Dose advice/ high preshots

Status
Not open for further replies.
Brenda, I'm stymied here ... I think I'd like to defer to Sue on this one. (I'm not sure about the idea of lowering the dose?)
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - And do you know about the Zobaline aspect, too? I'm totally clueless about that. @Rachel - ???
 
Do you think it's remotely possible that giving some food after all tests could be factoring in here in some way? (I know I'm grasping at straws here; just trying to figure out what his metabolism is up to ...) How much food did he get yesterday right after that 93 @ +8? Just 1/4 can?
 
That 93 is a surprise! I say go with your gut - you've been right so far

Why don't you post on Health about the Zobaline?
OK. I am going to watch him one more cycle at 0.8. Tomorrow morning is my line in the sand. I'll drop it if this cycle repeats!
Thanks alot for the vote of confidence Sue!
I'll post on Health about the ZOBALINE. I can't imagine it being a factor, but who knows!
 
I'm glad you decided to hold him @ the 0.8. (And re: my post above - I meant "that 93 today," not yesterday. (Duh...:rolleyes:)
 
Do you think it's remotely possible that giving some food after all tests could be factoring in here in some way? (I know I'm grasping at straws here; just trying to figure out what his metabolism is up to ...) How much food did he get yesterday right after that 93 @ +8? Just 1/4 can?

Well, I don't really always give the entire 1/4 TBH. I remember not giving him much, because he isn't that hungry when he is low. I add more water!
When I know I'm not going to test for 3 or 4 hrs, I give him the full 1/4 plus the "leftovers" especially when I want him to sleep all night. You get what I mean?
 
Well, I don't really always give the entire 1/4 TBH. I remember not giving him much, because he isn't that hungry when he is low. I add more water!
When I know I'm not going to test for 3 or 4 hrs, I give him the full 1/4 plus the "leftovers" especially when I want him to sleep all night. You get what I mean?
Yep, that makes sense to me!
 
Thanks for making me laugh tonight, Brenda! Needed that, as Bat-Bat's pre-shot #s last couple of days are driving me, um ... batty!:banghead::confused:
(And that it's been hot as blazes here doesn't much help my mood, either.)
 
It's just the opposite here! Cool. I have all the windows shut, and flannel PJ bottoms on!
I thought I heard you were in a heat wave..?
Does the heat affect BB's #'s??
 
It's just the opposite here! Cool. I have all the windows shut, and flannel PJ bottoms on!
I thought I heard you were in a heat wave..?
Does the heat affect BB's #'s??
Oh, you're so lucky: To have it cool enough there to wear flannel bottoms! (I'm jealous.:()
Yeah, sometimes it seems the heat can affect her #s, even though I'm running AC all day.

I still have about an hr. to wait to test her (+3.5), as I screwed up tonight - got distracted after I fed her @ pre-shot & didn't shoot her until 7:30 pm. So have to wait until 11 pm, PDT. (Dang it, 'cause I'd love to crawl into the sack right now! No rest for the weary, eh?)
 
So sorry! I was out like a light last night (it's been a really long few days in my world...). Glad you went with your gut! Honestly, Brenda, you've done a great job figuring out what you need to do with different preshots for Tucker. Trust yourself!
 
I went to GNC and found Methyl B and it was like half of what Zobaline was (maybe even less). The pill was a little harder to crush but doable in a mortar/pestle. I called GNC or the makers of the Methyl B and they checked to make sure that there was not any sugars. So that is another option however I would check with them again, one more time, to make sure if you do want to try it out.
 
I went to GNC and found Methyl B and it was like half of what Zobaline was (maybe even less). The pill was a little harder to crush but doable in a mortar/pestle. I called GNC or the makers of the Methyl B and they checked to make sure that there was not any sugars. So that is another option however I would check with them again, one more time, to make sure if you do want to try it out.


Oh that's super news, Cindi! So far, in less than a week his wobble in the hinds has gone!
I keep looking for a sign of that gravity-defying lift off the he floor now.
He hasn't been flat for too long..less than 3 months.
I have a lot of HOPE over here.:cat:
 
Oh good!
He is doing so great today. We are having a happy day!
I even let him have his first bona fide snack, and he was allowed on his sun porch :cat:
Wow, Brenda - nice #s today! Let me know what you get @ PMPS. (Hope you got to relax a bit after work!)
 
So sorry! I was out like a light last night (it's been a really long few days in my world...). Glad you went with your gut! Honestly, Brenda, you've done a great job figuring out what you need to do with different preshots for Tucker. Trust yourself!
Hi Rachel! Just circling back..and really wanted to acknowledge and thank you for your kind compliment. It really really helps reinforce my confidence when navigating this crazy upsidedown sugar dance.
I love this forum and the people so much. I really feel a part of something good!
 
Woweee...you go Tucker! I got to say that I vote that your spreadsheet gets the most colorful award. Those "blues" really make your spreadsheet pop! I also like that I can see it all one snapshot rather than scrolling over.
 
Looks like BLUE has become one of Mr. Cool's favorite colors! :cat: (Can hardly wait to see those hammock pix.:))
 
Saw you on line Brenda and thought I'd take a look at Tucker's spreadsheet. Maybe it's time to get a few overnight numbers to see if that amps is a bounce. The blues at night look good but the daytime cycle is still high and pretty flat.

There are some options, once you find out what is going on. If he is low overnight and bouncing, then reduce that pmps dose a smidge. If he is in good numbers overnight and the amps is just higher, you could try a sliding scale. So one unit during the day and 0.8 overnight. If his pmps was lower than the amps (which it doesn't seem to be at this point) you could look at dosing pmps at +13 and amps at +11. But that doesn't look like the issue right now. Just another tool in the toolbox for a later date.

What do you think?
 
Thanks alot for taking a look Sue. I have started giving 2-3 drops less, overall. And was just wondering if I needed help!
I can get some numbers overnight tonight and start there.
Or Sunday night I could do a curve.
Tell me something.. When doing a curve (every 2 hrs) can I still test and feed? I feel like 2 hrs is still food induced with him.
If I'm up testing him, I HAVE TO FEED ..as my alpha cat will not let anyone rest. Period.
 
When I do a full a curve (every two hours), I test every two hours and only feed after a test, then no food for the next two hours, then test, then if you have to, feed...then no food for two hours and then test again, etc. You get the picture so in a sense each of my tests would not be food influenced because Merlin would have not had any food before each test.
 
Hi Cindi, and thanks!
Yea, I just feel like 2 hrs isn't long enough - but hey, what do I know?
As soon as I can, I am gonna try to get a twice a day feeding schedule started.
Tucker actually does OK if I tell him, No not right now. But the Others...:nailbiting:. Yikes.
 
Thanks alot for taking a look Sue. I have started giving 2-3 drops less, overall. And was just wondering if I needed help!
I can get some numbers overnight tonight and start there.
Or Sunday night I could do a curve.
Tell me something.. When doing a curve (every 2 hrs) can I still test and feed? I feel like 2 hrs is still food induced with him.
If I'm up testing him, I HAVE TO FEED ..as my alpha cat will not let anyone rest. Period.
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
Hi Sue. Going lower over the past 4 cycles ( in SS "notes") seems to have him in these high numbers, even overnight. I don't know what the answer is. Being vigilant w food.
I am shooting full 0.8 this a.m. I have to work until +5
Any help?
PS. Ketones & 4 P's good
 
I would increase, not by a smidge but a full 0.25. He has some blues in there but can afford to drop. My thinking is that he is consistently higher and needs more insulin. One theory is that they get used to a dose and flatten out. I think this is a dynamic changing process. The best thing about ProZinc is that you can adjust when you need to.
 
Thank you ladies :)
I missed this before PM shot, but I am going with your good advice tomorrow AM.
Wish us luck!
 
Hiya, Brenda - Was looking at Tucker's SS ... So you'll be increasing his dose @ AMPS, as per Sue & Rachel's advice? That's in about another 1/2 hour? Will be interesting to see what Mr. Tucker does next!:):bighug:
 
Robin, is that going to be 2.25, on my U100? In between the 1/2 unit marks?
No, that's going to be at 2.5 on your U-100 syringe. (That adds 0.2U as measured on a u40; which is not quite 0.25 increase, but probably close enough.) See what I mean?
 
What do you mean? Did you already shoot it?

If you did, I suppose you could go ahead (with a new syringe) and eyeball the balance of it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top