Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last Week

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robyn and Penny

Member Since 2013
Hi all! I've been working with a couple of the girls on the FB page, but I need all the help I can get with this one lol

Here's where we are at. Penny was diagnosed 9/7/13 and she started Lantus on 9/16/13 after changing her to low carb and learning to home test.

About three weeks ago, we switched her to Levimir. She was on .75u of Lantus and holding in the 200s and 300s, lowered her dose to .5u of Lev till we see how she responds to Lev (she's shown with her first shot attempt on 9/10, before we were testing, that she may be hyper sensitive to insulin). Anyway, I was just starting to increase her Lev dose to .75u after a week b/c her numbers were still holding in the 200s, and on the third cycle of that dose increase, I got her lowest number at a 57. So I went back to shooting a fat .5u and then .5u, and got chicken shitty a few times b/c I'm not even used to her having low numbers yet let alone shooting low..lol. So right now we are in day 3 of trying her out on .25u, but I skipped last night's dose b/c her PMPS was 100 and she will NOT really eat at night..she has this thing that she will not eat unattended (by me or my folks if I'm not home), so knowing she wouldn't eat from 11p to 7a (sometimes she will eat at 4am when I get up to check on her), I opted not to shoot and she was still at 69 this morning.

I need her numbers today before I figure out my next move, although I know now that at this point I will not shoot below 100 at PMPS, but I did give her a skinny .25u this morning on that AMPS of 69 b/c she will be eating all day. My question is, if she is still low tonight, should I consider a dose reduction at .125u and see what happens?

Thanks! This is like rocket science lol
Here's her SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

How many cats of you have? ;0

She could be heading to remission or is a micro dose cat. You could hold the 0.25s and see where she goes. But She drops under 50, or stays 50-130 for a week, try 0.1.

Wendy
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Wendy, this is the same one we were talking about before. She has dropped rapidly in the past two weeks lol.

I'm hoping she's trying to go OTJ, as well, but don't wanna start the trial too early and screw it all up. That's what I figured, if she drops to 50 at any point or even if I can't shoot tonight b/c of a low PMPS, I will try a reduction to .125 (which is one drop right? Microdosing is TOUGH lol) and see where that goes.

IF she is trying to go OTJ, when do I know the time is right to do a trial? When she drops to 50 on a .125u dose?
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Sorry I got you mixed up with another Robin.

If she holds 50-130 at 0.1 for a week, or drops under 50 on that dose, then you go for a OTJ trial.

Wendy
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Okay...my PM do not shoot number is 120, because she dropped to 69 at AMPS this morning after her PMPS last night was 100 and NO shot. So, my next question is if I can't shoot tonight again, should I try her out on .125u tomorrow morning so I can dose her .125u at night again?
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Sure - lets see how it goes. If we find the 0.1 doesn't work then you can always go back to 0.25 after a few days and at that point we would need to reduce your no shot number
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Okay, Wendy, thanks! I just dont' wanna screw up her chances at going into remission but also don't want her going hypo...this is def a careful balancing act and I hadn't really had time to even get used to the idea of shooting low, etc. This kinda happened suddenly with these lower numbers so I'm still scared of it all lol
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Wendy, just an update...she was 121 at +9 and down to 96 at PMPS. She typically goes up and her highest point of the day is at PMPS, so I'm surprised she went down. Again, I didn't shoot tonight knowing she went down to 69 this morning after no shot and a PMPS of 100 last night, but I'm trying her on one drop tomorrow morning in the hopes to get her back to b.i.d dosing, but also don't wanna take a chance of her going hypo in the wee hours of the morning. This is nerve racking for sure. If she gets close to 50 on the micro dose, I may start an OTJ trial, but we will see. I hope her numbers don't shoot up on the decreased dose!
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Thanks Wendy!

Just an update. I called the vet this morning to schedule a dental before I do her OTJ trial, and he viewed her ss while we were on the phone and insisted on her going off insulin NOW and do the dental after her trial is complete.

I'm hearing it should be the other way around, but what can I do if he won't do the dental til "her diabetes is taken care of"? I'm not just trusting anybody to put Penny under to clean her teeth. Should I try the OTJ trial and then if she fails, take her for the dental, or if she succeeds then take her for the dental right after the trial is over?
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Thats fine - lets see how the trial goes. If she fails the trial then insist on the dental. The dental will probably be the final thing that tips her into remission. even if she passes the trial we want the dental.

Wendy
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Absolutely Wendy...I'm scheduling her dental for exactly 2 weeks from today lol. If she fails, I wanna get it over with earlier. I just read another thread on here and someone had states anethesia can lower BG and since she's been green the past couple of days, that's why he said get her off insulin NOW. That was BEFORE she tested at 58 yesterday, too. I think he woulda had a heart attack if he saw that lol

So day one is over and her AM was 69 (her fave AM number this week)...her high today was 88 and low was 66. 13 more days...I'm a nervous wreck lol
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Thanks Wendy! Day 2 went well, but see the notes. Day 3 and AM # was higher at 83 and her 2pm reading was 105. I"m trying not to panic and hope this isn't the sign of things to come!
 
Re: Dose Reduction/Sudden Drop in Numbers and Dose in Last W

Remember - no high carb stuff at all - and give mini meals through the day.. try and not overwhelm the pancreas with large meals.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top