Dose Finding Mission Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
Teasel surprised me again this morning after his 2.4 unit dose last night - a lovely AMPS of 13.1 (236). I know the no shoot guideline for newbies is 200 on a human meter or 250 on an AlphaTrak 2 like mine. I decided that 236 is safe enough for me to give him his 2.4 unit dose and I'll do some testing through the day to see what happens.
 
Hi Kris,
I would have lowered the dose a little, but I see what you did there (little dare devilling won't hurt;)). If you are indeed home and can test Teasel it shouldn't be a problem because you can slow down the drop if needed by some medium carb food. I'm curious to see what the numbers will be today!
 
What a nice AMPS! I'm interested to see what happens today. Just make sure you're keeping an eye on things. Hope this is the beginning of a trend!
 
Hi Ruby,
I considered that but I have no experience yet of dosing between the half unit marks on my U100 syringes. I know some people let out drops, etc. and call it a "skinny" dose and I might have to learn that. Cross fingers he'll be OK.
 
He will be OK Kris, you are there to catch him if he drops down too quick you can steer him up then!
Just test a +3 or +4 so you can see 'it coming' already.
 
BG at +3 = 19.7. He's just messing with me! Will test again in an hour and have to leave afterward for a few hours, barring a hypo emergency here.
 
Weird, what does he get for food? Low carb food? Maybe it's just a food spike and the drop still needs to begin...
 
Great minds think alike! I was just wondering about a food spike myself. He eats low carb prescription wet food (Purina DM) with Friskies low carb wet added in (about 2:1 DM:Friskies) to vary the flavour. He's been on this for months, including our recent low BG days. I stick to the types of Friskies that are low in carbs according to the lists I've read on here and elsewhere but it's possible that it varies a bit batch to batch when manufactured. His BG has risen at +2 in the past when I was doing BG curve testing for my vet but his starting BG value would have been higher then.

I'll see what +4 brings.
 
The no shoot number is for brand new diabetics who are not confident they can get a test in if they need one and who have no data. You don't qualify anymore. :D I think you can lower your no shoot number, and always drop the dose a smidge if you are worried, as Ruby suggests.

The +3 is just one number. Let's see how the cycle looks overall.
 
mm, well try sticking too the dose you are already giving him and maybe that will clear out the bounce more. If you change it to a lower or higher dose during a bounce, it can cause more bouncing...
 
Will do. You're seeing some of the battle I fought for the last 6 months: bounce/lower dose/BG too high/raise dose/chronic bouncing/BG too high/insulin resistance and glucose toxicity/raise dose/nose dive ... He's actually been more stable the last 5 days than the previous 6 months.
 
Well I haven't seen the other sheet when Teasel was on Lantus so I didn't know. But there are various options you can try with Prozinc, it's an easy insulin that you can play a little bit more with.
So you can try keeping the dose if a bounce occures (like now) and if that doesn't help you can try a sliding scale, or if that doesn't work out you can try a 11/13 routine were you give insulin at (for example) 8AM, and than instead of 8PM you give it 9PM.
Sometimes that works for kitties.. You just need to figure out what works best for Teasel.
 
Hmmm...he's running high and flat. I wonder if he's been doing that for the last couple of days.
 
BG at +3.5 is 20.4. He's had 3 cycles at 2.4 u. If AMPS permits, I'll raise his dose to 2.6 u tomorrow morning. I suspect that the long duration and low PMPS from 2.6 u last week was the result of increased insulin sensitivity in the wake of a near hypo dip on 8/16/2016.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top