Dose Finding Mission Part 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
Upped his dose last night to 2.8 u after 3 days of yellow, pink and a couple of reds. AMPS today was very nice 12.1 (218) which is low territory but I gritted my teeth and gave him 2.8 u again this morning. I'll be home to test at around +5 and beyond. :nailbiting:
 
Yes, I'd plan to monitor carefully. Remember, you have the option to shoot less on a yellow than a pink preshot. Holding the dose only pertains to preshots and nadirs that stay flat and high. Once you see some downward movement, you can give less.
 
Thanks, Sue. Will do. I might have been too aggressive here. The 2.6 u doses since 08/21 weren't budging him out of mostly pinks. Last night's 2.8 u gave me some downward movement to this morning's yellow. I could have tried guesstimating 2.7 u on my U1oo syringe but thought I'd try 2.8 u again. I just checked at +1 and he's at 22.3 post breakfast.
 
Well, we have a BIG bounce going on, probably in reaction to lower numbers overnight after getting 2.8 u last night. +1 this AM was 22.3 (maybe partly food) and +5 is 20.2. I certainly have a rubber cat!
 
Ouch! Looks like he's playing squash lol he has hit some blues though! :) not sure if it would work but if you adjusted his dose in smaller units? Like 0.5u at a time? Would that stop the bouncing from happening? (Mostly asking this for my curiosity)
 
Ouch! Looks like he's playing squash lol he has hit some blues though! :) not sure if it would work but if you adjusted his dose in smaller units? Like 0.5u at a time? Would that stop the bouncing from happening? (Mostly asking this for my curiosity)
Actually, Tara, I'm adjusting his dose only 0.2 u at a time. He was at 2.6 u for a few days and I increased to 2.8 u last night. That's only a half mark change on the U100 syringe. To get a small dose change of 0.1 u I'd have to estimate half way between two half unit marks on a U100 and that's hard. I might have to resort to letting out drops. He's very bouncy!
 
What happends with the +1 yesterday? It's redo_O
Hi Ruby,
He was fed the same food in the same amounts as he always gets. He had a nice 12.1 AMPS and I decided to be brave and give him the 2.8 u anyway. Maybe at +1 he was just starting a bounce from lower numbers overnight or maybe that's just one crazy number. I check my meter with control solution regularly and the test strips are new so I don't think it's that. My other tests yesterday show an ongoing bounce and today his AMPS is 22.7 after getting 2.8 u again last night. He'll be getting 2.8 u for a few more doses to see if this bounce clears. None of this craziness surprised me - Teasel is very tricky!:confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top