Thx for the link instructions!I see Mandy has already provided a link to yesterday's condo.
For future reference, copy the URL of your previous thread. Then on the new thread, click on the little paperclip in the tool bar and paste the URL into the box and click on Insert.
Mandy, I'm concerned that giving him insulin today might result in a repeat of yesterday. AMPS is virtually the same and part of it could be a bounce from yesterday's shark hunting. Unless I could monitor him through the cycle, I don't think I'd chance it. I'd really like to see what he does without insulin for a bit longer.
That is certainly something to experiment with but even that scares me a bit because he didn't seem to be particularly sensitive to the carbs and BG barely moved with honey or 17% gravy yesterday so I'd still want to be able to monitor a cycle with the combo of insulin & higher carb food.I agree. That's why I also suggested giving higher carb (MC or HC).
I understand your concern, and taken from one of the information stickies, "The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses." That is why testing for ketones is important.I can't afford the expense of dka.eta and I don't think moo could handle it and recovery.




I understand your concern, and taken from one of the information stickies, "The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses." That is why testing for ketones is important.
I was trying to highlight that consistently getting down to low 40s on AT2 can be quite serious, my thoughts about trying to see how things work without insulin for a few cycles were as a result of my concern that at some point consistent low numbers like this, combined with the fact that it has been hard for you to keep the numbers up in a safe range, which could actually put you in a position where you will need to go to the vet. I had linked a previous post so that others who are here today like Mandy and Linda can get a broader picture of the history.
I feel like I have I offended you in some way, so I apologize if that is the case.
I understand your concern, and taken from one of the information stickies, "The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses." That is why testing for ketones is important.
I was trying to highlight that consistently getting down to low 40s on AT2 can be quite serious, my thoughts about trying to see how things work without insulin for a few cycles were as a result of my concern that at some point consistent low numbers like this, combined with the fact that it has been hard for you to keep the numbers up in a safe range, which could actually put you in a position where you will need to go to the vet. I had linked a previous post so that others who are here today like Mandy and Linda can get a broader picture of the history.
I feel like I have I offended you in some way, so I apologize if that is the case.
Interesting!There was a cat here a few years back who was somewhat similar and they played around with meal/snack times, carb level, you name it and the CG was finding it difficult due to the constant monitoring required and unpredictability. Last I remember she had stopped shooting unless BG was up significantly but she stopped posting so don't know if cat went OTJ or not. I'll see if I can find the SS.
Hi, yes I can check that- So if it is, would this be the emergency boost food or his regular diet?Can you see if there are any science diet non prescription foods that fit for high carb? I know the pate I used to feed was pretty high.
He used to eat Blue Freedom Indoor Chicken it has 7% carb. Then he had a spurt of inappetance when diagnosed so I tried the fancy feast which is 3-4% carbs- have to put phosphorous binders in all of his foods. Vet told me to stick with poultry. He eats the FF most of the time now - (likes it more) but on occasion I do crack open a Blue Freedom - he seems to like it for a few meals and then doesn't want it.Interesting!
The other thing I was wondering was if there has been a change up of food for Moo -post-diagnosis.
We've definitely seen cats get off insulin very quickly from time to time with just a change in diet. I.E. switching to wet low carb only eating higher carb food for most of their lives
Okay, well, that blows my theory about the change in diet being a new factor in him going low. Both those foods are low carb.He used to eat Blue Freedom Indoor Chicken it has 7% carb. Then he had a spurt of inappetance when diagnosed so I tried the fancy feast which is 3-4% carbs- have to put phosphorous binders in all of his foods. Vet told me to stick with poultry. He eats the FF most of the time now - (likes it more) but on occasion I do crack open a Blue Freedom - he seems to like it for a few meals and then doesn't want it.

Hi Barbara and Uncle,Hey there , what a day yesterday
Just checking to see if Moo has had any previous DKA episodes.
If not, and he is eating well and doesn't have any underlying infections he should be okay to hang out in higher numbers for a bit until this bounce clears so we can see what he's doing off the one drop of insulin. That being said, for peace of mind I would test him for ketones. I understand your fear of Moo getting DKA, it's no joke.
That's great news and important info moving forward in crafting a plan and maybe having to experiment with not giving Moo insulin.Moo has not had previous DKA episodes. He has an appetite. No infections that I know of
Early on, before I became a member of FDMB - I asked my vet if this might the case (reactive defense system and glucose reserves kicking in) she said she didn't think he would have that much reserve. But she now is baffled by what I have reported since and told me she can't advise me anymore.I just checked the spreadsheet for the other kitty but it wasn't exactly the same situation. MooCat's swings are far more dramatic. The other kitty was staying mostly in blue/green/odd yellow pre-shots while MooCat is going into pinks at times and has far more yellow in the picture. Perhaps Moo Cat just has a super reactive defense system and a darn good store of glucose reserves?![]()
LOL!!!! All the theories presented are helpful, thx!Okay, well, that blows my theory about the change in diet being a new factor in him going low. Both those foods are low carb.![]()
Most of us have been where you were yesterday or pretty close to it. I wouldn't have gotten a whole extra year with my sweet kitty Uncle if not for the FDMBes! yesterday was stressful and I still feel like I haven't recovered, Moo seems to feel just fine. I think I would be bouncing off walls if I didn't have you all responding.
Thanks wonderful FDMB friends







I like a Vet who can admit they haven't seen EVERYTHING and knows when they may not be able to be helpful for certain things.Early on, before I became a member of FDMB - I asked my vet if this might the case (reactive defense system and glucose reserves kicking in) she said she didn't think he would have that much reserve. But she now is baffled by what I have reported since and told me she can't advise me anymore.
He won't eat the honey in food mix. But I just checked @majandra suggestion regarding high carb food (science diet) - they have between 22 and 33-34-35 carb food. now i'm checking where to get it.If Moo still needs insulin it will be very important for you to have a high carb (at least 20% and above) around to help steer/ pull numbers up when need, like yesterday.
Honey & Karo are important of course as well for emergency's and times when you need an immediate bump up in numbers but their influence wears off very fast.
It is also helpful to mix in with your low carb 3% & 7% foods to keep Moo from dropping suoer fast. You can play around with the mixture to make something more like medium carbs 10% - 19%
I have about 45 strips left of the AT2 and 49 FSL strips- I agree with this. I don't want to chance it considering he is predicatably unpredictable these days. I'll order some more AT2 strips.Just a curiosity....do you have a good supply of AT2 strips? The reason I ask is because while the FS lite strips do work, they are not as accurate as the AT2 strips with the right code. Yesterday the FS strips read higher than the AT2 strips and that is the last thing you need with a cat that is so prone to diving and then hard to get back to safe numbers. I know the AT2 strips are expensive but not as expensive as a trip to the vet so for safety sake right now, I strongly suggest you use the proper AT2 strips if and when insulin is resumed.
@Majan Moo Cat is on Lantus.![]()
You were lucky- My vet seems to have retreated a bit from me because she was pushing for me to increase to a unit early on and I told her that the protocol indicates that I should decrease. Since then I have reported the decreases in insulin by email and she does not respond, only responds to non-diabetes questions.I like a Vet who can admit they haven't seen EVERYTHING and knows when they may not be able to be helpful for certain things.
My vet told me I knew more about FD than she did (she had not heard of the TR Protocol) and was very interested in working with me. I was very lucky.
Yes, that's where they have it. I have to go there tomorrow. It's about 20 miles away. Thanks for your input on the high numbers.I don't think you need to worry about the high numbers. I'm sure we will discuss what to do tomorrow after seeing what Moocat does with no insulin for over a day. Do you have a Petco near you? I think I've seen Science Diet in their store.