Dosage increases without Vet

I did. Just incase. I've purchased a timed feeder from Amazon today. I think it was the cat mate one with 5 sections. I'm going to see how that goes. My other cat bill may steal some of Georges food if George doesn't get there first but I think we'll be okay. I could only afford the one and if I set up a second one George will steal bills
 
I believe we said we would drop him back down to 2.75 for a bit to see how it goes and if it really looks like he needs 3 units.
 
that's what I thought but I couldn't remember for sure. Better to ask the same question twice than to do the wrong thing. I appreciate all your patience with me. You've been such a great help. I don't know what I'd have done without you.
 
I set up his auto feeder, seems to be working great. I'm hoping he wont just camp out nest to it waiting for food but I have a feeling that will happen. Had yellow numbers at AMPS and has dipped into blue. I think we're at his nadir right now at 7.2 (130). I'm so happy seeing all these lower numbers!
 
It is nice, isn’t it? I am happy that he stayed quite a long time in blue. That’s very good. I would like to see the nadirs go down into green, but all things in good time. He is definitely making progress and that’s what matters.
 
I hope he will figure out the auto-feeder too. Some cats absolutely love them- as soon as they hear them make the sound like they’re going to open, the cats are right there. Some cats have been known to force them open, too.
 
I certainly hope he wont try to force it! He definitely knows how to use it. Seeing his numbers as low as they have been makes all the cost and time and energy worth it.
 
I certainly hope he wont try to force it! He definitely knows how to use it. Seeing his numbers as low as they have been makes all the cost and time and energy worth it.
It does! It’s actually exciting. How does he seem to you? Is he feeling well when he’s in these lower numbers?
 
That’s okay. I like to see a cat with a good appetite! I have a couple of crazy Siamese here who act like they’ve never been fed — at every meal. I actually wish they would slow down.
 
Yeah hes got a voracious appetite. Thank you. He is such a sweet boy. Sometimes a trouble makers, and likes to nibble on feet (weirdo :P) but hes super lovey and so soft. I love picking him up and burying my face in his tummy. I love him so much.
 
It is nice, isn’t it? I am happy that he stayed quite a long time in blue. That’s very good. I would like to see the nadirs go down into green, but all things in good time. He is definitely making progress and that’s what matters.
He went from blue (149) to yellow (274) in a span of 2 hours.. is that bouncing or is the insulin wearing off?
 
upload_2025-4-9_20-54-44.jpeg
upload_2025-4-9_20-55-9.jpeg
upload_2025-4-9_20-55-37.jpeg
upload_2025-4-9_20-56-4.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-9_20-54-44.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_20-54-44.jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 305
  • upload_2025-4-9_20-55-9.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_20-55-9.jpeg
    47.3 KB · Views: 307
  • upload_2025-4-9_20-55-37.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_20-55-37.jpeg
    33 KB · Views: 310
  • upload_2025-4-9_20-56-4.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-9_20-56-4.jpeg
    58.8 KB · Views: 301
He went from blue (149) to yellow (274) in a span of 2 hours.. is that bouncing or is the insulin wearing off?
Well, it was getting late in the cycle when he started to rise. At what point in the cycle do you stop feeding him. I always recommend not feeding after the typical nadir number because it can cause numbers to rise prematurely. I am not saying this is what happened with that particular cycle, but it’s a good time to talk about it.
 
I tested him about 30 mins after his shot and he was 8.8 (158).. I'm unsure how to record this in his SS but I took my best guess. Retesting in an hour.
 
Morning testing showed 5.3 mmol (95) so he did not receive any Insuling this morning. I'm testing him again before I got to work and his auto feeder is set up. I'll test him as soon as I'm home from work
 
His numbers are nice and low in the mornings and I'm not comfortable giving him any insulin at 5mmol (90's) as I'm unsure how much to give him his up in the 19/20s (300) by pmps. Am I doing the right thing by not giving him any insulin in the morning when he's that low?
 
What was his AMPS? Then you tested again at half an hour after his shot? That should go into the +1 cell and say 158@ .5
I'm starting to worry about him having low numbers at AMPS because I do not know what to give him in terms of Insulin but his numbers spike in the the 300s or higher in the afternoons... Is this okay?
 
I'm starting to worry about him having low numbers at AMPS because I do not know what to give him in terms of Insulin but his numbers spike in the the 300s or higher in the afternoons... Is this okay?
No. We need to work out a dose that is safe. I looked at the skipped shot earlier in the weekend and was waiting to see how high he would climb. Let me take a look at his spreadsheet.
 
Today would have been a good day to try a 2 unit dose and see if it would keep him under control. Sorry. I should have mentioned this earlier.
Let me know what your schedule os like this week. If you have any days where you will be at home and/what hours you will be home. Maybe be can try a fee doses.
 
It’s really great to see those greens! That is so healthy for him. We really want to keep him out of pinks and yellows for as much of the time as we can because it’s harder on his kidneys and other organs. We will get there!
 
This coming week is gonna be really hard. I'm working everyday except friday. There is 2 morning shift the rest are afternoon/evenings. Monday I have to leave right after AMPS and won't be home until (+6\6.5) pm, Tues. I have to leave the house by 330 (+6) and wont be home until PMPS, Wed I have to leave by 1130 (+2) and wont be home until 630 (+9), Thurs I leave right after AMPS and wont be home till PMPS. Fri, I'm off, and Sat I leave at 2 (+4) and wont be home till PMPS. I have a rough week...
My roommate works from home tue- thurs and I could ask her to check his glucose for me while I am gone but I feel like its a big ask.
 
This coming week is gonna be really hard. I'm working everyday except friday. There is 2 morning shift the rest are afternoon/evenings. Monday I have to leave right after AMPS and won't be home until (+6\6.5) pm, Tues. I have to leave the house by 330 (+6) and wont be home until PMPS, Wed I have to leave by 1130 (+2) and wont be home until 630 (+9), Thurs I leave right after AMPS and wont be home till PMPS. Fri, I'm off, and Sat I leave at 2 (+4) and wont be home till PMPS. I have a rough week...
My roommate works from home tue- thurs and I could ask her to check his glucose for me while I am gone but I feel like its a big ask.
We will work it out. We will do our best. It takes time.
 
21.3 (383) PMPS. 2.75 units given. I'm going to stay up and test him on 2 hours but then I'll need to sleep for work. I will get up early and test him 2 hours before AMPS
Okay. I was going to suggest we experiment with a reduced dose tonight to see if he will not be green in the morning. With your work schedule, we may have to experiment with a reduced dose to keep him running a little higher. I don’t really like it, but we have to deal with things the way that they are. Either that or we will have to try some reduced doses for when he is green at AMPS. We will have to try them on a day where you don’t leave at AMPS or at +2.
 
Back
Top