Thank you very much, I appreciate your support. I decided already about increasing the dose. But my anxiety is if I get a similar number tomorrow I will keep increasing the dose every 12 hours?Since Mikes dropped under 90 and you are doing SLGS, I think you should drop the dose by .25 at your next shot time. That’s what Gill advised yesterday.
Do you agree?
@Gill & George
No, you will decrease the dose (not increase) since Mikes dropped under 90.Thank you very much, I appreciate your support. I decided already about increasing the dose. But my anxiety is if I get a similar number tomorrow I will keep increasing the dose every 12 hours?![]()
Thank you!!! My English are awful. I completely understand the procedure. One last question. Is it possible for an hypo tonight, his has +7 138.No, you will decrease the dose (not increase) since Mikes dropped under 90.
Anytime he drops under 90 you reduce (lower his dose) by .25 units immediately.
And hold that dose for 7 days (14 cycles). Unless he drops under 90 you reduce again.
And I want to ask about the amount of food during the hypo. I gave him to much today.Thank you!!! My English are awful. I completely understand the procedure. One last question. Is it possible for an hypo tonight, his has +7 138.
138 is very safe. But you may want to check him later to see if he does lower again.Thank you!!! My English are awful. I completely understand the procedure. One last question. Is it possible for an hypo tonight, his has +7 138.
I was afraid to start TR ,he eats wet food what is the difference between the two of them?Hi Alexandra, what food is Mikes eating now? Your signature says Royal Canin Diabetic dry (which is high in carbs) but in your SS I see you're feeding Pro Plan pate?
If you have switched him to a low carb wet food diet, you can follow TR instead of SLGS since you test so much.
Is the wet food low carb?I was afraid to start TR ,he eats wet food what is the difference between the two of them?
Είναι η υγρή τροφή χαμηλή σε υδατάνθρακες;
Η TR μπορεί να είναι τρομακτική στην αρχή, αλλά λαμβάνοντας υπόψη πόσο συχνά κάνετε το τεστ, θα σας δώσει την ευκαιρία να τον διατηρήσετε σε μια δόση όπου μπορεί να περάσει περισσότερο χρόνο σε κανονικούς αριθμούς. Όσο περισσότερο χρόνο περνάει σε greens, τόσο περισσότερες πιθανότητες έχει το πάγκρεάς του να επουλωθεί. Με την TR, θα μειώνατε τη δόση κάτω από 50 και όχι 90 (με ανθρώπινο μετρητή).
SLGS: Διατηρείτε μια δόση για 7 ημέρες (εκτός εάν επιτευχθεί μείωση). Μειώνετε τη δόση όταν η γλυκόζη του αίματος πέσει κάτω από 90 mg/dl (σε ανθρώπινο μετρητή). Στόχος αυτού του πρωτοκόλλου είναι να διατηρηθεί η γάτα στο εύρος 90-150. Αυτό είναι πιο κατάλληλο για φροντιστές που δεν μπορούν να κάνουν τόσες εξετάσεις όσο απαιτεί η TR. Κάνετε μια εβδομαδιαία καμπύλη με SLGS, αλλά συνιστάται επίσης να κάνετε όσο το δυνατόν περισσότερους δειγματοληπτικούς ελέγχους.
Το TR είναι ένα πιο επιθετικό πρωτόκολλο με αυξήσεις τόσο συχνά όσο κάθε 3-5 ημέρες. Μειώσεις επιτυγχάνονται όταν η γλυκόζη αίματος πέσει κάτω από 50 mg/dl (σε ανθρώπινο μετρητή). Στόχος είναι να διατηρηθεί η γάτα στο εύρος 50-100 (που είναι το φυσιολογικό εύρος γλυκόζης αίματος για τις γάτες). Για να ακολουθήσετε το TR, θα χρειαστεί να κάνετε τουλάχιστον ένα ακόμη τεστ ανά κύκλο εκτός από το προ-εμβολιαστικό, δηλαδή 2 τεστ ανά κύκλο ή 4 τεστ την ημέρα. Θα πρέπει επίσης να ταΐζετε μόνο κονσερβοποιημένη τροφή LC και όχι ξηρά τροφή.
Good morning. I've started lantus very late just trying to find a wet food low carb for him. The 1,2 was something that I decided all by my own. Now I want to get used to the new insulin, I can't see her in theIs the wet food low carb?
TR can be scary at first, but considering how much you test, it will give you an opportunity to keep him at a dose where he can spend more time in normal numbers. The more time he spends in greens the more chance his pancreas get to heal. With TR, you would reduce the dose below 50 and not 90 (with a human meter).
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS but it's also recommended that you get in as many spot checks as you can.
TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
ΣΣας Ευχαριστώ πολύ!!! Πολύ σημαντική πληροφορία!Αλεξάνδρα
Τα ρολόγια πάνε μπροστά αύριο, Κυριακή, θυμηθείτε ότι πρέπει να χορηγήσετε το lantus με διαφορά 12 ωρών. Έτσι, αν κάνετε την ένεση στις 7 μ.μ. απόψε το Σάββατο, 12 ώρες αργότερα θα είναι 8 π.μ.
Για να προσαρμόσετε την ώρα, θα μπορούσατε να κάνετε την ένεση στις 7:30 π.μ. και 7:30 μ.μ. την Κυριακή. Στη συνέχεια, τη Δευτέρα το πρωί μπορείτε να κάνετε την ένεση στις 7:00 π.μ., ώστε να επιστρέψετε στο κανονικό σας πρόγραμμα.