Rupert and Angie
Member Since 2019
Hi there,
I'm hoping to get some dose advice about my cat, Rupert. He's on 2 units of Lantus currently and my vet has advised not to shoot with a pre-shot number under 180 (10 in Canada). Tonight he's 8.9 so is potentially the third time on this dose that I have to skip. Then of course, he goes really high before the next dose. Wondering whether to skip or to maybe give a lower dose. Maybe to move his dose to 1.75 units overall - my vet has moved his doses up by 0.5 unit increments since his numbers have been so high overall.
Anyway, advice is much appreciated. His neuropathy is quite bad which I understand gets better with glucose regularity so I hate skipping doses.
Thanks!
I'm hoping to get some dose advice about my cat, Rupert. He's on 2 units of Lantus currently and my vet has advised not to shoot with a pre-shot number under 180 (10 in Canada). Tonight he's 8.9 so is potentially the third time on this dose that I have to skip. Then of course, he goes really high before the next dose. Wondering whether to skip or to maybe give a lower dose. Maybe to move his dose to 1.75 units overall - my vet has moved his doses up by 0.5 unit increments since his numbers have been so high overall.
Anyway, advice is much appreciated. His neuropathy is quite bad which I understand gets better with glucose regularity so I hate skipping doses.
Thanks!