Summers Mom
Member Since 2017
Well it looks like summer had two days of a bounce after her hypo of low numbers and now has broken through and is holding the reduction!!! For now anyways. Yay Summer you did it!!!! 




Good start this morning...I see Summer is dipping under 50 again, I'd feed some medium carb food to get her back over 50.
Here is a link to your previous post for continuity...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/summer-earned-her-first-reduction.191519/#post-2137434
Sorry, I haven't followed Summer that closely, but it would appear she has earned another reduction?
Yikes...I see your next +4.5=31...that deserves high carb gravy food, at least, probably also some karo...come on Summer, up you go!
I think she is on a mission looking at today's numbers. Made your point Summer - time to get back to the beach.


Ok, post if you need help, I just saw the lower numbers and wanted to make sure you were okYES! It looks like she has earned another reduction! I have already given her some of her raw with the hc gravy and just now gave her a little honey because she dipped to 31! So glad she is doing this during the day. Now if she would always do it during the day i would not be so sleep deprived! lol
, I know how stressful it can be. I need to leave for an hour, so I can't check up to see your next test, but like I said, post if you need any help Thank You!!Ok, post if you need help, I just saw the lower numbers and wanted to make sure you were ok, I know how stressful it can be. I need to leave for an hour, so I can't check up to see your next test, but like I said, post if you need any help
![]()
Wow! Summer seems to have something to say, and is making her point forcefully! Or else she's realized that this is the way to get yummy gravy.
Hope she comes up easily for you. It is definitely easier to handle during the day, good girl, Summer!
Yes summer has something going on being she is high dose. Possibly cushings or acro or both. I just have not been able to get her checked but plan to very soon. So much going on here with my 28 rescues i tend to and i just found out one of my other kitties is Hyper T.HC fest in progress here today
Does Summer have a high dose condition?
The picture has shifted this past week for sure. Great job monitoring, catching the lows and guiding numbers back to safety.Yes summer has something going on being she is high dose. Possibly cushings or acro or both. I just have not been able to get her checked but plan to very soon. So much going on here with my 28 rescues i tend to and i just found out one of my other kitties is Hyper T.![]()
The picture has shifted this past week for sure. Great job monitoring, catching the lows and guiding numbers back to safety.
28 rescues- you have your hands more than full.
My BK developed hyper T when he was around 10 or so. It was not difficult to manage. Daily methimizol controled it well. I was fortunate that I could crush the pill and mix into his food. An interesting side note is that a routine check of my thyroid function showed it was slowing down. I asked my internist if, since I had been splitting and crushing BKs methimizole for months was it possible that I was absorbing it through my skin and that it was slowing my thyroid function. He agreed it was possible so I started wearing gloves and we rechecked my thyroid 3 months later and it was normal and has been since.
I'd certainly say so.It looks like she has earned another reduction
I would definitely do the 1 unit reduction for Summer. And as Karen suggested, a partial dose tonight to drain the depot. I don't like it when such high doses get to the low 30's. You need to do something to interrupt that depot. I used to reach for syrup (karo) whenever I saw 30's on the meter.
ETS: has anything changed in Summer's environment lately?
A friend of mine is giving methizamole via compounded liquid. It's chicken flavour so he eats it and only the dropper has to touch the drug. I have done pet sitting for him.
ETS: has anything changed in Summer's environment lately?
You are doing an amazing job! All those kitties are lucky to have you!!
I make sure when feeding summer i do her first and away from the methimazole and never use same spoon etc because i have read how serious it is BUT the only thing i can think of for her showing these greens is i had to reduce her dose last week during a few days because i had to take my other cat that is Hyper T out of town to the specialist. I reduced because i didn't want her going low while i was gone. But ever since i lowered her and increased her back up to where she was, she has showed these greens. It triggered something when i reduced then increased back i am thinking..![]()
You were already seeing greens before you reduced. You saw nadirs in the 70's on 12 units, which didn't leave much room for an increase. So not surprising 13 units was too much. Whatever underlying condition Summer has, it's likely caused by a benign tumour of some sort (pituitary or adrenal gland). Tumours can pulse up and down, changing the amount of injected insulin needed.BUT the only thing i can think of for her showing these greens is i had to reduce her dose last week during a few days because i had to take my other cat that is Hyper T out of town to the specialist. I reduced because i didn't want her going low while i was gone. But ever since i lowered her and increased her back up to where she was, she has showed these greens. It triggered something when i reduced then increased back i am thinking..![]()
It doesn't really matter if you do 5.5 or 6 units tonight. You just want a significantly smaller dose to drain the depot. I found a half dose was too much for Neko and did the odd 2/3 dose. Some cats need the 1/2 dose. This'll be an experiement to see what works for Summer.
You were already seeing greens before you reduced. You saw nadirs in the 70's on 12 units, which didn't leave much room for an increase. So not surprising 13 units was too much. Whatever underlying condition Summer has, it's likely caused by a benign tumour of some sort (pituitary or adrenal gland). Tumours can pulse up and down, changing the amount of injected insulin needed.
How is Summer feeling/doing these days? She acting any different in those low numbers?
If you are really tired, go for the dose that might give you more sleep, or 5.5 units, then go to 11 units tomorrow morning. As I said, it's really hard to say for sure what amount will work best for Summer. There are now guarantees. You have to experiment and see how it does. If you are exhausted, you could even skip the dose tonight which would guarantee more sleep, but she will probably bounce from the lows today and bounce. The other thing you might want to take into consideration is the PMPS number. If she's starting to bounce already, then give a higher dose (6 units).
The depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, longer with higher doses. What that means is that you could still see some action tonight or tomorrow. The idea of reducing the dose for one time only, is to try to drain the depot a little faster.
Thanks Wendy!