? Dose help-Failed reduction? 11/27 TAFFY AMPS 299/+2.5 250/+6.5 204/+10 260/PMPS 293/+3 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-pmps-229-1-75u-2-310-5-271-10-5-273.168709/

Good morning!
Still running a little high, mostly yellows. Hoping he'll come down today. Lots of carousing last night/early AM. Meowing and howling. Had to give some FD chicken snack. Bullying his fur bro more (poor Baby).

Taffy's coat continues to fall out, get shorter and sparser. Also dandruff. he doesn't look terrible, probably no one else would notice, but I really notice. I hope this will improve as I get his body working better.

Rainy day here. Don't want to go anywhere, but I may have to venture out later.
 
Last edited:
+6.5 @ 204, +10 @ 260
Stayed in the 200s all day
Is this usual after a reduction? Takes a couple/few days to see more movement?

Also, Taffy has always been the Head Kitty in the house, as it is his personality; and Baby Kitty has always submitted to other cats in the household (he has outlived & survived 3 others by being submissive, plus he's just very sweet). But, lately, Taffy has stepped up his targeting of Baby. He stalks him and hunts him and gets on top of him. I feel awful for Baby. Does insulin or other components of diabetes cause aggression. Or is my beloved fluff-butt just an a-hole?
 
He's bouncing after those greens a couple days ago. Flat yellow cycles sometimes precede action cycles. I'm curious to see what he does tonight.

Do you notice any behaviour differences with Baby when he's high vs. in normal numbers?
 
He's bouncing after those greens a couple days ago. Flat yellow cycles sometimes precede action cycles. I'm curious to see what he does tonight.
That's what I figured.

Do you notice any behaviour differences with Baby when he's high vs. in normal numbers?
I'm not sure. I'll have to play closer attention. But usually it's when he gets hangry. It just seems like it is amplified lately.

Does anyone feel that the injection site makes any big difference?
 
I know it's not necessarily supposed to but I noticed a definite better absorption or use of the insulin when I injected along his sides rather than in the scruff
Just what I saw with him
 
I believe some people have noticed a difference between the flank and the scruff, and some not. ECID (Every Cat is Different).
Stupid question, but...the flank being the sides of the shoulders (front legs) or rear flanks (thighs?). I guess I flunked cat anatomy! I have been shooting mainly the front sides, not so much the center scruff.
If you find that the aggression is worse when he's in higher numbers, I'd bet it's because he's hungrier, and not feeling great.
His aggression has historically coincided with hunger (hangry). I don't think it is helping that I am withholding food in the 2 hours before his shot time, while still needing to feed the other. Taffy gets miffed. Today he was actually stalking, crouching, and pouncing on poor Baby Kitty. Brat.
 
Been looking at some spreadsheets of others who went OTJ and now I am thinking that maybe I should not have done the reduction from 2.0u to 1.75 u so soon. Should have kept him in greens a bit longer???

And, I need to be more detailed on my spreadsheet! And test even more (poor ears!)

If he doesn't start going down soon, do I increase dose again?
 
Reading stickies, saw the cat anatomy pic of places to shoot, so answered my own questions. I saw it before but had forgot! Let's see if I retain the info this time around!
Guess I have shooting in the lateral thorax area. Idk if he would let me get his rear flank area. Taffy is super patient about the ear pricks, but leery about the injections.
 
Been looking at some spreadsheets of others who went OTJ and now I am thinking that maybe I should not have done the reduction from 2.0u to 1.75 u so soon. Should have kept him in greens a bit longer???

And, I need to be more detailed on my spreadsheet! And test even more (poor ears!)

If he doesn't start going down soon, do I increase dose again?
Since each cat is different, Taffys path will be his own..if the folks here advised you to take the reduction when you did they would have based that advice on Taffys numbers. I'd look at other spreadsheets to learn to recognize what the patterns they are talking about look like but I would not base what I did with my cat on what others did, their systems may be totally different!:cat::bighug:
Each body has its own rules!
Bumping you up for more seasoned eyes for dose help. Remember the protocol tells you how long you need to hold each dose, SLGS you hold longer, TR shorter number of days.
 
Since each cat is different, Taffys path will be his own..if the folks here advised you to take the reduction when you did they would have based that advice on Taffys numbers. I'd look at other spreadsheets to learn to recognize what the patterns they are talking about look like but I would not base what I did with my cat on what others did, their systems may be totally different!:cat::bighug:
Didn't expect anyone to be up! Taking advantage of my semi-rested brain (and leveled out hormones for now) and snooping around, like I said, looking at SS and reading the protocols and stickies again. So there's this:

"If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose."

That's why I am thinking we might need to go back up...we failed our reduction! Besides, Taffy's rapid drops are nail biters, but he actually only got <50 the one time. And maybe a full .25 was too much of a reduction. But it seems like he should have stayed in greens longer. I did have two skipped shots also.

Anyhow, I'll see what my wise advisors say...

Thanks for the input and the bump! G'nite to you and Gussie!​
 
now I am thinking that maybe I should not have done the reduction from 2.0u to 1.75 u so soon. Should have kept him in greens a bit longer???
According to your SS, you reduced to 1.75 the morning of the 24th. I'd have to go back in your previous condos to see what the reasoning was, as he had not earned a reduction yet, according to TR when using a human meter. HOWEVER, that cycle he DID earn that reduction by getting a 50, followed by a 43 for emphasis, so no harm no foul. Taffy bounced that night, then cleared it fairly quickly and hit green again late in the day on the 25th. Another bounce followed that night, cleared the next day with low blues (close enough to greens to count ). Then he bounced again. This time, he didn't clear it with the drama of the previous bounces. I would say those first few days on the 1.75 were affected by the depot, and today's numbers were not. I think I would give it another full day to see if yellow is as low as this dose is going to take Taffy. Flat yellow often precedes an active cycle.

If you get another two cycles tomorrow of nothing below yellow, I'd say you can try taking him back up to 2.0.


maybe a full .25 was too much of a reduction.
I don't think so. We generally don't recommend changes smaller than .25 except when you are on a very small dose, or when you find repeatedly that .25 is too big of a change. You're too early in the game for that.

ETA: I just went back through your condos and found why the early reduction to 1.75. I get it. I think most of us would have done the same.

In case no one has given you this link, here's our Lantus & Levemir Land Slang Dictionary to help you learn some of our unique terminology.
 
Last edited:
According to your SS, you reduced to 1.75 the morning of the 24th. I'd have to go back in your previous condos to see what the reasoning was, as he had not earned a reduction yet, according to TR when using a human meter. HOWEVER, that cycle he DID earn that reduction by getting a 50, followed by a 43 for emphasis, so no harm no foul. Taffy bounced that night, then cleared it fairly quickly and hit green again late in the day on the 25th. Another bounce followed that night, cleared the next day with low blues (close enough to greens to count ). Then he bounced again. This time, he didn't clear it with the drama of the previous bounces. I would say those first few days on the 1.75 were affected by the depot, and today's numbers were not. I think I would give it another full day to see if yellow is as low as this dose is going to take Taffy. Flat yellow often precedes an active cycle.

If you get another two cycles tomorrow of nothing below yellow, I'd say you can try taking him back up to 2.0.



I don't think so. We generally don't recommend changes smaller than .25 except when you are on a very small dose, or when you find repeatedly that .25 is too big of a change. You're too early in the game for that.

ETA: I just went back through your condos and found why the early reduction to 1.75. I get it. I think most of us would have done the same.

In case no one has given you this link, here's our Lantus & Levemir Land Slang Dictionary to help you learn some of our unique terminology.
Thanks for the responses! I stare and stare at Taff's SS and sometimes cannot see at all what he is doing! I'm starting to understand more of this crazy stuff! I'll see what he does tomorrow.
 
In case no one has given you this link, here's our Lantus & Levemir Land Slang Dictionary to help you learn some of our unique terminology.
Ha! Going to print this out for reference! Some of these I have picked up on, some I already used, but some I would never have guessed! But, still, exactly what is a Big Insulin Poop Out??? When your insulin goes bad? Also, breffis is cute, but we still call it brekkie. There is First Brekkie & Sekkie Brekkie. I caught on that humans are Beans, but what if your cat is named Bean? (or Jelly Bean, like a friend of mine's kitty?) :woot:
 
I stare and stare at Taff's SS and sometimes cannot see at all what he is doing!
Don't feel bad. I used to do that with my boys, too. Sometimes it's more obvious than other times, and sometimes it takes a little more experience. I still don't claim to have the expertise at reading an SS that many of the other veterans do.

But, still, exactly what is a Big Insulin Poop Out??? When your insulin goes bad?
Good guess, but no, it's when the effect of the insulin starts to fade toward the end of the cycle - when you're not getting the duration you expect. That explanation was definitely lacking. I expanded on it. Thanks for calling it to my attention. The Dictionary is always a work in progress. ;)

I caught on that humans are Beans, but what if your cat is named Bean?
Well, maybe it helps that we usually don't capitalize the "b" when referring to us beans. So if it is capitalized, you'd know it's a name. :p

Also, breffis is cute, but we still call it brekkie.
That's perfectly fine. When I was growing up my father called it "brekits", so I use that at home instead of "breffis", although "breffis" has grown on me.

Keep those questions coming!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top