Dose Question: 3/11 Soldier AMPS 254 PMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Soldiers Mom

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone. I'm a newb here so I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing. I've been reading and researching non-stop for a week when we got the news so I'm rather overwhelmed.

I just read in another post that shooting 200 and under is ill-advised without a good bit of data, which I dont really have yet. Soldier just got a 201 PMPS and usually gets 1u Lantus. Should I shoot a half or leave him be? My vet tried starting us on 3u and 3u, which I am glad I did not do. Soldier and I appreciate your feedback.

000
{ }o

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...OkdFZRZm81MXd3TVAtS0cxWERIc3NzRmc&output=html
 
Re: 3/11 Soldier AMPS 254 PMPS 201

I don't have any dose advice. I just wanted to say welcome to the board. The people here are very friendly and helpful. Someone with experience should be on later and be able to answer your dose question. Just for future reference, if you have a question, it is a good idea to put it in the subject line of your first post so everyone will see it (something like "dose question"). You can also select the question mark icon to draw attention to your post. Only changes in the subject line of the first post show up on the board where everyone can see them.
 
On the Health board, they use 200 as the "post and ask for help" number -- we use 150. (Health covers all kinds of insulin and the shorter acting ones are harsher than Lantus and Lev.)

I think you're fine to shoot. Generally, if you're shooting numbers that are lower than you're used to, you want to be sure that you have strips, high carb food, and you're around to monitor. You'll want to get a +1 and +2.

I'm wondering if you're off schedule. Can you manage to be off of your regular shot time?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
On the Health board, they use 200 as the "post and ask for help" number -- we use 150. (Health covers all kinds of insulin and the shorter acting ones are harsher than Lantus and Lev.)

I think you're fine to shoot. Generally, if you're shooting numbers that are lower than you're used to, you want to be sure that you have strips, high carb food, and you're around to monitor. You'll want to get a +1 and +2.

I'm wondering if you're off schedule. Can you manage to be off of your regular shot time?


No I'm on schedule 7a/7p. My daylight savings time setting wasn't originally on if that's what you meant. I'm seeing the numbers trending downward and not realizing the differences in the forum areas (200 vs 150) I wasn't sure what to do. I opted to not shoot and test at +2 and +4. I probably should've gone with 0.5u in retrospect. Is there an area here for people who are complete basket cases because I might need it. :cry:
 
hi - most of us started off as basket cases too - and then we start to get on top of this disease and gradually calm down - check out the early posts by Sam as "RubenTheCat" (no offence Sam!) but you will see just how much things turned around for her.
Great that you're posting on LL - you will get sooo much help and encouragement here
 
Welcome to LL. (lantusland)
Everyone is overwhelmed at first..... That's why it so great to post here. Everyone understands and is eager to help. Ask questions when you have them....
After you learn your cats patterns and how he reacts to Lantus and have collected data ( tests/ some curves) , you will shoot a number lower than 200.
In the early days, you collect data so you'll be ready when it's time to shoot a lower number.

I read everything when I got here, all the stickies, other condo's... it takes time for it to all fall in place but it will get better.
Just keep asking for help, whatever you need. cat_pet_icon
 
Welcome to Lantus Land to you and Soldier! I'm sorry we didn't catch your need for help earlier.

It's good if you can get a +2 test as much as possible or, if you work, and out the door and then an in the door test. At night, a before bed test is great.

I think we all read back over our first condos, we realize how far we've come. You'll catch on really fast. Just ask questions and let us know how we can help.


When you have time, could you please do a Profile for Soldier so we have all his info in one place for quick access? Thank you!

PS...your name?
 
Is there an area here for people who are complete basket cases because I might need it.

Lol!!! We've all walked miles upon miles in those shoes!! This is truly the best place you never wanted to be. Lantus Land is filled with people that are dedicated to their cats -- and everyone else's, for that matter. There is usually someone around 24/7 and we're all ready to lend a hand and answer your questions. The people here are incredibly generous with their time and knowledge.

It will take a little while to feel less overwhelmed and to figure out how to navigate this Board. After a week or so, it will become second nature. (When you start thinking in +time, you'll know you're getting there.)
 
Good morning all and thank you. I will update Soldier's profile after work. In retrospect wish I had partial dosed last night but moving on...new day

Searching for NADIR
Aiming for remission

Maria
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top