? Dose Advice 4/9 Lulu AMPS 236,+5-121,+7-185, PMPS-293,+2-176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori & Lulu

Member Since 2015
Got up in the middle of the night to try and get a test and ended up with not enough blood (error msg) and a very hostile Lulu; didn`t bother trying again, she was not happy with me at all, growling and fussing:(. When I get up, everybody expects some breakfast, so gave them each a tsp of FF to placate them and then went back to bed. The AMPS test is the lowest it`s been, so here`s hoping for some blue today.
 
Yellows and blues for my girl today, things are looking better. I'm still not sure when a dosage adjustment is in order, I've read so much, my mind is muddled. She's been on exclusively wet food for 7 days now. @Wendy&Neko what do you suggest? Because of a temporary medical condition, it's really tough for me wake up to do nighttime tests, but I'll do my best if it's an absolute necessity.
 
Could you change your subject title to include something like "Dose advice?". That way you'll hear from more people.

Are you following the TR protocol or the Start Low Go Slow method? The advice would differ depending on which you are following for dosing. It'll also help to put that in your signature so you don't keep getting asked that question.
 
I guess what I really want to know is which is the better method to follow. We're currently on the SLGS method, which I seem to recall was recommended when I first joined, as Lulu was still on a partially dry food diet. Now that she's been on a fully wet/raw diet for a week, should I change to the TR protocol? I may sound confused and ask dumb questions--I'm being treated for a temporary medical condition, which I feel is affecting my thinking a bit. Once I get some feedback on the appropriate protocol for Lulu, I can follow the directions as laid out in each method.
 
Ask as many questions as you need until it's clear. No worries. Learning all of this can be overwhelming, even if you're not dealing with a medical issue.

You're testing enough to follow Tight Reg. The main difference in the two is the speed - with TR you can adjust the dose as often as 3 days. With SLGS it's once a week. You also have to test at least 3 times a day with TR.

I'd go ahead and increase by 0.25u.

Since you've got issues that interfer with night tests, I'd get a timed feeder and train her to eat from it. It can be a little insurance at night. I loved the Petsafe 5 Compartment feeder because you can set the times that you want, and you can have 4 closed compartments to open. A lot of people use it.
 
Thank you Julie, I currently leave food out for them because I'm concerned that Lulu will fall too low after her pm shot. I'll pick up the feeder tomorrow, I've read a lot of good things about it on here.
She's already had her pm shot so I'll start the .25u increase in the morning. I also received the baby scale I ordered, and she's maintaining her weight (she could stand to lose another 4 lbs, but I don't want her to do it because of unregulated diabetes -- she already lost 8 lbs because of it).
I so appreciate your help! I worry so much about my Lulu.
P.S. I also have a beautiful orange boy like your GA Punkin -- he is such the biggest lovebug pussycat I've ever had.
 
Are you saying that sweet fluffy little Lulu was 12ish pounds overweight when she became diabetic?:eek: If so, you do want her to continue losing weight, just make sure it's very slow. Fat is the enemy of diabetes, but as you probably know, cats have to lose weight very slowly so their liver doesn't clog with fat (fatty liver.)

Punkin was a big lovebug pussycat too. He liked to be attached to my body - i even carried him around the house on my hip like a toddler. He wasn't a lap cat, he liked to be on your chest. I miss him like crazy. I've had many cats, but no other kitty quite like him.
 
The pic of Lulu is a few years old. She has been on a diet for quite some time now, losing slowly, but when I noticed that she started rapidly losing weight, drinking lots and peeing a LOT, I took her to the vet, where they did a complete blood panel. That's when they discovered diabetes, mild electrolyte imbalance, and pancreatitis. Vet rx weekly shots of B12 for the pancreatitis, Lantus for diabetes, and advised that the electrolyte imbalance was a result of the high rate of urination.

Otis may be related to your Punkin, they sound so alike. He lays on my chest at night, drooling and staring into my eyes as I give him scritches and rubs, and tell him what a beautiful boy he is. Follows me everywhere. I, too, have never had a kitty like him, I adore him. When I adopted him from the Humane Society, they had performed orthopedic surgery on both his knees, had repaired some really bad wounds, and there were seven pages of medical records on him. I guess they could see what a special boy he is and was worth saving, I'm sure his vet bills were well into the thousands. When I saw him with the collar around his neck, I knew he was mine and I was his.
 
aw, that's how i felt about punkin too. I had taken my youth group to volunteer at the humane society and one of the girls was insisting that i hold him. I sat down with him in my lap and he just melted in and turned on his purr. You could hear him purr in the next room and he would purr for a couple of hours at a time. Of course the teens were all "take him!" and i said i didn't have my checkbook (back in pre-debit card days) and another of the adults with us said she'd pay and I could pay her back. I said "my husband will be mad if I bring home a cat" and the kids said "we'll go with you. he won't get mad in front of us."

And that's how he came home with us. Of course my husband wasn't mad - he's a softy. After we got punkin home he spent the next 6 months either behind the washing machine or the refrigerator. I thought I'd gotten deceptive advertising, LOL. I'd wanted a lap cat and i got a fraidy cat. But once he got used to us he was completely bonded.

When I was talking with our last vet about how amazed I was that punkin had sat in the shelter cage for about 3 months before I adopted him, and how beautiful he was, she said something about him becoming diabetic and developing acro. I said he didn't have it when I adopted him, and she responded "but he was going to." it always gave me chills, because it's true that we did more for punkin than 99% of people would do. If someone else had adopted him he might've been euthanized upon diagnosis. I'm so glad we had him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top