? Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peppersmom72

Member Since 2017
Pepper is only 268 and is ready for her pm shot of Prozinc. I am really nervous, what should I give her for her dose?
 
@Critter Mom,
I guess not. I didn't want to wait anymore for her shot, so I just gave her 1.25 u. I hope I was correct. I will just have to watch her extra close since she dropped 200 pts in the first few hours last night on her curve. I was afraid to give her the full 2u.
 
Hi Missy,

Sorry no-one was around to reply in time.

I've not used Prozinc but just going on fundamental principles of insulin treatment if Pepper were my cat I would have reduced the dose tonight and also would plan to monitor closely.

Looking at the recent yellow PMPS results Pepper went really high on the following AMPS, which would lead me to think 'bounce' and wonder how low the night time dose had taken her (no mid-cycle data available so speculating here).

Fingers and paws crossed for a smooth and safe cycle.


Mogs
.
 
@Critter Mom

Thank you. I was hoping for a good night sleep tonight. As my Dad used to say, "I'll sleep when I die".. I know, raw humor. But what can I do at this point but to pray things go well tonight.
 
Hi Missy and Pepper!
I saw your Facebook post on the Feline Diabetes group, but FB is acting badly and not letting me post a reply there. I hope you see this!

My Tucker was on ProZinc for two years before I just switched him to Lantus last month, so I do have experience with this insulin. From looking at your SS, it looks like your diet change with the change in insulin is working :) You look to be bouncing - poor Pepper is not used to having blood sugars down in the yellows and her body is compensating. You will want to try and hold your doses a little longer before making any changes but it looks like 2 units may be too much, considering the drop from the 400s PMPS to the 200s at +3 and 100s at +4. I’m glad you decreased tonight!

Are you able to get any data during the day? It would be helpful to get at least a +2 or +3 periodically, definitely try to get a curve every 2 or every 3 hours to see what is happening during the day.

Have you posted in the ProZinc forum? You may have better luck there getting dosing advice...

Jen

I’m Jen Harned on Facebook :)
 
@Tucker'sMom-Jen

Hi Jen,

I cannot test during the day. I am gone at work for 11-1/2 hours a day. The evenings and weekend days and evenings are the only time I can test. Thank you for jumping on here and responding. I am still fairly new to this sugar dance. I did post on the ProZinc forum, but everyone was busy. I understand that feeling all too well. My weekends are my only time to get things done.
 
By the way... I am consistently able to hold a full dose with pre-shots that low or lower (even on AlphaTrak) with Mia, but that is because I have enough data to know that I need to do that, and I know that I will be able to monitor and intervene if things go wonky. Those things definitely have to factor into your decisions. Once you piece together more data from doing mid-cycle tests when you can, you will feel more comfortable making these calls. Based on what you have to go on right now, you did the safest thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top