Dosing advice, again.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley Kondor

Member Since 2022
I have below my spreadsheet. We have been on a streak of no shots because I’m worried the .25 will still be too much? I’m I being paranoid? Should she get a .25u dose (vetsulin). I did reach out to my vet about switching her insulin to lantus or something more steady that can be given in smaller and she said she will get back to me when she returns to work but said she may not need insulin anymore and I’m just a little uneasy. Im currently stalling but I don’t think her BG will go up that much in 20 mins, I think it will still be under 150 and I’m uneasy about giving the vetsulin at that point. Advice??
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZWu4_1eupjpBMKWC4OjGfzf1nXNR11ecro7EkOgJVus/edit
 
Chris is here, she'll give great advice. I think I had suggested before to try a 0.1-0.25U dose? Unfortunately I can't dig at the moment. If she still around 145 and you can monitor, I'd give it a try.
 
Im currently stalling but I don’t think her BG will go up that much in 20 mins, I think it will still be under 150 and I’m uneasy about giving the vetsulin at that point. Advice??

Are you going to be home tonight and able to test as often (or long) as might be necessary? Do you have plenty of supplies like Karo (corn syrup), honey, maple syrup, high carb "gravy" food, test strips?

If the answer is yes, I'd try the .25 ......141 is close enough to 150 and she came up 20 points in 20 minutes so that's a good indication that the morning shot is wearing off.

As long as you can test, YOU are always in control of her blood glucose. The reason we stress testing is so you don't end up in an ER with a cat having a hypoglycemic crisis.
 
Are you going to be home tonight and able to test as often (or long) as might be necessary? Do you have plenty of supplies like Karo (corn syrup), honey, maple syrup, high carb "gravy" food, test strips?

If the answer is yes, I'd try the .25 ......141 is close enough to 150 and she came up 20 points in 20 minutes so that's a good indication that the morning shot is wearing off.

As long as you can test, YOU are always in control of her blood glucose. The reason we stress testing is so you don't end up in an ER with a cat having a hypoglycemic crisis.
 
Oh this reminds me, I think last thread the forum ate your reply like it did this one
 
Thank you so much.
Are you going to be home tonight and able to test as often (or long) as might be necessary? Do you have plenty of supplies like Karo (corn syrup), honey, maple syrup, high carb "gravy" food, test strips?

If the answer is yes, I'd try the .25 ......141 is close enough to 150 and she came up 20 points in 20 minutes so that's a good indication that the morning shot is wearing off.

As long as you can test, YOU are always in control of her blood glucose. The reason we stress testing is so you don't end up in an ER with a cat having a hypoglycemic crisis.
 
Ashley, I know you're new to message boards so here's something that may help. You don't need to hit the "reply" in the bottom right corner.

If you scroll down past the last comment (like I just did), you can just start typing to answer questions we might have asked or give us more information on what's going on.
upload_2022-4-13_19-25-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-13_19-25-48.png
    upload_2022-4-13_19-25-48.png
    245.7 KB · Views: 124
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top