dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364 +11 369

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
And a Happy Mother's Day to all of you mother's on FDMB, especially to you mother's of furbabies!!

Well, Rocky continues to show me stinky pinky numbers although he is eating great, poops great, pees great (not too much), and he has never thrown up or acted sick, or nauseous.. Other than his blood glucose numbers, from outer appearances and behavior you would never know that Rocky is a cat with diabetes.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118549&p=1241306#p1241306

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 294 +1 412 +3 276 +5 281 +7 340 +10 284
PMPS 306 +1 407 +3 332 +9 384

I increased Rocky' insulin dose to 1.50u last night.
 
Re: 5/11 Rocky AMPS 293 +2 315 +396

I've said the same about Max many times. Weird isn't it? I hope the bounce clears tonight.
 
Re: 5/11 Rocky AMPS 293 +2 315 +396

Hi Elise, good to hear from you.. I don't believe that Rocky is bouncing.. If this was a bounce, it would mean that he is bouncing after his BG was in a few blue and green numbers-- 11 cycles ago... @-) :shock: :roll:

I don't really know what the problem is. I suspect that this is just not enough insulin for him as he is now eating only the 0% carb food again.

I think maybe I decreased his doses too fast. I think I should have done the "wait for 3 times under 50" and then decrease. In addition, I think I should have tried to manipulate his BG even more, if that is possible, by feeding him HC food so that I could have kept him on the higher dose of insulin. At least that way he would have been staying in the healing green numbers.

I think *maybe* the right amount of insulin for Rocky might be somewhere between 2.0u and 2.50u of insulin. He was clearing his bounces much faster when he was on those doses of insulin.
 
Re: 5/11 Rocky AMPS 293 +2 315 +5 396 +9 343

I am having similar problems with Max. It doesn't help that I am pretty sure he didn't get his insulin last night when he tried to bite me. I now see why he was labeled aggressive. Most of the time he is super easy to handle but now he bit me once when I was brushing and got to a matt and now with his shot. I guess they all have a boiling point just like people. I hope Rocky gets back on track real soon.
 
Re: dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364

Rocky is obviously showing a poor response to any .25u increase in insulin..

If you look at his SS he always did the best at between 2.0u and 2.50u.

When we have reduced a cat's insulin intake by so much, Rocky's was all the way back down to .75u, and we KNOW that he had the longest stretch of healing green numbers at between 2.0 and 2.50u of insulin, why can't we just take him right back up to that amount again??

As it is now, we are repeating January 2014 all over again, when we very first started with tight regulation. This is infuriating. His BG continues to be shitty. He has spent more days in pink, black and red than he has in blue and green. It does not appear that we are "filling up" any depot. Rocky's depot is DRAINED!!

So, now I am suppose to wait 6 cycles @ .25u increases before I get him back up to at least 2.0u.. :roll: That is 6 MORE DAYS until *maybe* he can see at least a blue number again.

Who knows, he might even need MORE insulin than 2.0u after this ugly month of May.
 
Re: dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364

Tina, I know you're frustrated. I'm sorry! The reason you can't just jump back up to those doses is because Rocky earned his reductions and proved that at that time those doses were too much insulin for him.

You had a nice streak of green between 4/23 and 4/29, except for that one day of red, which was directly related to the skipped shot that morning. All of those doses were under 2units.

Unfortunately, searching around for the right dose is all part of this frustrating game. But the protocol is there to keep Rocky safe (and save you money so you don't feel you have to rush off to the emergency vet).

Try to be patient. I know (trust me), I know it is hard. Yesterday I was complaining about Cobb's numbers and had to be reminded of an adjustment in our schedule. Now he's back in better numbers. You may have to bounce around for a bit until you really find Rocky's optimal dose.
 
Re: dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364 +11 36

When we have reduced a cat's insulin intake by so much, Rocky's was all the way back down to .75u, and we KNOW that he had the longest stretch of healing green numbers at between 2.0 and 2.50u of insulin, why can't we just take him right back up to that amount again??

Because that was then and this is now. Like Suzanne rightly noted, Rocky earned those reductions.

The big factor you need to try to wrap your head around is that you don't control the numbers. Rocky is leading this sugar dance; you're following. The more you try to control things, chances are the wonkier the numbers will be.
 
Re: dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364 +11 36

i'd also point out that he had green numbers, looks like for several hours, the night of the 5th and the morning of the 6th. He was getting f1.0u at that time - he's getting 50% more insulin now than he was just 6 days ago.
 
Re: dose question-- 5/11 Rocky PMPS 410 +1 321 +5 364 +11 36

And 50% more insulin isn't helping him.. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top