Dose advice 11/9 Molly AMPS 234

Welcome. This is the best place to post if you are using Lantus. There are a lot of knowledgeable and caring people here that will be happy to help you. Good luck with the new dose.
 
I'm glad to see you over here Adrienne. As you can see, there's a good group who will help you look after Molly in the best way possible! :D And I'll be around too!
 
Adrienne, welcome to you and Molly. I've been here 4 yrs. 2 yrs with previous kitty and 2 going on 3 yrs with current kitty Olive.

For a diabetic kitty this is the best place to be. Ask any questions and someone has the answer.

It can be addictive though.
 
Hello Adrienne and Molly! Welcome to the LB&L forum! We're so glad you joined us! Your SS is spectacular and it looks like you've been testing up a storm!

One suggestion I have for you, it looks like she's been pretty steady in the 'yellows' for the past day or so...now is the time to be super-diligent with testing. Often when they're flat yellow like that they're getting ready to make a run at the lagoon. Luci does it to me more often than I care to remember - and usually at the most inconvenient times (like today!) Look at her SS - she was hanging in the yellows and today (yes, we had plans to go somewhere) she decided to start her day with a nice low blue - and then by 3+ was surfing the lagoon (even with her cast on her week-old broken foot!!!)...so that put the kabash on me going anywhere for any length of time today...

So why do I say to be super-diligent? Because you've increase a bit - and what we hope will happen is that the depot will build up and Molly will make a run for those lovely greens - and you'll want to catch her and do a bit of steering with medium carb foods and increased testing to keep her from losing her dose too soon. It's a bit of a tricky maneuver - trying to outsmart these cats - and it takes a bit of practice, but once you catch her sneaking off to the lagoon, you can start to play around with her food a bit to try to steer her away from the low lows...she pulled that on you and got away with it a while back - on 10/28. So now, you know what she might do and you can take charge of how low you let her go this time - well that is if she decides to go to the lagoon today or tonight...it's hard to say how full the depot is...but once it's full, then it's time to watch her carefully.

I hope this makes sense...it took me a while to catch on and catch Luci before she would get too low...and would then end up getting a reduced dose...and then her numbers would come up and we'd have to start over again...there was a long road of up/down, up/down with Luci....

So, keep asking questions...and we'll keep trying to answer them as best we can. At any rate...it's a great group of people who are supportive and helpful.

Have a great day!!
 
Hello Adrienne and Molly! Welcome to the LB&L forum! We're so glad you joined us! Your SS is spectacular and it looks like you've been testing up a storm!

One suggestion I have for you, it looks like she's been pretty steady in the 'yellows' for the past day or so...now is the time to be super-diligent with testing. Often when they're flat yellow like that they're getting ready to make a run at the lagoon. Luci does it to me more often than I care to remember - and usually at the most inconvenient times (like today!) Look at her SS - she was hanging in the yellows and today (yes, we had plans to go somewhere) she decided to start her day with a nice low blue - and then by 3+ was surfing the lagoon (even with her cast on her week-old broken foot!!!)...so that put the kabash on me going anywhere for any length of time today...

So why do I say to be super-diligent? Because you've increase a bit - and what we hope will happen is that the depot will build up and Molly will make a run for those lovely greens - and you'll want to catch her and do a bit of steering with medium carb foods and increased testing to keep her from losing her dose too soon. It's a bit of a tricky maneuver - trying to outsmart these cats - and it takes a bit of practice, but once you catch her sneaking off to the lagoon, you can start to play around with her food a bit to try to steer her away from the low lows...she pulled that on you and got away with it a while back - on 10/28. So now, you know what she might do and you can take charge of how low you let her go this time - well that is if she decides to go to the lagoon today or tonight...it's hard to say how full the depot is...but once it's full, then it's time to watch her carefully.

I hope this makes sense...it took me a while to catch on and catch Luci before she would get too low...and would then end up getting a reduced dose...and then her numbers would come up and we'd have to start over again...there was a long road of up/down, up/down with Luci....

So, keep asking questions...and we'll keep trying to answer them as best we can. At any rate...it's a great group of people who are supportive and helpful.

Have a great day!!

Thank you for your suggestions! I have a full time job and she has dropped low in the morning. Before I head off to work. I test her before I go and leave out MC depending on BG or HC. I check in on her frequently with a little camera I have set up at home. I drive home at lunch to test her. But with winter here. There maybe days that I won’t be able to make it. Home for lunch due to the weather any suggestions?
 
Adrienne --

I also worked full time when Gabby was with me. I don't know if my solution would work for you. Also, Gabby had an early nadir and is looks like Molly may have some occasions where her nadir is early so, like I said, my solution may not be feasible. My shot time was at 5:00. This gave me the to get a couple of AM tests in before I left at around 7:30. The tests informed my decision about what carb food to leave in her feeder. I was home by a few minutes after 5:00 for her PMPS. I realize not everyone wants to be up at 5 AM but it worked for us. (Now if I could only convince Gizmo that he doesn't need to wake be at 5:00 for his breakfast...)
 
Thank you for your suggestions! I have a full time job and she has dropped low in the morning. Before I head off to work. I test her before I go and leave out MC depending on BG or HC. I check in on her frequently with a little camera I have set up at home. I drive home at lunch to test her. But with winter here. There maybe days that I won’t be able to make it. Home for lunch due to the weather any suggestions?

You may want to get an auto feeder to dispense regular feedings during the day when you're at work. I have one and it works great for Luci when I can't be home (which isn't often)...but it's really helpful when she's in lower numbers - and I don't have to be frantically worried she'll go too low. This is the one I have: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...ital/dp/B000GEWHNS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
You may want to get an auto feeder to dispense regular feedings during the day when you're at work. I have one and it works great for Luci when I can't be home (which isn't often)...but it's really helpful when she's in lower numbers - and I don't have to be frantically worried she'll go too low. This is the one I have: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Automatic-Dispenses-Digital/dp/B000GEWHNS/ref=sr_1_4?crid=1N7GKYOBZTWUN&keywords=automatic cat feeder&qid=1573330467&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&sprefix=automatic,aps,179&sr=8-4

Yes, I have one forgot to mention that. I put some in her dish for the middle of the night.
 
Adrienne --

I also worked full time when Gabby was with me. I don't know if my solution would work for you. Also, Gabby had an early nadir and is looks like Molly may have some occasions where her nadir is early so, like I said, my solution may not be feasible. My shot time was at 5:00. This gave me the to get a couple of AM tests in before I left at around 7:30. The tests informed my decision about what carb food to leave in her feeder. I was home by a few minutes after 5:00 for her PMPS. I realize not everyone wants to be up at 5 AM but it worked for us. (Now if I could only convince Gizmo that he doesn't need to wake be at 5:00 for his breakfast...)

I get up at 5:45 am every morning to test. Shot time is 6 and I leave for work at 7:35-7:40.
 
Hi Adrienne and Molly
It’s good to see you over here. It’s a friendly and very supportive place.

If you are able to document the food and carb content you feed each day and put it in the remarks column of the SS, that would be very helpful. It is good for us to see and you can look back on it and see what works for Mollie. I can see you do it sometimes already. Thanks!
 
Back
Top