? Dose Advice Again :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gurkan&Raffy

Member Since 2017
Good morning/afternoon to all. Right now we are on 17.5U Levemir, and this morning i gave the 9th shot with this dose, however BG levels are going up each day. He is eating only Purina DM ; 1 3/4 can, and at the middle of each cycle 2 small pieces of boiled chicken breast.
He was much more better with 16,5-17u.
Do u think 17.5U is too much? As a result of this he is reacting like this vs...
I wish all a nice week with low levels...
 
Unfortunately, high dose kitties can change their dose needs, and sometimes fairly quickly. As long as he seems otherwise OK, not infections or anything that can cause higher BGs. With all the testing you've done on 17.5 units, it looks like he's only getting high blue nadirs. At the size of dose he's at now, you can make 1.0 unit changes. I would go to 18.5 units.

As for food, it's OK to spread it out a bit and actually easier on their pancreas not to have all food at once. With Levemir nadirs are towards the end of the cycle, so you could easily give him some of his regular food at the middle of the cycle. Just split his existing meal into two.
 
Unfortunately, high dose kitties can change their dose needs, and sometimes fairly quickly. As long as he seems otherwise OK, not infections or anything that can cause higher BGs. With all the testing you've done on 17.5 units, it looks like he's only getting high blue nadirs. At the size of dose he's at now, you can make 1.0 unit changes. I would go to 18.5 units.

As for food, it's OK to spread it out a bit and actually easier on their pancreas not to have all food at once. With Levemir nadirs are towards the end of the cycle, so you could easily give him some of his regular food at the middle of the cycle. Just split his existing meal into two.
So, this evening i ll go up to 18,5U.
It might be difficult to split his portion to 2 , sometimes nobody will be at home at that time.
Anyway i ll try to do my best, but i am sure he will not like that method either :).
 
Anyway i ll try to do my best, but i am sure he will not like that method either
Cats hate change. But if you do it as often as you can, he will get used to it. On the days you can't split the meals, continue as you are now.

One option that might help is to get an automatic feeder. I'm not sure what is available to you in your part of the world, but here is the one many of us use
: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...gital/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 With this you can set it to feed at different time through the day. Handy at night when you are sleeping, too.
 
Cats hate change. But if you do it as often as you can, he will get used to it. On the days you can't split the meals, continue as you are now.

One option that might help is to get an automatic feeder. I'm not sure what is available to you in your part of the world, but here is the one many of us use
: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...gital/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 With this you can set it to feed at different time through the day. Handy at night when you are sleeping, too.
Thx for your help Tricia...
 
Unfortunately, high dose kitties can change their dose needs, and sometimes fairly quickly. As long as he seems otherwise OK, not infections or anything that can cause higher BGs. With all the testing you've done on 17.5 units, it looks like he's only getting high blue nadirs. At the size of dose he's at now, you can make 1.0 unit changes. I would go to 18.5 units.

As for food, it's OK to spread it out a bit and actually easier on their pancreas not to have all food at once. With Levemir nadirs are towards the end of the cycle, so you could easily give him some of his regular food at the middle of the cycle. Just split his existing meal into two.
This morning i gave the 6th shot with 18.5U. (AMPS 403) Very strange but we are stucked at 400S. First 2-3 cycles i thought he is bounching again but he is steady with 400s, he was much better with lower dose, belive me i ll get crazy.
 
I would increase to 19.5 tonight if you don't see blues today. This is a very frustrating disease.
 
I would increase to 19.5 tonight if you don't see blues today. This is a very frustrating disease.
According to your advice, i increased the dose 19.5U. We ve seen blues and yellows with this dose, but he bounced again to 40os.
This morning, during random urine check with stripes; his leukocyte was +3, so i made a call to
my Vet, and she said it must be a result of UTI.
This evening we ve started to use antibiotics for 5 days.
Are This bouncy numbers can be result of this infection?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top