DOSE ADVICE - 6/24 Sushi: AMPS~189|+3.5~170|+6.5~244

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Boing!! Boing!! Boing!!
Sushi's just bouncing allll over the place! I'd love for some advice about his dose and how we're doing.
(here's our last post)

I got caught up at a meeting Thursday night and didn't make it home until +4 to give his 2nd feeding (usually given @ +2) and he was down to 38! :shock:
It turns out his usual LC food was enough to get his numbers up, but I was still shocked that he went that low!
:?: Does this earn a reduction?

ETA: I also skipped his AM dose last Saturday (I was away and didn't get back to him in time), the first skip we've had in a L O N G time, and he shot up to 570!! :o

I hate to see him going alll over the place like this!

Hope you're all having a great weekend! : )
 
Yes, that 38 earned Sushi a reduction to 3.25. I would have taken it on Friday morning, when he had the blue AMPS.
 
Even for a long term diabetic (i.e., more than a year from date of diagnosis), a 38 is a dose reduction.
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:2zy8lter][b:2zy8lter]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b][/url] said:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

What does the note on your SS, "Coke in food?" mean?
 
Thanks so much for the replies! I dropped Sushi to 3.25u this PM.

Julieeee!!! :YMHUG: Sooo good to see you!! :-D

Sienne--The Coke has to do with my continual fight against the stench of canned cat food. I use an old/empty 3oz FF can as my "measuring cup" for feedings, because 9 Lives comes in 5.5oz cans. The measuring cup always seems to have a little gravy left in it, and let me tell you it STINKS after a few hours. I read somewhere that Coke helps get rid of fish odors, and it's true! So I poured a little Coke in a container, and stored my measuring cup upside down in the Coke. That way the gravy would drain out of the measuring cup into the Coke, and voila! No smell. While this works to get rid of the smell, I fear that if there was a bit of Coke left on the rim of the measuring cup it may have gotten into Sushi's food. I've been rinsing it off but still...
I decided this is all too risky and I am going to try vinegar instead of Coke.
 
I wouldn't use vinegar -- any residual smell may cause Sushi to not eat. I'd suggest a few alternatives. Run hot water and soak the can. Milk may also be an alternative. Soaking the can in baking soda and water may also be OK. Other than using hot water, make sure you thoroughly rinse the can.
 
:-D :YMHUG: good to see you too! i'm missing all our FDMB friends!

i'd rinse in hot water til the can is empty, personally. then let it dry in between feedings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top