Dosage help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppp

Member Since 2017
(I was advised to come here for advice on Lantus Kitty (Tut).

New low of 173 this a.m. Gave half regular dose: .75.

Of course, I'm looking forward to his going down, but worried about the possibility of over-dose.

May be worth noting, he is eating (too) well. (A consideration: his lungs will almost surely get him before the diabetes, or excess weight do.)
 
(I was advised to come here for advice on Lantus Kitty (Tut).

New low of 173 this a.m. Gave half regular dose: .75.

Of course, I'm looking forward to his going down, but worried about the possibility of over-dose.

May be worth noting, he is eating (too) well. (A consideration: his lungs will almost surely get him before the diabetes, or excess weight do.)
You might want to add a question mark to this condo. Very busy day and the question notation will get you some quick attention and answers.
 
Hey there and so sorry you didn't any response earlier today about dosage . Since you are newly diagnosed and don't have a lot of data on the SS I understand you wanting to reduce the dose this AM since it was lower than you've seen. If I am reading your Signature correctly, Tut is post steroids, right? If that is the case, often steroids throw kitties into transient diabetes which corrects with some insulin support and a low carb diet. The blue number this AM is a good thing and not too low using a human meter but, since you haven't shot a blue number before, I understand your reluctance. Good job shooting the reduced dose this AM . Now you have some more data and you will get comfy shooting a blue the full dose the next time. But, that said, if any questions, post with a ? mark at shot time.

A really good test to get is the +2 . If that number is the same or lower than the Pre -shot number, you will know that the cycle is going to be active and you will need to get some more test at least through the nadir ( +4=+7) to make sure he is safe.
 
Thanks for your reply. Yes, post-steroid.

I didn't get a notice of an alert, so just shot low again (though up from am), without having noticed your note. (He didn't seem as interested in eating as usual -- hmmm.)

I had not heard that about the +2.

I am reading up. A little confused about my end game; it looks like he's not likely to live a long time ... vet says whatever is in his lungs is bad ... so remission may not be the most important thing; just want to give him as long a happy life as possible.
 
Hey there and so sorry you didn't any response earlier today about dosage . Since you are newly diagnosed and don't have a lot of data on the SS I understand you wanting to reduce the dose this AM since it was lower than you've seen. If I am reading your Signature correctly, Tut is post steroids, right? If that is the case, often steroids throw kitties into transient diabetes which corrects with some insulin support and a low carb diet. The blue number this AM is a good thing and not too low using a human meter but, since you haven't shot a blue number before, I understand your reluctance. Good job shooting the reduced dose this AM . Now you have some more data and you will get comfy shooting a blue the full dose the next time. But, that said, if any questions, post with a ? mark at shot time.

A really good test to get is the +2 . If that number is the same or lower than the Pre -shot number, you will know that the cycle is going to be active and you will need to get some more test at least through the nadir ( +4=+7) to make sure he is safe.


Hi again,

So, below 200 again today, but thought I would be 'bold' this time and shoot his regular 1.5*, but at +2 was at 321; and +6 327 (and +12: 291. He is eating (probably too well), but no food within 2 hours of each test.

Is this a "bounce", indicating his dose is too high? So tired (bronchitis) I just had to guestimate what to do and went down to 1.25. But advice would be appreciated for future.

*I possibly did 'screw' things up, because he missed 2 AM shots (I'm trying to move him back to a 9 a.m. shot, so my husband when be up to give it, when I'm out of town, but forget that, when I take a shower, he decides I might be taking him to the vet [it's been over 2 weeks - he really doesn't like going to the vet], and hides).

Any advice out there appreciated. Thanks.
 
The dose need to be held according to which ever protocol or method you are following. Right now you are switching up the dose too frequently and it's hard to know where the depot is right now. It is hard enough to follow this dance without bronchitis. So ,please feel better soon.

Also, I can't impress upon you enough the importance of getting preshot numbers. So important to know whether it's safe to shoot and glad that lately you have been getting them. Also some more test at least 1/2 way through the cycle will help you to know how low the dose is taking him especially during the PM cycle when lots of kitties go lower. Without that info you are only getting 1/2 the info needed.

If it were me, I'd hold the 1.5 dose for 6 cycles unless of course if he falls below 50 on the human meter and see how the dose is taking him. Get some mid cycle test in to help fill in the SS with valuable data so we can determine what is working for him. Then you will know how to proceed.
 
The dose need to be held according to which ever protocol or method you are following. Right now you are switching up the dose too frequently and it's hard to know where the depot is right now. It is hard enough to follow this dance without bronchitis. So ,please feel better soon.

Also, I can't impress upon you enough the importance of getting preshot numbers. So important to know whether it's safe to shoot and glad that lately you have been getting them. Also some more test at least 1/2 way through the cycle will help you to know how low the dose is taking him especially during the PM cycle when lots of kitties go lower. Without that info you are only getting 1/2 the info needed.

If it were me, I'd hold the 1.5 dose for 6 cycles unless of course if he falls below 50 on the human meter and see how the dose is taking him. Get some mid cycle test in to help fill in the SS with valuable data so we can determine what is working for him. Then you will know how to proceed.

Thanks for your reply. (I think I can tell from his behavior that he is not too low. (I am up at night, feeding); but perhaps people have been fooled...???) I will go back up to 150 as you suggest. I'm surmising that my missing shots may have reduced his "depot", which could explain the subsequent rise in BG vs. the explanation that the dose is too high.

(p.s. I did only reduce once before last night; then -- without seeing any advice what to do next -- came back up slowly.)
 
You have 2 threads currently going with similar info in them. Can you pick one and edit the title to today's date and post a link to the other in whichever you decide is your current thread? It helps others to help you and keep track of what's going on.

(I think I can tell from his behavior that he is not too low. (I am up at night, feeding); but perhaps people have been fooled...???)

It's very possible you would not know until it's too late if you are just going by watching him, if you're up at night anyway to feed him, why not get a test in? Asia tested at 30 one day, and besides being very hungry, she was purring and alert and otherwise acting herself. She has been in the 40s with zero symptoms. It's not at all uncommon.
 
You have 2 threads currently going with similar info in them. Can you pick one and edit the title to today's date and post a link to the other in whichever you decide is your current thread? It helps others to help you and keep track of what's going on.



It's very possible you would not know until it's too late if you are just going by watching him, if you're up at night anyway to feed him, why not get a test in? Asia tested at 30 one day, and besides being very hungry, she was purring and alert and otherwise acting herself. She has been in the 40s with zero symptoms. It's not at all uncommon.
I would be glad to get the 2 threads together if I could follow. I'll see if I can figure out how to edit a title.
 
I would be glad to get the 2 threads together if I could follow. I'll see if I can figure out how to edit a title.
Just click on one of your threads and use the "thread tools" on the right and select edit title. Change the title to "12/5 Tut dosing help" or whatever you want and then put a link to your other thread in that thread, I don't think you can combine them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top