dose adjustment help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
trying to get Buddys #'s back to blues so went to last dose which produced that,1.25, but not working now.
I think my mistake was that when he his bg was 145 at pmps 3 weeks ago,i should have waited and not have shot him, so dose reduction wouldnt have taken place, and may not be here now. anyway-wondering if i should go back to alittle less, or more
in shot tonight. think i have enough time on 1.25 u to see it's not quite right. Help very much appreciated .
 
Marci and Buddy said:
trying to get Buddys #'s back to blues so went to last dose which produced that,1.25, but not working now.
I think my mistake was that when he his bg was 145 at pmps 3 weeks ago,i should have waited and not have shot him, so dose reduction wouldnt have taken place, and may not be here now. anyway-wondering if i should go back to alittle less, or more
in shot tonight. think i have enough time on 1.25 u to see it's not quite right. Help very much appreciated .

Maybe, but as you know this insulin works best if shot on a consistent schedule, with a consistent dose and shooting low to stay low usually applies.

But I know I have lowered the dose on lower preshots at times and it usually works out. But other times I kick myself for doing so.

Anyway, when you gave the karo three weeks ago it probably contributed to that high number the next morning and the fat one unit just wasn't enough to bring him down from there after that. The 'shed' emptied somewhat and glucose toxicity set in with the higher numbers.

Then you raised the dose after a few cycles and started to see some blues again.

I would be inclined to raise the dose, whether or not you want to try the 1.30 dose again, or just do 1.50 since it is easier to measure - as long as you are there to get spot checks. At least with the 1.50 dose you were seeing more blues and greens and less pinks (I know he went a little low with the 39).

But I wonder does he always get the same amount of food at shot time, or does he dilly dally around with his food so that he ends up going low like this at times once the insulin kicks in. I have to make sure Tigger eats enough at shot time, always have, or he will tend to go low earlier in the cycle.

Just my thoughts. As always, see what others say.
 
I think Pamela's reasoning is sound. You might try 1.5u to give him a little nudge, if you start tonight you can get some spot checks/curve over the weekend to see how he is doing. He may settle and then go low again and then maybe the 1.25u will work well after that.

I have reacted to one low number (below 40 or even 50) by reducing, but now I am wondering if numbers that are in the upper 30s maybe should have no reduction until it happens again. In other words, is the one 39 (or whatever) caused by some other variable than an over-full insulin depot? Maybe they ate less, or exercised more or something.

I also reduced after Jeddie hit 39 a few weeks ago and now his numbers are rising too....
 
You have a couple options. One is to make a 20% increase in dose to 1.5U to try to break the toxicity Pamela mentioned, although I don't really see evidence of that as he gets reaction to the 1.25U dose.

The other is to make tiny upward adjustments. I see you have used some tenth measurements in the past, so if you're comfortable with your drawing/measuring technique to get a measure like 1.3 or 1.35, that is what I consider fine tuning the dose. It could very well be that 1.25 is just not quite enough to lock in a steady cycle but 1.5U could be too much.

I am in the same place with Gandalf right now, although his shot schedule is always a factor which makes it difficult for me to maintain a steady dose. I always get better success when I increase in very small amounts of less than 10%.

There is such a need for 1/10cc syringes with this insulin it's not even funny.
 
sorry havent been able to log on for few days-thanks for your all replies. As always just what i needed to help Buddy.
i did go up just a little to 130, maybe 135, a nd his bg went down to 55 :-D . Next morn amps was too low to shoot consistantly, so gave
him 1 u , b/c I had to leave for the day. so now i think we're in rebound. back to 300's! plan to wait and see what 1.30 brings over next few days and go up to a slim 1.5 , if need be. Like Gandalf, he is soo sensitive to slight changes, going slowly makes best sence...does this sound like a plan?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top