Dosing advice 245 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Member Since 2016
Need some dosing advice please.. Cooters PMPS is 245, we are off schedule since I woke up late this morning, going to try to walk him back to 530 by thursday AM.

Edit: Also he hasnt had any food since 1pm

THANKS!
 
Last edited:
Its ok Sharon, I know how u feel... would love to help some of the other folks asking but I dont know enough to do it. Wanted to shoot no later then 10-20 min ago :( Cant do another niggt like last night, im exhausted from it and out in the heat all day
 
I am not sure what you mean, Sarah. Can you explain? Are you planning to shoot 6 hours late to get back on schedule - meaning you would be shooting 12 hours from that shot?
 
I dont know what I'm saying really.. just seen advice stating you can shoot 18 hours apart to get back on schedule? may be with another insulin, or more likely I misread it. right now we are 1 1/2 hours off schedule, i will not be able to give him a shot 12 hours from now, will be at work
 
Not sure. To get back on schedule, most people shoot 30 minutes earlier or later each cycle until they are back on track. If you can't give a shot 12 hours from now, I think I would skip tonight and start again tomorrow am. He may be high but I would reduce the dose, as we said - 0.75 or 0.5?

Will that work?
 
Thanks Sue, that will work, will just be extra vigilant on his before bed snack carb level, have some 1% that shouldnt hurt too bad, and wont give him very much. I really appreciate your help on all this, just feeling overwhelmed, we were doing good for a few days and feels like the rug got yanked out from under us. He seems better, drinking less, not so hungry, and did manage to get a negative ketone test a little while ago. Didnt catch him in the box at all yesterday so that was a bonus today (crazy cat ladies we are, happy to see them peeing!) Will see what his AM number is, and go from there. I was going to put my U40 syringes up on the supply closet, but may hold on to them a few more days!
 
So I went with .6 this morning, was easiest to get an accurate dose, my u40 syringes are read in whole units only and it was .4, .6, or .8 as a readable dose on the u100's. Thanks again ladies :) gonna go get a plus 1 on him and head to work, have a great day!
 
Maybe get a firm ruler with millimeter markings to use as a reference? Line it up with the spot where the plunger base starts.
Or maybe invest in calipers (Harbor Freight has them sometimes).
 
@Elizabeth and Bertie @Sue and Oliver (GA)
Ladies I think you were spot on with the morning dive and bounce thinking. Granted we are only 2 days into the lower dose, but he is not nosediving in the evenings the last 2 nights! He is feeling really good too, he chased one of the girls out of the living room about an hour ago, gimpy leg and all lol.... He hasnt done that since before his diagnosis :) I need to get some AM numbers this weekend, but I'm excited to see how hes doing :bighug::bighug::bighug: Thank you!!
 
Glad to hear he seems to be feeling better! Just another example of our kitties being more than numbers...seeing how they are feeling is helpful too!

Some AM numbers will be nice. :) You're doing great Sarah! Cooter is so lucky to have you for a bean!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top