Dose after lower preshot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Littlepiggy1313

Member Since 2024
Hi,

My cat had a lower than usual pre shot this morning (after food) so I waited an hour and gave a unit instead of the 2.5 increase (which I started yesterday) got to give insulin soon and it’s 453 which is around what it usually is before. Do I go back to the 2.5 dose?

Thanks in advance (in UK)

Spreadsheet in signature
 
Do I go back to the 2.5 dose?

Sorry you didn't get a reply earlier. Anytime you don't get a reply fairly soon, make a comment on your post which brings it back to the top of the forum.

I would go back to the 2.5. I would have also given the 2.5 with an AMPS of 247. As long as the Pre-shot is over 150 and you can test during the cycle, you should plan on shooting the scheduled dose.

At first, if the PS is under 150, you can stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see which way the BG is going without the influence of food. By feeding, there's no way to know how much of the increase in BG is due to the food and how much may be due to the last shot wearing off. During your "stall time", post with a very clear subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" so hopefully you'll get somebody's attention. Once you have help, you can go back and edit your subject line.

As you gain more data and confidence, that "stall point" comes down even more. Depending on the dosing method you choose, you work your way to where you'll shoot anything over 90 (for Start Low, Go Slow) or anything over 50 (Modified Prozinc Method).
 
Sorry you didn't get a reply earlier. Anytime you don't get a reply fairly soon, make a comment on your post which brings it back to the top of the forum.

I would go back to the 2.5. I would have also given the 2.5 with an AMPS of 247. As long as the Pre-shot is over 150 and you can test during the cycle, you should plan on shooting the scheduled dose.

At first, if the PS is under 150, you can stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see which way the BG is going without the influence of food. By feeding, there's no way to know how much of the increase in BG is due to the food and how much may be due to the last shot wearing off. During your "stall time", post with a very clear subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" so hopefully you'll get somebody's attention. Once you have help, you can go back and edit your subject line.

As you gain more data and confidence, that "stall point" comes down even more. Depending on the dosing method you choose, you work your way to where you'll shoot anything over 90 (for Start Low, Go Slow) or anything over 50 (Modified Prozinc Method).
Thank you as always Chris! Really helpful:cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top