Dose reduced, but still do much?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wesley and Spicoli

Member Since 2017
We had a few days without insulin, and thanks to the advice I received here and after talking to my vet we have reduced Spicoli's dose to 1u BID. His numbers were high this morning - PSAM 315 so I thought the recommended 1u would be fine. His numbers dropped FAST. Sitting at 54 +3 (was 56 at +2), practically force feeding him. He's not showing any signs of hypo but this still has me concerned. I'll be testing every hour to make sure he doesn't drop too low.

Could this be my meter? Its only 5 weeks old and I haven't dropped it or anything...so it seems unlikely that this is the case.
Or could his diet change and keeping his numbers in check for some time be helping his body to regulate his BG more on his own now?

I think tonight if his numbers are elevated that we might try 1/2u. Does that sound reasonable?
 
Diet can have a big impact on his numbers. When did you change his diet over? What was his diet? Sorry if you've mentioned it before. Was his AMPS before or after eating?

From the little data you have, I think 1U is too much. Although, it is possible he went low on his own overnight and his body responded with a bounce, even without having insulin. Don't see why kitties couldn't naturally have bounces, even without diabetes.

I'm not one of the Prozinc experts but it kind of looks like his own body is helping, a lot.
@Rachel @Kris & Teasel
 
I changed his diet over from Hills Science Diet Active Longevity to FF Classics the day after he was dx, so 2/17/17. AMPS was before eating. I usually test, put down food, and then shoot while he's eating. He's back up to a good range +4 84. Want to do a +6 and at least a PMPS, only 4 test strips left and the new ones don't get here till Thursday when I will also be switching meters at least till my vets office gets these others in.
 
Diet made a huge difference in my Leo's BG. He started out in the 400's+. About three and a half weeks into daily insulin (Prozinc) he started dropping too low to shoot any insulin. He's now had no insulin for 8 days and he is still in the range where no insulin is needed. The only thing I can think of is that I took him completely off dry food and he eats only grain free single protein canned duck. I could not believe what a difference it made. Of course this may just be a short remission but his specialist is pleased and his liver enzymes came back to normal.
 
We had a few days without insulin, and thanks to the advice I received here and after talking to my vet we have reduced Spicoli's dose to 1u BID. His numbers were high this morning - PSAM 315 so I thought the recommended 1u would be fine. His numbers dropped FAST. Sitting at 54 +3 (was 56 at +2), practically force feeding him. He's not showing any signs of hypo but this still has me concerned. I'll be testing every hour to make sure he doesn't drop too low.

Could this be my meter? Its only 5 weeks old and I haven't dropped it or anything...so it seems unlikely that this is the case.
Or could his diet change and keeping his numbers in check for some time be helping his body to regulate his BG more on his own now?

I think tonight if his numbers are elevated that we might try 1/2u. Does that sound reasonable?
If your syringes have half unit marks you could try eyeballing 0.75 u. If that makes you nervous, give 0.5 u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top