dose adjustment

Holtfam6

Member Since 2022
I"m contemplating going to tight regulation with dosing. I'm home 75% of the time and have been timing errands in the morning before insulin kicks in. Only thing I'm concerned about is night. I frequently wake up and check chance but every once in awhile sleep through the night. We really want to try to get him in remission. Don't know if it's possible but it is a goal. Chance was doing really well with 2.75 but yesterday and we are thinking the night before, he broke into the dog's dry food. Yes, he knows how to pop latches. We have since resorted to duct taping the dog's food and placing a case of water on it for weight. He know is resorting to shredding the plastic on the water case. My new profile picture is this. There is no cat dry in the house and everyone knows chance loves his dry. My question is should I go up 0.25 or ride this out for a couple cycles? @FrostD @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy
 
So in this case, it doesn't quite matter. He had those green nadirs just a few days ago, so regardless you'd hold the dose.

If I were you, I'd stick with SLGS and instead consider a modified reduction point, such as 75 or 80. See where that takes you. I think reduction point of 90 is too high, because youve seen when you reduce you end up losing progress. But I also don't think you need to push him down to 50 at the moment either, especially with the nighttime troubles.

I would hold this dose for a few more days at least. If you don't see (or estimate) a nadir below 90, you can try an increase. Just remember to wait for him to clear bounces before reevaluating.
 
Oh my, he's very determined, isn't he? Can you keep the dog food out in the garage or anything? Is it too hot out there? Is it in a closet? We keep our dry cat food (for the feral cats or Dr. Elsey's for the civvies) in a utility closet.

Does he get any crunchy treats like PureBites freeze dried chicken? Some people use the Ziwi Peak dried foods for their crunch lovers.

He still looks very thin. Has he gained any weight?
 
He's holding steady at 13.6. Normally before illness he was around 15 pounds. I thought he was losing too so my daughter has been doing daily or every few day weights to see. he eats 2-3 cans of the fancy feast pate a day or sometimes we switch out one can for the purely fancy feast with no carbs. It's hard because sometimes he acts hungry but then his sugar would be in the 300s or above continuously so if you have any advice on feeding that would be great. He doesn't like the treats. We tried that. Sometimes he likes to eat a few pieces of raw meat. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Back
Top