Dose Finding Mission Part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Ruby,

I got used to thinking for myself in the past 6 months when I was almost "flying blind" because I wasn't doing AMPS/PMPS, only a weekly full BG curve at my vet's instruction and the occasional in between test. I would graph all those results and then put months of these graphs side by side to look at the trends - that helped. I also read everything that seemed sensible online (especially FDMB). I conferred often with my vet and followed her dosing advice most of the time. Then, when he started giving very good numbers at 3.6 u - and some too low - I knew I needed to be more in control. That's why I'm here now. So glad I am too!

Teasel is a very patient cat and I think he knows that all the pokes from BG testing and insulin shots are for his benefit. He also loves the freeze dried meat treats that are part of all these procedures (that's probably the main reason :)).
 
Teasel is a very patient cat and I think he knows that all the pokes from BG testing and insulin shots are for his benefit. He also loves the freeze dried meat treats that are part of all these procedures (that's probably the main reason :)).
I think they really understand it, not like we do, but they do feel ‘sh*tty’ when they are high, and when they feel that way they will come ask for a shot, at least I’ve heard a lot of people experiencing that including me.
Baco was also never hard to poke and give insulin too but in the first week it was still a little bit hard. After that I think she connected the syringes and the poking (beeping sound from the test kit) with feeling better. So when she was high in numbers she would wake me up in the morning, even before the alarm clock went off. So she would wake me up, would sit there on the bed perfect for me to poke her and then get food and then would sit perfectly still for the syringe. That was so cute!
And also the treats work really well indeed haha:rolleyes:
 
Yes, I agree. Teasel sits still for his shot even when I make a mistake in my technique and it's one that hurts a bit. He's now learning that an ear poke has to happen before he gets his breakfast and supper. That confused him the first few days last week. After his breakfast he sits and waits for his shot. Such a good boy!
 
That's great Kris.
Does Teasel get a little bite this afternoon? or does he eat only at AM/PM - PS times?
 
I feed him a small meal of the same food around +6. It's about 0.33 of his main AM and PM meals. My vet wanted me to feed only twice a day but I said he wouldn't like that because three times a day is what he's accustomed to. I also see the need to use food sometimes to steer the BG.
 
PMPS just now is 10.5 (189) so I'll retest in 20 minutes or so. If it hasn't risen above 200, I'd like to stay close to my regular schedule but give a lower dose. Any suggestions? 2.4 u/2.2 u/2.0 u?
 
Hmmm...I'm hoping he will rise. And I assume he will. Will you be able to monitor tonight?
 
Well I'd say if he goes up stick with your dose and just make sure to monitor. It did a great job today but didn't go too low, so this could be a good place!

If he stays the same, it's up to you. You could stick with the 2.6 and just carefully monitor. Or you could reduce to 2.4 and also monitor. What are you thinking?
 
Haven't decided yet, Rachel. I'll test again in a few minutes but I really doubt he'll be over 200 (really should be higher than that because I use an AlphaTrak meter). I'm leaning in favour of lowering to 2.4 and testing this evening and as late as I can tolerate.
I don't want to lose ground dose-wise because we're almost there I think.
 
Ahhhh forgot about the AT! Yeah in that case I'd lower the dose. Maybe 2.4 for over 200? And 2.2 for under? Since you can test and steer with food if needed. Let's see where he is at and take it from there.
 
New test 28 minutes after PMPS gives me 10.7. I think 2.0 or 2.2 u is the way to go. I'll think about while I feed the three of them. It's 20 minutes past their usual supper time and they're letting me know it!
 
Hmmmm...I hate to see you lose ground too. Maybe 2.2? Or if that feels uncomfortable 2? And just be sure to monitor and be ready to steer if needed?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top