Good morning, looks like a nice sunny start for Orion on Lantus.I hope you left a little food out for him to snack on if he goes lower.
Paws crossed Lantus is the ticket for Orion.
Looks like he had a strong reaction to Lantus today. Could you update the spreadsheet? Not sure if you should stick with this dose.
Can you get a +11.5 and post it? That will give us time to figure if he needs a dose adjustment.
That's a big change! Can you monitor tonight?
I know you are at (or past) normal shot time-- if you edit the subject line with the PMPS and put a "?" for "Dose advice?" maybe some experienced eyes will get here quickly to give you a number to shoot.
Looks like he is bouncing ,and if it were my kittie, I would still shoot the 2 units and get a +2 If it is lower than the PMPS, you might need to monitor and steer . Can you do that ?
Bobbie, Airway works two jobs if I recall correctly, and can't monitor overnight per sig.
If the + 2 is in the high yellows I would say you could go to bed.How long would I need to keep testing if he is lower at +2? Once I take my nightly medication, I'm not very reliable for 10-12 hours, and I am scheduled to work tomorrow.
I admit, I am a testaholicYou don't need to test until your before bed test. You should be OK until then.
Yep, I admit it, I am obsessed, but,that said, I could have not gotten Bubba into remission without those numbersI'm so confused by this forum. I have more than one veterinarian telling me I don't need to be getting as many numbers as I do and that there are other things more important like how my cat is acting and whether there is sugar present in the urine. People here seem to be obsessed with numbers.
This is a very common response from vets. Then again, they think any BG under 100 is bad and would discourage you from giving insulin. We have had more than one cat here have a serious hypo because the caregiver wasn't testing, and sadly, some of those cats didn't make it. We don't ask you to test a lot all the time, but in the early days on Lantus, you may need to do a little more testing until you get an idea how the insulin is affecting your cat. Some days you will only need to get a pre-shot test and a +2 or +3, and other days, if the kitty is having a more active cycle, you will need to test more. There are a lot of very experienced people on this site, and we do know what we are talking about. We aren't vets, though, so if it makes you uncomfortable to take suggestions that contradict your vet, you certainly can ignore what we say. Everything we tell you is with the objective of keeping Orion safe and helping you to get his numbers under control and possibly even achieving remission.. I have more than one veterinarian telling me I don't need to be getting as many numbers as I do and that there are other things more important like how my cat is acting and whether there is sugar present in the urine.
Go back to bed!