dose help! Julian PMPS 193

Status
Not open for further replies.
I suggest you stall for 30 minutes and test to see if you have a rising number and DON'T feed so that you will not have a food influenced number.
Are you still feeding dry food or have you completely switched Julian to wet?

I am also in the Boston area. :smile:
 
He did get his food already :(
He is completely switched to wet- his vet wants me to put dry down for him, but I will not, and told him i'm not comfortable with that.
Yay Boston!
 
Since I am not familiar with Julian I am not sure how you arrived at your current dose but my suggestion to you would be to lower the dose so that you can shoot twice a day.
I also think if you are switching over to low carb wet it will make a difference in the numbers which may be why you are seeing more green.
 
I guess we were posting at the same time.

I think you are seeing the lower numbers because you have eliminated the dry.
Retest 30 minutes from your last test (which may be now) and post the number.
 
he was put on that high of a dose becuase his numbers climbed when he got home from the hospital. But- I was giving him dry food to graze on! I thought dry DM was ok! I took that away on the 16th, ance since then his numbers have plummeted.
Should I go to 3 units? or 2? he is pretty low right now- 194.
 
ok just retested- he is DOWN... to 184.
To recap- he has had no insulin since the 4 units at 6:30am, and he has eaten, about an hour ago.
 
193 and 184 are really pretty much the same when you consider meter variance.

IMHO I think your vet increased the dose too fast and started his dose too high. I think his numbers stayed high because of the dry food.
I am not sure how closely you want to work with your vet but I would really consider dropping the dose to 2.0u and monitoring very closely and holding the dose for a few days unless he goes low. Are you able to monitor tonight? Do you have high carb wet and plenty of test strips?

I think you will see a big difference in numbers now that Julian is on wet food.
 
I like your suggestion, and I will do the 2 units and hold to see how it works. I have tons of test strips, lancets, and tomorrow I have off from work, so I can test all day long. That includes tonight, as well.
Thank you very much for sticking with me and for the advice!
 
Miriam read my mind! I think dropping to 2u sounds like a great plan.

It's possible that Julian will end up needing dose increases, but at least then you will know that your dose is safe because you will have worked up to it in a systematic manner. Sometimes ditching dry food can make a big difference, hopefully Julian is one of those cats!
 
Good plan for the 2.0u!

Given that Julian has been in higher BG ranges, it would be helpful, actually more reassuring and a good preventative measure, if you could pick up some Ketostix and test for ketones. Given Julian's bout of pancreatitis, knowing that ketones aren't an issue is worth the $15 for a bunch of Ketostix.

Also, when you have a chance, could you complete a Profile on Julian? It will give us all of his pertinent info all in one place.

One other favor -- one condo (thread) per cat per day. It may be that others are posting to your old condo(s) but it looked like there were 3 active condos going and it's hard to figure out where to post if you need help.
 
I am sooooo glad you dropped the dose down to 2u! I think he was started on way too high a dose and you might even find 2u is too much. But you'll see what's going on better with the 2u without all the crazy bouncing from the high dose.
 
Can you also get a +6? That's a number you want to get every day (in whatever cycle you can manage) because it really shows how the insulin is affecting Julian. I used to set an alarm to get it for Bandit at night and go right back to bed.
 
Actually, please get a +2. The "ideal" curve would have a food spike at +1 -- Julian's +1 would be higher than his pre-shot. Since this isn't the case, please get a +2 so you have a better sense of how the cycle is going. Usually, the +2 is around the same as your pre-shot value.

Lucy & Julian said:
Thank you for the info Vicky! I plan to have a sit down with my vet and see if he is aware of all this. I may start looking for another vet as well. The only reason I've brought him to this place is because it is walking distance from my house, and Julian is so scared of crates he loses his bodily functions and I don't even have a car. But it is expensive, and I don't like the vet.
There are several people here from Boston who can suggest a vet. Angell is a very well recognized clinic nationally. If it is anywhere near you, it's certainly a practice I would recommend.
 
see you at +2!

I would actually see different spot checks each day than a +6 every day. Eventually you will need to know when Julian's onset and nadir are, and how much food spike he tends to get. Nadirs may or may not be at +6 - we see them here anywhere between about +3 and +12! Getting spot checks whenever you can will gradually help you figure those things out.
 
Sorry! I defer to Sienne and Libby, because they have more experience than I do. +6 was where Bandit's nadir was usually at, and I also had limited testing times because of work.
 
how about feeding a tsp or two of low carb food, then getting a +3? Let's see if the low carb helps him surf instead of continuing to drop.
 
Lucy & Julian said:
Thank you for the info Vicky! I plan to have a sit down with my vet and see if he is aware of all this. I may start looking for another vet as well. The only reason I've brought him to this place is because it is walking distance from my house, and Julian is so scared of crates he loses his bodily functions and I don't even have a car. But it is expensive, and I don't like the vet.

I have the crate problem with Bandit. What I ended up doing (after having to throw out two expensive canvas crates) is getting a solid plastic crate that I can wipe down, and putting puppy pads in the bottom with a few extras for the ride home. My vet is very understanding and helps me clean him up at the office before we head home if he has any accident (whether it's a #1, #2, or #3, sometimes all three if the trip is long enough). If you find a cab company that doesn't mind crated cats (I know the cabs in Ithaca allow cats in carriers but I don't know about Boston), you're all set.
 
Great #'s Lucy, keep going Julian...!!
Doesn't it feel GOOD to have a plan?? That was always very reassuring to me.
Another night with little sleep - ugh....but you are already seeing the results! What a good kitty mama you are! :-D
 
phew- just dozed off a bit with Jules!
His +3 is 145- looks like he's coasting?
It does feel so much better to have a plan, and to be more confident with his treatment!
I am going to go to bed, but I'll set an alarm to get a +6 from him. Does this sound like a good idea?
 
When you get new tests, can you add the info to your subject line? You need to edit the subject line in your first post in order for the change to appear on the Board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top