Dosecrease? 3/7 Rocky PMPS 520 +2 509 +8 402

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114984

Good grief Rocky.. that was quiet a dive.. 407 to 270 in one hour this morning. ohmygod_smile

SUPER tired this morning and have a headache as well. Need to make myself a double espresso, pronto!! I was up until past 2am trying to fill out an online grant application. I need to finish it today before 5PM and submit it online. I have no chance at winning this grant. It feels like I am taking a written final exam, that i have only minutes to complete it, and that I know that am going to flunk it.

Rocky's BG continues to stay in the pinks and red, FOUR REDUCIE shots after his green string of numbers;

AMPS 238
+2 212
+4 238
+6 328
+9 309
+11 398
PMPS 313
+2 370
+4 342

+11 407

Doing an experiment with Rocky today. I have divided his total means into 4 servings. Just now he got 1/4 of his meal at AMPS and his second 1/4 of his meal will be at +1. Then, he'll get 1/4 of his meal at PMPS tonight, and the last 1/4 at PMPS +1. The desire is to get his BG numbers to flatten out rather than to be bouncing up and down.

He was getting three meals a day, three half-cans of food. First 1/2 can was at AMPS, 1/2 can was at AMPS +2, and third and final food for the day was at PMPS.
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100

After all of my complaining, and i am a constant whiner, I know, has Rocky's BG recovered and now taking a big DIVE back down? Or is this going to level out? How many want to place bets that this is going to be a DIVE?
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100

Hi Tina,

I don't make bets on unpredictable kitties. Sorry! :-D I was looking at your spreadsheet, and I noticed that any time Rocky throws a red, he always has at least a yellow within the next one to two cycles. That got me to thinking about Jersey's own pattern. I went back and looked at her spreadsheet and noticed the same exact thing. I've stared at her SS for days on end, but it took me looking at your own SS to find a pattern. Anyway....we're early into treatment with Lantus, so I don't know that the pattern really means a hill of beans. It's something I can hold on to, though, on bad days like today. :-D

Slow and steady, Rocky, slow and steady!

Shelly
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Rocky is looking good!!!

May be gearing up for another green-fest. . .

You have plenty of supplies? :cool:
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100

Yup Sandy, got the supplies ready. This is getting really interesting. Rocky got a *little less food* this morning at AMPS and and I fed him at AMPS +1 too because I decided to divide his normal three meals a day into 4 meals a day. He doesn't get to eat again until PMPS in 5 and 1/2 hours, unless he begins to dive. Then, I'll be feeding him about every 15 to 20 minutes, depending on how his BG is looking.

He is really hungry right now and letting me know. Crying.. I don't want to check him again before + 7.. his poor little ears.
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100

Imagine for a moment, if R was part of the equation. . .
this is an example of why I feel that at this stage, for Rocky, there is a substantial risk of seriously upsetting the apple cart by throwing R into the mix

Regarding feeding, how is his weight?

FWIW I used to Feed BK at shot time (I could only shoot if he was eatng) then set up the timed feeder for a mini meal at +4, another mini meal at +8 and a chunk of kitty crack at +10. The kitty crack at +10 ensured that BK didn't graze on the +8 meal to the point that food influenced his PS. I did the same for both AM and PM cycles.

:cool:
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100 +7 121

Well, Rocky is on his way back up. He is a seriously CONFOUNDING cat! What to do for him always has me scratching my head and being stumped. confused_cat :roll: :lol:

Now I can't stop thinking about how high his BG will climb before his next shot at PMPS.

Anyway, right now it looks like that he is surfing. (Can I say that with him only having THREE blue numbers in a row?) hehe dancing_cat

I dare not go make the community cat feeding rounds until one more reading at +8. If he's up, I'll feel more safe about leaving him for two hours. If his BG slides back down a few points to 100, I won't leave.
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100 +7 121

Tina & Rocky said:
Well, Rocky is on his way back up
Maybe, maybe not. . .100 and 121 are not that different. . . :cool:

Tina & Rocky said:
Now I can't stop thinking about how high his BG will climb before his next shot at PMPS.
Tina, Tina - what are we to do with you??? . . . ;-) :razz: ;-)

FWIW - I'm feeling Rocky will give you a nice PMPS
I will however have to tune in tomorrow for the end of today's episode of the Rocky show-
(I've been awake since 10am Thursday and am running on fumes.. . )
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100 +7 121

Tina --

One of my observations (an annoying observation, however) is that cat bounce until they don't. The unknown is when the bouncing will stop. It would be so easy if there was a tried and true method for cutting the bouncing short. If there is, I sure haven't figured it out.

FWIW, Gabby (aka the diving diva) gets several meals per day. She's fed at shot time, +1, +2, and +3 during both AM and PM cycles. It's helped to level her out. It did take a while for me to see a change in her response.
 
Re: 3/7 Rocky AMPS 270 +2 262 +4 151 +6 100 +7 121 +8 195

Sandy and Sienna, the Rocky show continues.. heheh


On his way back up and with that I feel safe to go feed feral cats. I think he might possible give me some nice numbers after his PMPS shot too.

Considering getting a timed feeder for him now. What are the recommended brands/models for feeding wet cat food?

Julie, I wanted to tell you that I do agree with you that Rocky needs exercise. The problem was before is that he was covered in ringworm, HUGE bald patches and lots of red everywhere. Although the fur is growing back it is not yet at it's normal length and there is still a silver dollar sized bald patch on his neck. Here I thought that "I" was done with it too, and last night one little pimple of it showed up on the back of my thumb, dang it. At least I still have the cream that my doc prescribed for me. Used it ASAP.

I think it's almost time to take him outside on a leash, although Rocky doesn't strike me as the walking type.
 
Dosecrease for Rocky, morning of March 8?

Rocky has had 6 shots with the 1.50u of insulin. He had a short run at the lagoon during the afternoon of March 7, and then his BG shot up to above 500. I am feeding him 4 meals a day now instead of 3, but it is the same amount of food just divided differently. In addition, Rocky's stool for the past two days has been a mixture of chocolate brown and a light tan color. It is normally just solid chocolate brown color. I am worried about what this bouncing is doing to his liver.

Should I raise his insulin dose back to 1.75u in the morning of March 8?
 
Re: Dosecrease? 3/7 Rocky PMPS 520 +2 509

Rocky is bouncing off the low blue numbers he got yesterday when he dipped to 100. I wouldn't raise the dose until he clears the bounce.

I know bouncing doesn't make any sense. I know it is frustrating. Logically, he spent time in the lower numbers and was fine, why would his liver freak out again? It really doesn't make any sense. And it doesn't mean that his liver isn't learning the FD dance. He just isn't learning it as quickly as you want.

If it were me, I'd stick it out through the next few cycles and see where he nadirs. Consider this...yesterday you were talking about R and Rocky dived down to 100. You don't want to increase his Lantus and the bounce clear at the same time. It could be a recipe for hypo. Be patient. He'll clear the bounce. (((Hugs))) I know this is tough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top