Dose advice

Rupert and Angie

Member Since 2019
Hi there,

I'm hoping to get some dose advice about my cat, Rupert. He's on 2 units of Lantus currently and my vet has advised not to shoot with a pre-shot number under 180 (10 in Canada). Tonight he's 8.9 so is potentially the third time on this dose that I have to skip. Then of course, he goes really high before the next dose. Wondering whether to skip or to maybe give a lower dose. Maybe to move his dose to 1.75 units overall - my vet has moved his doses up by 0.5 unit increments since his numbers have been so high overall.

Anyway, advice is much appreciated. His neuropathy is quite bad which I understand gets better with glucose regularity so I hate skipping doses.

Thanks!
 
I'm sorry, I'm pretty new here, but looking at your spreadsheet, it doesn't look like you are getting mid cycle readings? Your vet sounds like mine, she advised no shot with a pre shot number of 200 or lower. From this forum, I learned that 150 is a better number and even there, completely skipping isn't always a great idea. I would lower the dose a bit after feeding and try to get a +3 reading.
 
Thanks for your response. I try to get at least one +4-6 reading either in the evening or daytime (work full time so can't manage much more except on weekends). I know the importance of testing more and plan to do a full curve on the weekend!
 
Good luck to you. I feel like my entire life revolves around Millhouse's blood sugar, it's a lot of work, I know. The worst part is not knowing what to do, but i try to keep in mind that a number too high is better than a number too low.
 
If you put the date and use the "?" button for your title, hopefully you will get some of the more experienced Lantus folks on here replying shortly.
How long do you have before you need to give the shot? If you can wait half an hour, without feeding, and test again, that will give you some more data, and help others with giving advice too.
 
I see you gave 1U - not a bad idea since he will still get some insulin, but it is a little easier on your sanity! Shooting those low numbers for the first time can be quite nerve wracking. If you can get early preshots and post for advice, it gives you some room to wait for replies.
 
I got a call back from my vet and she recommended 1 unit when he's under 10 and 2 units over 10. I know this isn't sustainable in the longterm since Lantus is best when given consistently but at least it gives me an option when he's lower other than skipping entirely. He's now curled up fast asleep with his sister :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190124_193051879.jpg
    IMG_20190124_193051879.jpg
    72.5 KB · Views: 62
Back
Top