?? Dose increase for Charlie

charliesmom1

Member Since 2019
I realize it has been longer than 7 days on current dose, but was unable to complete a curve for Charlie over the weekend. I'm working on it today. Strangely his numbers are similar all day long so far. He had one day where his numbers were green. He had a hypo day with 1.25 units the prior week so went back down to 1 unit on the advice given here. Based on his numbers do I go back up to 1.25?
 
The decrease was correct, but the new dose isn't looking very good yet. I sure wish I were experienced enough to advise. Maybe someone else will chime in soon. There was a good first cycle on the 15th . . . makes it hard for me to know. Maybe Charlie is still bouncing around?
 
It has been 11 cycles since the NS. That said, he is getting into some blues which is good and that one good green zone just 1 day after that NS. And your Charlie likes to bounce!!! And it is cycle 8 since that green...hmmm - finally clearing that bounce?

That all day yellow cycle with flat numbers makes me very wary....I think your boy has a drop planned and soon. Tonight or tomorrow morning!!! I would be getting some tests in tonight.
 
It has been 11 cycles since the NS. That said, he is getting into some blues which is good and that one good green zone just 1 day after that NS. And your Charlie likes to bounce!!! And it is cycle 8 since that green...hmmm - finally clearing that bounce?

That all day yellow cycle with flat numbers makes me very wary....I think your boy has a drop planned and soon. Tonight or tomorrow morning!!! I would be getting some tests in tonight.

Yeah I did not know what to make of his yellows all day. I will check his sugar +2 tonight and see if it seems it could drop too much. Hoping not, cause I could really use some sleep! Do you think its best to keep him at 1 unit?
 
I would for six more cycles, so that would make 14 since that green. BTW, that 79 which actually is another reduction under SLGS to .75u.

I think this boy has something in store though to prove his point that he is done with 1u.

I so appreciate your help as I don't really understand when I should be reducing or increasing etc. So your advice is to hold at 1 unit for 3 more days and then reduce to .75u? This question will probably be stupid but if I keep decreasing his dose based on 1 day of green numbers will he still eventually get controlled?
 
I so appreciate your help as I don't really understand when I should be reducing or increasing etc. So your advice is to hold at 1 unit for 3 more days and then reduce to .75u? This question will probably be stupid but if I keep decreasing his dose based on 1 day of green numbers will he still eventually get controlled?

I will read the sticky on SLGS and see if I can better understand
 
I so appreciate your help as I don't really understand when I should be reducing or increasing etc. So your advice is to hold at 1 unit for 3 more days and then reduce to .75u? This question will probably be stupid but if I keep decreasing his dose based on 1 day of green numbers will he still eventually get controlled?

Short answer, yes he will get controlled as you will be reducing and increasing as per the SLGS method. It may take a bit as you kitty is quite bouncy but you will get there. Sometimes they go down, then go up for a bit, then back down in dose.

I am suggesting you hold the dose for 3 more cycles @ 1u unless Charles decides he needs a reduction by giving you a number under 90. Which I think he is going to.

Since the NS you have a 74 and a 149. So really it depends on what Charles does over the next couple of days - that will give us cycle 12, 13 and 14 from the NS to figure out what he is trying to tell you.

If the lowest number he gives you over the last 14 cycle is more the 150 - you would increase .25u on the morning of Aug 21st.
If you have a number between 90 -149 you hold the dose. Which you have a 149, so you would the dose until Charlie tells you it is too much and earns a reduction or after another week and doesn't have an number below 150 - you would increase.
If you get a number below 90 - take an immediate reduction! and start your 14 day cycle over again.​


I know it is hard to pick up with to start, that is why the board is good for making sure you are on the right track.

I will be watching tonight to see what he does!



From the sticky.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Short answer, yes he will get controlled as you will be reducing and increasing as per the SLGS method. It may take a bit as you kitty is quite bouncy but you will get there. Sometimes they go down, then go up for a bit, then back down in dose.

I am suggesting you hold the dose for 3 more cycles @ 1u unless Charles decides he needs a reduction by giving you a number under 90. Which I think he is going to.

Since the NS you have a 74 and a 149. So really it depends on what Charles does over the next couple of days - that will give us cycle 12, 13 and 14 from the NS to figure out what he is trying to tell you.

If the lowest number he gives you over the last 14 cycle is more the 150 - you would increase .25u on the morning of Aug 21st.
If you have a number between 90 -149 you hold the dose. Which you have a 149, so you would the dose until Charlie tells you it is too much and earns a reduction or after another week and doesn't have an number below 150 - you would increase.
If you get a number below 90 - take an immediate reduction! and start your 14 day cycle over again.​


I know it is hard to pick up with to start, that is why the board is good for making sure you are on the right track.

I will be watching tonight to see what he does!



From the sticky.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Thank you for all of the information. I did re-read the sticky and even if I don't understand how all of it works I will trust the system! Just hard to see how when he has 1 good nadir for the week and the rest of the numbers are not great, how he will eventually get under control. I still have hopes of remission but not sure if that is realistic.
 
Well I got up with him a few times overnight to see if he would go below 90 and nope, but stayed in blues. I will do a few more cycles with 1u and see if he has a nadir below 90. If not, I am to do another 14 cycles at 1u and see what he does correct?
 
Well I got up with him a few times overnight to see if he would go below 90 and nope, but stayed in blues. I will do a few more cycles with 1u and see if he has a nadir below 90. If not, I am to do another 14 cycles at 1u and see what he does correct?

That is correct. That was a nice run of blues last night. 116 was nice. He drops so fast! Hopefully he stays out of the pinks this round of bounce.

Do you feed Charlie any snacks or does he have timed meals?
 
That is correct. That was a nice run of blues last night. 116 was nice. He drops so fast! Hopefully he stays out of the pinks this round of bounce.

Do you feed Charlie any snacks or does he have timed meals?

Yes he does drop fast! Charlie is free fed so there is always food if he wants it. I have been doing cooked chicken also at test and shot times because he loves it and keeps him distracted for his shot!
 
always food if he wants it

I am wondering if you had any med carb food that he would like to snack on? Jones was free fed as well, but if I noticed a big drop and wanted to slow his roll - I would give him a treat of something higher carb just to slow that drop and reduced the chance of a bounce or maybe get a smaller bounce.

I am never going to admit this :smuggrin: but I used Friskes/Whiskas...like a half or 1 treat at test time just to get those carbs in there to slow that drop. He also like my CKD kitties food - which was 18% carb...a little tsp. Wonder if that will help Charlie get off the roller coaster. He likes going from pink to blue - that is over 100 point drop.

BTW - great work getting those night tests...they really are starting to tell a story.
 
I am wondering if you had any med carb food that he would like to snack on? Jones was free fed as well, but if I noticed a big drop and wanted to slow his roll - I would give him a treat of something higher carb just to slow that drop and reduced the chance of a bounce or maybe get a smaller bounce.

I am never going to admit this :smuggrin: but I used Friskes/Whiskas...like a half or 1 treat at test time just to get those carbs in there to slow that drop. He also like my CKD kitties food - which was 18% carb...a little tsp. Wonder if that will help Charlie get off the roller coaster. He likes going from pink to blue - that is over 100 point drop.

BTW - great work getting those night tests...they really are starting to tell a story.

Is a big drop a bad thing? Im guessing it is, but can you explain why?! BTW I have learned so much from you and I really appreciate it and now feel like I understand how this is suppose to work. Charlie loves Temptations cat treats but those were removed from all 4 cats and they all eat the low carb food now. I still have the treats so I could try giving him 1 or 2.

Yes I will say I'm tired today. I see now why 53 year old women don't have babies! It's tiring getting up with my 8 pound fur baby lol
 
Is a big drop a bad thing? Im guessing it is, but can you explain why?!

It isn't bad in the sense that there is danger unless there is low numbers involved but a fast drop will make the liver panic and it will release stored glucose - hence the bounce - drop down and bounce up. In my mind the stored glucose is not the same as uncontrolled diabetes...it is a natural reaction of the body.

What we try to do is "lessen" that drop so the "bounce" side of things are not as bad. We are trying to get Charlie's body to understand what normal is again and there is no need to panic but the drops can confuse the body. Does that make sense?

This board is amazing and I had some great coaches to start that helped me.

I think next time we see a case where he is pink and we have that gut feeling he is going to drop, we may need to give a little contraband to help slow that roll.

I am 51 and I like my sleep. I can't imagine having a baby. The fur babies are enough for me.
 
What we try to do is "lessen" that drop so the "bounce" side of things are not as bad. We are trying to get Charlie's body to understand what normal is again and there is no need to panic but the drops can confuse the body. Does that make sense?

Yes makes perfect sense, thanks!
 
I am wondering if you had any med carb food that he would like to snack on? Jones was free fed as well, but if I noticed a big drop and wanted to slow his roll - I would give him a treat of something higher carb just to slow that drop and reduced the chance of a bounce or maybe get a smaller bounce.

I am never going to admit this :smuggrin: but I used Friskes/Whiskas...like a half or 1 treat at test time just to get those carbs in there to slow that drop. He also like my CKD kitties food - which was 18% carb...a little tsp. Wonder if that will help Charlie get off the roller coaster. He likes going from pink to blue - that is over 100 point drop.

BTW - great work getting those night tests...they really are starting to tell a story.

This is such great information, thank you.
 
I thought that would happen last night so we will see! I can't check him again until +5 but thats usually when he goes low if he is going to anyway.
 
Ok, so I definetly see a pattern here. Do me a favour tomorrow give Charlie a few whiskas at test time or some food just for him to eat at shot time. Something to offset that deep dive to +2. I wonder if we can get him to the point of slow drop from +2 to +4 or +5 and see if he will not bounce as high. This dose is giving him some action, I think we just need to fine tune it a bit.
 
Back
Top