Dosage change

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. I am posting in this forum as I think this forum may suit us best at this time. My Lucy has been on 1.5 units of lantus twice a day for a while and her glucose levels were still high so the vet suggested we go to 2 units twice a day. I told the vet I was anxious about increasing by 0.5 units and that I would try increasing by 0.25 units for a few days though I think the vet is right we will probably have to go to two units. I have given five doses at 1.75 units though two of those doses were a few hours late as I was not able to be home at the time the next dose was due. So I am considering whether to stay at 1.75 units for a few more days or increase to 2 units. Here is the link to our spreadsheet. I am starting to see some lower glucose levels now. Thank you. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _eid#gid=5
 
Hello and welcome to the forum!

I'm not experienced enough to give you dosing advice, but someone will be along be to address your concerns. Looking at Lucy's spreadsheet, it seems like you're getting close to good numbers.
 
Thank you April for your warm welcome and I hope we will get even better glucose levels soon. Best wishes to you and Madison too.
 
Hi. I'm curious what did your vet say when you said you weren't going to go to two units when they told you to? I am also not dosing as vet suggested but what this forum has suggested (but she doesn't know that yet).

Juliet and Silver
 
Good morning Voula and Welcome to Relaxed Lantus!

Looking at Lucy's spreadsheet I think your safe to take her to 2u.

Quick question. What's Lucy's current diet?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Never mind I spotted the answer in your signature. :oops: I'm still prying my eyes open ~O)

Mel and The Fur Gang

I have that ~O) problem too. Hard going trying to test, feed and shoot BEFORE my cuppa!
 
Hi Juliet. Thankfully we have been blessed with a wonderful vet who is open to discussing everything and she was fine with my slower increase in the dose though she did say she felt strongly that we needed to increase to 2 units soon. But she respected my anxiety about going to 2 units so said it was fine to try 1.75 units for a few days but felt we would have to go to 2 units to see better results in the blood glucose tests.
 
Hi Mel. Thank you so much for replying and I think you and the vet are right that a change to 2 units is needed and will be safe too. I just did a blood glucose test at 6+ and it was 19.2/345 so I think we will increase to 2 units now. I feed fancy feast classics but occasionally feed Dine which has not caused any obvious consistent increase in glucose levels though I did give Lucy some Dine to eat earlier on and then we got the higher reading so today I will review my food records and see if there is any association with higher glucose levels and types of food. Dine is meant to be fed only occasionally as it is not a properly balanced food but it is useful in helping to do the blood glucose testing as Lucy loves it and it helps me to do the tests by reducing stress as Lucy loves this food. It is just meat and a gelling agent called carrageenan which I have recently read conflicting information about which some sources say might raise glucose levels and other sources say it lowers glucose levels so I might stop feeding it and try plain tuna or chicken as a treat instead. I know carrageenan could be problematic for people and animals who have IBD so I generally don't like to feed foods with carrageenan in them but we don't have any issues with IBD. Thank you again.
 
I think you are always going to get conflicting reports on foods that raise or lower BGs especially in cats. I know with my 3 diabetics what one will spike on another actually drops on. Makes it a tough balancing act here. As Autumn spikes through the moon on beef, which of course has to be Cassanova's favorite food in the world and he actually drops on it. :roll:

One thing I found helpful in tracking just what is and isn't the culprit is to try to feed a single flavor the entire day and keep track of what the blood sugar levels did that day. I've seen in 4 years on this board cats spike on some of the weirdest things that no one would have thought to be a problem. Like dried egg solids in food causing a significant spike in levels but feeding fresh cooked whole eggs off their own plate didn't phase the cat's levels. So its always good to not only watch the base flavor but the other ingredients to see if there is a correlation between something besides the main protein source and the spike.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thank you Mel and feeding the same food all day makes sense. I will try that thank you.
 
Maybe we did have a food spike at 6+ after last night's insulin dose as the blood glucose was 19.2/345 at that time. The AMPS was 14.2/255 so lower than last night's reading at six hours after the insulin dose. I increased the dose according to the vet's instructions to 2 units.
 
I just went to look at your spreadsheet and it said it wasn't published. Think there's a setting to automatically publish updates?

I'm following your progress with interest.

Juliet
 
Oh that reminds me Voula when you have time can I ask you to link Lucy's spreadsheet to your signature so that its there every time you post. Makes it easier to be able to check in from time to time rather than having you have to repost the link all the time.

Thanks,

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Juliet and Mel thank you again. I am going to put the link to our spreadsheet in my signature now.
 
hi Voula & Lucy
just wanted to say welcome to the board.
it's great to have you two here.
 
Lucy's spreadsheet

Hi everyone. I would like some feedback on Lucy's spreadsheet and glucose levels please as I think we will have to increase the insulin dose again soon. I will do a glucose curve tomorrow again. Thank you.
 
Hey Voula and Lucy. I want feed back on mine too so I posted s new thread. I think that helps. I also messaged Mel and asked her to take a look.

My Silver is bouncing a lot today. Highs and lows.
 
Hi Juliet. I will look at your spreadsheet now even though I don't have enough experience to comment on it.
 
Hi Juliet. It is interesting about the spike that Silver has before the fourth increased dose. I will be interested in what the experienced members say about those spikes at those times.
 
Voula said:
Hi Juliet. It is interesting about the spike that Silver has before the fourth increased dose. I will be interested in what the experienced members say about those spikes at those times.

Yeah I noticed that hence my comment in the notes. Start a thread with today's date so it jumps to the top and is seen.

Juliet
 
Okay thank you Juliet. I wasn't sure if I had to keep adding to my original post or start a new post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top