Dosage question - 3/8 Jezebel AMPS 267 PMPS 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
I am more the silent lurker type but you folks have been invaluable in helping me understand FD, figure out the proper dosage and get my Jezebel on the right track (and special thanks to Wendy&Tiggy for her patience with me at the start).

Anyhow - I've held the dosage at .75U Lantus for about a week now and have been able to catch a few nadirs - since they were running >100 and her preshots are >200 I was going to follow Rand and increase her dose to 1 unit this weekend because I can be around to watch and test.

But yesterday I did a bedtime check and got a +4 47 - she seemed fine and so I just put a snack out and headed off to bed. As you can see - she seems to consistently run higher in the morning, and thats what got me thinking I needed to bring the dose up - to try to get her daytime nadir in the greens.

I know there aren't as many eyes here as in the TR forum, but this is the board I've been lurking on and I kinda feel like I know you guys even though you don't know me ;-)

I feed Friskies pate with shots and then leave some frozen FF pate for a lunchtime snack when I work - and another FF in the evenings if I find they've devoured everything before I head off to bed. (I have a second civilian furball, but he actually respects her food bowl - I can't say she does the same).

So do you folks think should I increase her dose or keep it where it is for another week?

Thanks,
Em and Jez
 
Hi Hon, I'm still pretty new too, so dose advice I don't have. My concern at this time, would be the 47 that you got.

Hang around for a bit, there will be others here soon that have more experience and might be able to give you some insight. Right now, a lot of them are having dinner and tending to their broods. :-D

And if you haven't been, let me welcome you! :-D
 
Hang on I will be right back to answer your question I need to run real quick and feed my zoo and give Autumn her insulin but I will return in about 10 minutes to answer you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Okay back again...I was about to loose ankles if I didn't get the fur gang fed lol I had been out shopping and they were starving.

Actually from what I am seeing on your spreadsheet for her, I would drop her dose to .5u and hold that as she has had several low 40s that if you are following Rand protocol would have earned her a .25u reduction since she is newly dxed. I think what you are seeing right now in those higher numbers is that she is going very low, her liver is reacting and tossing out counterregulatory hormones to stave off hypo and because of that she is swinging up higher.

That is one of the hardest things to figure out in the beginning because too much insulin can look exactly like too little insulin if you don't catch those super lows. So if she was Autumn and I was seeing what you are seeing now I would drop back to .5u hold for a week and re-evalute then I think you are very close to her ideal dose and may just need to smooth out the swings and then fine tune the dose from there by either fattening or skinnying it up. But we can cross that bridge when we come to it.

I definitely wouldn't raise her as she is already going very low and not leaving any real wiggle room on .75u.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thank you Mel,

I appreciate the advice and I'll take her down tomorrow, and I also really appreciate the explanation.....Part of my confusion is that she's almost a different kitty AM/PM - and she's not overly active at night nor do I leave food out - so I don't know what's got her BG up in the am - unless she's just excited about me waking up :).
 
Re: Dosage question - 3/8 Jezebel AMPS 267 PMPS 199 +4 231

nckitties3 said:
Hi Hon, I'm still pretty new too, so dose advice I don't have. My concern at this time, would be the 47 that you got.

Hang around for a bit, there will be others here soon that have more experience and might be able to give you some insight. Right now, a lot of them are having dinner and tending to their broods. :-D

And if you haven't been, let me welcome you! :-D

Thank you - I've been reading your for a while and I think you're doing an awesome job with your fur child - and I appreciate the welcome.

The first time she went low I was pretty worried about it....But when it happened last week - she actually had come over to where I was doing laundry and demanded food which is what made me test the +4.....So she seems to be one of those cats who recognizes when she needs to eat.....and that's made me a bit calmer about the green zone....but its also made me decide I won't shoot below 165.

But I shouldn't have to worry about her tonight - she must have heard rumors of a change cause she's going up instead of down, lol....
 
I actually kind of expected she would be, because she is still trying to clear the bounce off the 47, since that can take up to 72 hours to clear.
But Yeah drop her back to .5u tomorrow morning and hold that for awhile and see if she doesn't level off a little more...basic rule of thumb is anything below 50 earns a reduction of .25u on a newly dxed like Jez, anything under 40 is for long term insulin dependent diabetics like my Autumn.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top