? Dose Increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppp

Member Since 2017
Wondering if anyone disagrees that Tut is due for a .25 dose increase?

I might wait a few days longer, and do another curve -- still a little mysterious why he went down to near 150 for 2 PM shots --but I'm going to be out of town 12-21 to 12-27. Husband will be here to do shots (but Tut considers himself more my cat, even than our others); don't want to be changing things close to that date. (We're both on vacation 1/20- 1/28, so this may be the last increase I'll want to try for quite a while.) (Reminder that Tut is not likely to be long-lived so I'm inclined to be happy with moderate numbers.)
 
It does look like Tut can use the dose increase. I hope it brings his numbers down.
still a little mysterious why he went down to near 150 for 2 PM shots
It is possible Tut dipped down to blue later in the AM cycle and the PM cycle was a bounce because he kept going up in the PM cycle.
 
Here is the link to yesterday's post. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pmps-142-going-up-through-night.187715/
We like to include those so people can go back and see the history easily.

I see Tut is giving you some action at +3 today.:cool: I wouldn't wait longer than 2 hours for the next test.

A couple days before you go away on holiday, post here and ask people what dose they think you should have as a vacation dose. We typically lower the dose for safety, depending on what sort of numbers you are seeing. And getting a dose on the line is often easier.
 
Wow! Bit of an over-correction from that 1/2 can of Friskies gravy (96 to 169 from +3 to +5). (First green, so quickly gone.)

I'm feeling lucky that I have an 'eater' (though of course we know that's what inclines a lot of us to get in trouble in the first place).

I've been wanting to ask more about hypoglycemia. I'm sure it is a top priority for many here to warn people of the danger. But, I doubt that being as terrified as I am is helpful. If one is watching (and has an eater), need we obsess over this so much? How often do cats die vs. recover with some syrup, and/or gravy?

And, at least equally important, does anyone want to venture a recommendation about sticking with the new 1.75 units tonight?

Thanks in advance for any input.
 
First thing, when we want to steer the numbers a little higher, we do a couple tsp of gravy, not half a can. Although I'm sure Tut appreciated it. :p You do want to go easy on the food, in case you need him to keep eating later in the cycle. Second point, greens are good numbers. High greens are great. Our "take action" number where we give gravy is 50, so you still had quite a ways to go. The general guidelines is to feed a couple tsps of LC or his regular low carb food when you first see green. That can help them surf, or hang out at those good numbers.

Having said that, I'm sure pretty much all of us freak out when we first see normal numbers. I know I did. :p Once I had an idea what Neko's cycles/patterns looked like, and I had a handle on how she responded to food (and ECID, each cat is different, so take good notes), then I could relax more. Take good notes on what extra food you give, what carbs and how much. I put it in the Remarks section - then I could see how it impacted Neko's numbers.

If you have to be out of the house or can't monitor for some reason, an autofeeder can be great. Especially if you know they will eat. As long as you can monitor and feed, you can keep kitty safe. Take a look at some of the other kitties on this forum, and see what sort of numbers they are getting. I found looking around at other posts really educational, especially look at other spreadsheet.

As long as you are around tonight, I would stick with the same dose, provided he doesn't dive lower later today. The previous dose wasn't doing it.
 
Yes, Tut seems to think Everything would be fine if I would just give him more of that gravy! (Of course, he 'should' have been still going down at +5 ... it seems his history in fact may indicate he may keep going down right to +12.) (Note: he went down again, just now at +9 to 106.)

It is reassuring though to hear he is likely to be safe as long as I can monitor, and feed. We were supposed to go out tonight, but I didn't mind cancelling. (Owe the husband another one.)

I am set to see the vet Tuesday, and somewhat influenced to try the increase so she won't push too much. (I hope not to the point that I would put him at risk.) Believe she sincerely thinks some risks of higher dosage are worth the more likely remission. I see that theory out there.
 
Don't get rid of your plans to go out just yet. You may see Tut start bouncing by PMPS time - which will mean you are fine to go out. A lot of people hate bounces, but the good thing is they do give you some time to do whatever you want.
 
My PMPS is 10 (adaptation to hubby's taking over while I'm gone to visit mom late month -- Not an early riser!) For my nephew in Miami Beach this is heading out time, but hereabouts it's closer to bedtime. :rolleyes:
 
'chickened out'; went with 1.6, and setting the alarm for 1:00. (Such a drop from yesterday???) If I could stay in 100s, I'd be happy.
 
Don't think of it as chickening out. Think of it as an experiment and data gathering. We all have to learn how our cat works on insulin. A +3 is a good idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top