Marci and Buddy said:
trying to get Buddys #'s back to blues so went to last dose which produced that,1.25, but not working now.
I think my mistake was that when he his bg was 145 at pmps 3 weeks ago,i should have waited and not have shot him, so dose reduction wouldnt have taken place, and may not be here now. anyway-wondering if i should go back to alittle less, or more
in shot tonight. think i have enough time on 1.25 u to see it's not quite right. Help very much appreciated .
Maybe, but as you know this insulin works best if shot on a consistent schedule, with a consistent dose and shooting low to stay low usually applies.
But I know I have lowered the dose on lower preshots at times and it usually works out. But other times I kick myself for doing so.
Anyway, when you gave the karo three weeks ago it probably contributed to that high number the next morning and the fat one unit just wasn't enough to bring him down from there after that. The 'shed' emptied somewhat and glucose toxicity set in with the higher numbers.
Then you raised the dose after a few cycles and started to see some blues again.
I would be inclined to raise the dose, whether or not you want to try the 1.30 dose again, or just do 1.50 since it is easier to measure - as long as you are there to get spot checks. At least with the 1.50 dose you were seeing more blues and greens and less pinks (I know he went a little low with the 39).
But I wonder does he always get the same amount of food at shot time, or does he dilly dally around with his food so that he ends up going low like this at times once the insulin kicks in. I have to make sure Tigger eats enough at shot time, always have, or he will tend to go low earlier in the cycle.
Just my thoughts. As always, see what others say.