Nisha & George
Member
He's at 5.9 (106). I have a neighbour coming over to check on him while I'm at work. I will test him again in an hour. How low is too low?
With ProZinc we have to give a little more consideration to the preshot BG test numbers
The Prozinc Dosing methods used on this forum help pick a safe dose for your cat based on how LOW kitty's current dose is taking him at the nadir, not only on how high his Pre-Shot BG is.
He's at 5.9 (106). I have a neighbour coming over to check on him while I'm at work. I will test him again in an hour. How low is too low?
For the beginning, with ProZinc, we start with the Start Low Go Slow method of dosing while we gather data on the spreadsheet and get to see George’s patterns. The target nadir for SLGS is 90-150. After a few weeks, many cats will be able to move to the Modified ProZinc Method and our target nadirs will be lower (50-120).
Thanks for adding in the post from Suzanne. I forgot about it... I'm twisting up with worry. I'm glad hes in a good range of where we want to be. Just haven't been here before at this time of day. Plus I wont be home all day... I wish this had happened yesterday haha.Your target nadir is 90-150, but down to 50 is still safe for your cat.
Snack given.Hi Nisha - waving from KW
Yes, give George a snack and test again in 20 minutes please.
Hooray! Shelley.Hi Nisha - waving from KW
Yes, give George a snack and test again in 20 minutes please.
I don't have any "high carb" food right now. I'm going to get some before work if I have time. I gave him the food I have that is 6%carbsIt looks like he went back up to 74. That is good. We want to keep him above 50. Did you just give him his regular food for a snack or did you give high carb food?
Yes. He’s rising without the aid of any HC. That is perfect. Have a good afternoon. I will check in with you later.He's 5.3 now. I'm confident that he's rising so I'm going to go to work and have my neighbour check in on him (I didn't get a chance to teach her how to do glucose checks but I've left the hypo tool kit printout for her and told her symptoms etc of what to look for and how to respond. She has my work number and the number for the emergency vet.
Oh yes. Buy some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers foods. Today showed you what he can do with just the 6% LC though. Many people run to HC when they should not. Try the LC first.I don't have any "high carb" food right now. I'm going to get some before work if I have time. I gave him the food I have that is 6%carbs
He is doing great. Making progress. And you didn’t panic! I am proud of you.And thank you to everyone else too. This has been scary.
It’s a perfectly safe number, but I totally understand. I panicked the first time I saw a similar number. I gave a whole can of FF Gravy Lovers. Darcy loved it, but that was the wrong thing to do!Well I panicked a little. I called my job and told them I might not be able to come in. In hindsight that might have been a bit drastic. That 3.5 really scared me.
Maybe it's because the meter I use lights up with yellow for high numbers green for good and red for low and it lit up red so my brain was alarm bellsIt’s a perfectly safe number, but I totally understand. I panicked the first time I saw a similar number. I gave a whole can of FF Gravy Lovers. Darcy loved it, but that was the wrong thing to do!
I'm not sure I understood everything in that note attachment but it sort of made sense.Lovely cycle so far (looks even better on the world tab!)
Here's a document that explains the importance of that +2 test you got today (roughly a 40% drop from PS) and what it might have meant for the rest of the cycle today.
Why the +2 test is important
I've just updated it now. I have overnight numbers. I might just have to add the numbers that aren't showing up in the US tab manually.Also, Nisha, please update your spreadsheet with yesterday’s numbers. I see nothing since yesterday afternoon.
Yes. Home all day todayCan you test again in 2 hours?
Me too! I'm just putting his pmps I to the ssI like seeing the blues on his spreadsheet today.
7.8 this morning... How much insulin should I give him?I like seeing the blues on his spreadsheet today.
Hmmm. A lot of the time George seems to nadir early at around +4 (or earlier.) Maybe he won’t do that today? You will be home a little longer?Just tested him. 8.1 (146)
Yes. I'll be home until about +6Hmmm. A lot of the time George seems to nadir early at around +4 (or earlier.) Maybe he won’t do that today? You will be home a little longer?
@Marje and Gracie can you help with this spreadsheet? I noticed that the World tab has more numbers in it that aren’t translating over to the U.S. tab (see yesterday’s cycle- April 5.)
I will be looking at the U.S. tab and it’s going to be difficult for me to see what’s going on and make recommendations if I only have part of the picture (and most others here would also be looking at the U.S. tab as well.)
Nisha….i will send you a private message so please check your inbox and then I can get info to fix the SS. Thank you.sorry, I'll be home till +5. miscounted the hours.
He seems to be holding at 5.1 at least for the last 30 mins. I just did a check before I left for work. I won't be able to latest him till about 10 pmHmmm. A lot of the time George seems to nadir early at around +4 (or earlier.) Maybe he won’t do that today? You will be home a little longer?