my measurement. But I'm wondering now, was that okay to do, as long as I'm getting the correct dose? I mean, it's not like we're injecting into the blood stream...a little bubble should be fine, right? I once accidentally injected an empty syringe of air into Oscar when I first started (was really tired, don't ask) and he was fine...so I think I'm overthinking this air bubble thing, but just wanted to be sure. Also, does this indicate my Prozinc might be going bad? Should I start a new vial? I still have about half of this one left.
 
A tiny air bubble in the vial is not a big problem and doesn't indicate there is anything wrong with the insulin but if you get a lot of bubbles in the insulin, it could start effecting the insulin eventually. Any air in the insulin itself should eventually rise and join the rest of the air in the vial. The same is true for the syringe. You sometimes get pesky bubbles and best to try to clear as much as you can by holding the syringe needle end up and tapping the barrel to encourage the bubbles to the top, drawing back on the plunger and then squeezing them out. A teensy little bubble or 2 won't make a big difference but too many or a big bubble could actually effect the dose more than you think. While the odd bubble isn't dangerous with SubQ shots, I'd still try to get rid of as many bubbles as possible.
 
A tiny air bubble in the vial is not a big problem and doesn't indicate there is anything wrong with the insulin but if you get a lot of bubbles in the insulin, it could start effecting the insulin eventually. Any air in the insulin itself should eventually rise and join the rest of the air in the vial. The same is true for the syringe. You sometimes get pesky bubbles and best to try to clear as much as you can by holding the syringe needle end up and tapping the barrel to encourage the bubbles to the top, drawing back on the plunger and then squeezing them out. A teensy little bubble or 2 won't make a big difference but too many or a big bubble could actually effect the dose more than you think. While the odd bubble isn't dangerous with SubQ shots, I'd still try to get rid of as many bubbles as possible.
Thanks, I've been careful about not allowing bubbles for measurement accuracy. This all started after I shot insulin back into the vial, so now when I get a bubble I can't get out, I just shoot into the sink and do it again until I get it right. I've gotten better at flicking the bubble out, and the bubbles do seem to be lessening in the insulin itself, just a few hanging out at the neck of the bottle. My main fear is that if it's losing it's effect and I keep going up in dose, when I do start a new vial, he could seriously drop. There's been nothing happening yet to indicate its losing it's effect, numbers haven't been getting worse (except for that day at the vet) and I'd go as far as to say they're looking a tad bit better. Not nearly where we need to be, but I took a +8 today and while he's normally in the 400's by this time before dropping a bit at PMPS, he's at 301. So hopefully that's an issue yet. I'd like to go up to 3u on Wednesday night since that's my night off if numbers don't change much by then.
 
If numbers stay in same range as now then by all means increase to 3u on Wednesday.

When you get a new vial, it's always a good idea to monitor the first cycle whether you suspect your old one was losing efficacy or not. A day at the vet doesn't count as worse numbers.....just a stressed out puddy tat! :)
 
If numbers stay in same range as now then by all means increase to 3u on Wednesday.

When you get a new vial, it's always a good idea to monitor the first cycle whether you suspect your old one was losing efficacy or not. A day at the vet doesn't count as worse numbers.....just a stressed out puddy tat! :)
Maybe not so soon! We had our first yellow preshot today! I'm nervous because I won't be home to test him until +8, but I have someone keeping an eye on him. His +1 was 243. I have a feeling he will drop into blue at some point today and I won't be there to catch it! Grrr.
 
Our kitties just have the best timing NOT! Leave Oscar some food even a bit of MC to eat in your absence if you are concerned. He will be fine.
 
Our kitties just have the best timing NOT! Leave Oscar some food even a bit of MC to eat in your absence if you are concerned. He will be fine.
Thank you! I did put a bit of extra dry food in his feeder just in case, and when I got home, it was all gone. Can't say for sure his sister's didn't help with eating it, but they don't usually eat dry. That plus the fact he's now 331 @ +7, makes me feel like maybe he did drop a bit lower than he's used to, and when that happens he eats a ton, and now that's why he's already high again. Hoping we don't see a bounce :)
 
Bounces are frustrating but they come with the territory and when you can't be there safety has to trump letting kitty go too low. Maybe he did eat all the food recently enough that it's reflecting in his numbers right now. Only time will tell.
 
Bounces are frustrating but they come with the territory and when you can't be there safety has to trump letting kitty go too low. Maybe he did eat all the food recently enough that it's reflecting in his numbers right now. Only time will tell.
Hey Linda! So he didn't seem to bounce yesterday, but he did go back to his normal numbers, and AMPS today was back in the mid 300's. I have tomorrow off, and was planning tonight to do his increase...but with his lower AMPS yesterday, I wasn't sure if I should let him ride out a little longer on this dose. Wondering what you think! I probably won't be able to increase until sometime next week if I don't do it tonight/tomorrow.
 
I'd increase now while you can monitor. While that AMPS yesterday was lower, it wasn't hugely different so I don't think that should factor into your decision to increase now. Better to stay on top of numbers and if you can monitor, you can keep Oscar safe even if he did decide to surprise you! :)
 
I'd increase now while you can monitor. While that AMPS yesterday was lower, it wasn't hugely different so I don't think that should factor into your decision to increase now. Better to stay on top of numbers and if you can monitor, you can keep Oscar safe even if he did decide to surprise you! :)
That's what I was thinking, thank you! The increase was inevitable anyways, so makes sense. Not sure why, but I have really high hopes for this increase... haven't had this feeling with any other increase so far so really hoping my gut is right this time!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

I have had a couple crazy days, haven't been able to test as much as I'd like and couldn't get a PMPS last night as I was at work and my boyfriend couldn't get the meter to work. When I got home at +7, he was at 280. And since then, his numbers have gone downhill quick, he's been in the 400's all day. Any suggestions?
 
It's really impossible to say what happened there but it does look like numbers are starting to settle a bit again now. It's possible that BG dropped lower sometime before that 280 at +7 and Oscar was on his way back up at that point, causing a bounce to higher numbers the following morning. The only other tangible would be if Oscar got into some contraband he shouldn't have. I can appreciate having meter issues is a problem but this is a prime example of how important it is to know where the cycle is starting to be able to make sense out of the readings that follow. In case a situation like that pops up again, maybe keep a vial of AT2 strips around and in the event that the Prime isn't working for BF, he can use the AT2 as a backup. You can keep a note in remarks that the pet meter was used but it would at least let you know it was safe to give insulin.

All that said, I don't think Oscar dropped into any dangerously low numbers and it really looks like it's time to up his dose to 3.25u to see if you can't get his numbers down a bit more.
 
I upped his dose the night after you suggested, still high (if not higher) preshot numbers but I caught a blue just now at +3 after his PM shot.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Do you think I should do another increase tomorrow PM, or give this dose a little longer? Just thinking, after tomorrow afternoon I'm off until Sunday...so if I were going to increase I'd like to do it sometime this weekend.

I'm having an issue lately (just temporary) where because of my work/school commitments, he's often times getting a shot 13 hours apart instead of 12, I could work it out to where it could be 11 hours apart- but unsure if that's safe. In a couple weeks, we should be able to get back on a 12 hour schedule.

I'm also trying to figure out a better feeding schedule for him, as I don't think this one is working very efficiently anymore. Actually, his blue last night I think was highly influenced by me forgetting to give him his +2 dry snack. So I'm wondering if he's eating too much too soon after his shot (which is hard right now because his appetite is still out of control, and I fear restricting too much because I know food is important to keep DKA away). He gets a snack at +2 and +4, and by the time I'm home at +7 he's finished whatever dry was in his bowl and is acting like a crazy person because of how hungry he is. Same thing in the PM, by around +9 he's acting crazy trying to wake me up to get him more food. Maybe switch it up to +3 and +5? What do you think?
 
Last edited:
Yes I think another increase is needed. Oscar only saw blue once on this dose and seems to be back to higher numbers. .
Right as you replied I added an edit about his shot schedule, and feeding schedule, was wondering if you had any advice on that. Sorry, didn't think I'd get a reply so quickly! And sounds good, I'll raise him tomorrow PM to 3.5u :)
 
How about increasing his portions a wee bit at meal & snack time. Diabetics can't properly process the food they eat so they need more than usual. As Oscar gets more regulated you can back off on the amount again but for now don't be afraid to feed him more to keep him more satisfied. Feeding times are really a bit of an experiment so you could try increasing pre-shot meal amount and move the next snack to +3 and see how it works.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Hey Linda, so as you know we've had a crazy past couple days. I didn't get in nearly as much testing as I'd like, and tbh I didn't even really get a chance to input or look at Oscar's numbers until now. He's running really high. He's been stressed with everything, sounds silly I know, but he's strangely very sensitive. The night his sister was away (her name is Chloe, but to avoid confusion I just try to say "his sister" since we share the same name lol) he sauntered around the hallways crying all night, wasn't eating etc. He did that until she came home, and he became unusually difficult with testing...so small chance those numbers are slightly stress influenced. We picked up a new bottle of ProZinc yesterday but I'm not starting it until tonight so I can monitor. His old vial was starting to look a little funky...clumpy almost, and by yesterday it wouldn't separate anymore. I would take it out and it looked like it was shaken. I suspect the new vial may help considering that, maybe not, but I was thinking...let's see how tonight goes with the new vial and raise him to 3.75 tomorrow if still running high? I'll keep the old vial in the fridge in case of absolute emergency but I do think it went bad..sucks I still had nearly half a bottle.

I should also mention contraband food may have been a factor. In the midst of frantically trying to get his sister to eat before we took her in, it's likely some HC food was left lying around for hours while we were gone with her. Unfortunately, Oscar was kind of on the back burner the past couple days but I plan to get him back on track now.
 
If the ProZinc is looking "funky", not separating, clumpy, then it's no good and that might be why Oscar's numbers have been high. I'd hold off with the increase until you get a couple of doses in him from the new vial as having good insulin may make a big difference. Monitor him when you start the new vial.
It's possible some of the high numbers are also stress from Chloe being gone and perhaps contraband but I'd still keep a close eye on things.
 
If the ProZinc is looking "funky", not separating, clumpy, then it's no good and that might be why Oscar's numbers have been high. I'd hold off with the increase until you get a couple of doses in him from the new vial as having good insulin may make a big difference. Monitor him when you start the new vial.
It's possible some of the high numbers are also stress from Chloe being gone and perhaps contraband but I'd still keep a close eye on things.
Hi Linda, hope you had a nice Christmas and you're doing well! Things are finally starting to settle over here (Chloe the cat is doing much better and recovering well). Oscar's numbers should be true (not influenced by HC or stress) and I think I have enough data now to know that the old insulin likely wasn't the leading issue with his numbers. I made the decision on my own to raise his dose on 12/25 to 3.75 and we're still looking high. Wondering if it is still too early to raise him to 4u? I'll be home this weekend to monitor him, I'm feeling anxious and wanting to get him to better numbers so if you think it's okay, I wanted to increase tonight.
 
Had a nice peaceful quiet Xmas and was partying yesterday and later today. How was your holiday?

Yes it looks like Oscar needs an increase so take him up to 4.0u starting tonight and see if that makes a difference over the next few days.
 
Back
Top