doses for lower numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Likameow

Active Member
I think I got a handle on what works for Ben when he is the 300's and high 200's but I'm totally failing with the lower numbers. Either I give too much and we end up at 37 :eek: or too little and we end up high again :banghead:. Any suggestions would be greatly appreaciated.

But I am happy to see more blues and greens on the spreadsheet.
 
Honestly, Lisa, I'm completely baffled. It's been looking good lately (even though you've had several times when he dropped a bit too low) but today's numbers...what is that? Giving 1 unit on an 82 was gutsy...and yet he went up all day?

The best I can get right now...he seems to be higher in the AM. So maybe his daytime cycle runs longer? And that's why sometimes those doses that would give you an okay day cycle give you lower numbers at night...because the insulin is still on board from earlier so it's overlapping. Do you have a sliding scale you're following right now, or are you just kind of figuring it out as you go?
 
I think I would lower the dose for 160-180. Maybe 1.2 or even one unit. Shooting at 82 this am was scary. The dose the night before gave you a very low preshot and he could have been still dropping. I'm guessing your later numbers today were a big bounce. Personally I wouldn't shoot below 160 but stall without feeding to be sure he is rising and nearer 160/180.
 
Do you have a sliding scale you're following right now, or are you just kind of figuring it out as you go?

Lately I've been more figuring it out as I go. He seems to do better if I don't vary the dose too much (within about 0.2-.04)

I think I would lower the dose for 160-180. Maybe 1.2 or even one unit. Shooting at 82 this am was scary. The dose the night before gave you a very low preshot and he could have been still dropping. I'm guessing your later numbers today were a big bounce. Personally I wouldn't shoot below 160 but stall without feeding to be sure he is rising and nearer 160/180.

I know that today was crazy. I was seriously sleep deprived and not thinking clearly. (I'm recovering from a bad infection from a cat bite and the super strong antibiotics are really messing with me). After I posted, I got ready for his PM dose and realized that the bottle of insulin I was using was empty. So he just might not have gotten any insulin or at least not much this morning. I think that God was looking out for Ben today. And I'm definitely going to double check what I'm doing.

As for stalling when he is less than 160, should I just skip it if I can't stall? For example, on the nights that I work, I feed him and dose him within 15" on leaving the house. On those days his PMPS ins at 5:30 and his AMPS is at 6:30.

Thanks.
 
I think I would skip on those days that you can't stall. Especially since you can't be around to monitor. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment.
 
I agree with Rachel on this. Another thing to remember is that with ProZinc the dose isn't usually changed for 3 full cycles, unless you get a low test number. Goof's nadir is usually at +7 or +8, it helps make dosing easier if you know the nadir for your cat.:cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top