DOSE ? /VACATION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Johnny's chart is up to date. Unfortunately, we only got the AMPS and PMPS today. Hopefully, you still have an okay picture of his BG "activities."

We have PM shot coming up at 8:30 Central. We'll be here tomorrow morning to test/shoot and then we're off. nailbite_smile

Wondering what you all recommend for his reduced dose. We'll do our best to make sure the sitters hit it (leaving a well-marked SAMPLE syringe).

Thanks for any advice!
 
Re: Johnny - Need dosing advice for while we're on vacation

Hi there


your PMPS is 244 as noted in SS right?

Are you around this evening to spotcheck?
 
Re: Johnny - Need dosing advice for while we're on vacation

Yes, they will both test before shooting. I'd like to give them a number at which they shouldn't do the shot.

Sorry, +11 was 244, +11.5 was 253. Thanks for pointing that out.
 
Given how little insulin Johnny is on, this is going to be tough. I'd suggest a skinny .25u or even a .1u.

With a .1u shot, the chances of numbers dropping too low is minimal. If for your comfort, you could suggest they don't shoot if numbers are below 120.

I'd like to see what some of the others have to say, though.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I lean towards the .1u (so I don't worry). Is there a photo of .1u? Would there be any daylight seen in the syringe? I wonder if there's a surefire way to gauge, i.e. "draw up "x" amount and twist out "x" drops. Perhaps a pipe dream, but just a thought.
 
p.s. We did the regular fat .25 tonight. Hope that doesn't mess with the shed. "Shed action" should just reflect in his numbers, right? So, we'd be covered by just following a "don't shoot below this level" rule?
 
Janice & Johnny said:
Thanks, Sienne. I lean towards the .1u (so I don't worry). Is there a photo of .1u? Would there be any daylight seen in the syringe? I wonder if there's a surefire way to gauge, i.e. "draw up "x" amount and twist out "x" drops. Perhaps a pipe dream, but just a thought.

alot of us learned to find that drop by practicing with used syringes and fruit juice for example. It's hard on the eyes @-) but it gets easier to measure.
So if you have a few minutes give it a try with some of your used needles.

Have a wonderful trip and happy 4th of July!


PS: I'm looking for a direct pic for you, but all I have is a link, New to the Group stickie, click on this link
New to the Group ....scroll down and you'll see some pics.
I also blew it up and printed it and taped it in my kitchen, helped a bit.
 
You can try to calibrate the drops with your particular syringes. The problem is that each person puts a different amount of pressure on the plunger. What you might suggest is that the sitters practice a couple of times and leave them a syringe to practice with. Even for a vet tech, I'm going to bet they aren't used to micro dosing.

(Did you end up using Michelle?)
 
FWIW, I agree with 0.1. Definitely leave an example, they won't believe you when they see how little insulin you're giving. ;-) Have a great trip!
 
Another question...the first-half-of-the-week cat sitter asked us to move the shot time to 8:30. We've inched him there this week. The second cat sitter really needs 8:00 so she can get to work. When she does the first shot Wed night, can she safely do it at 8:00 or should she do 8:15 Wed night and then start at 8 the next morning?
 
Oh yea! The look on some vets faces when you tell them your kitty is on a drop of juice. :shock:
:lol:

Good luck!! You've done very well with your preparations for Johnny! cat_pet_icon
 
I would move the time by in 15 min. increments. Early shots are like increases and with you guys being away, I'd lean toward safety.

Have a great trip. Will your friend be posting?
 
The first sitter won't be posting. The second one, Deb, says she probably will. She'll take over Wed p.m.

Thanks, everyone, for all the advice tonight. I think he'll do just fine! Vet tech will text me after each visit. If I'm able to post, I will.

THANK YOU!!!!!!

Will definitely update Sat night (7/10).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top