Dosage again tonight?- AM vomiting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer and Katie

Member Since 2011
Last night when Katie was below 200, I skipped the insulin, she was really high this morning. She's below 200 again tonight, but I don't want her to jump to high numbers again. I normally give her 1.5 U. What dose could I give her that would help, but not send her hypo?
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Jennifer,
I am looking at her SS right now. Back in a couple minutes....
Carl
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Did she eat well at dinner?
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

I could take a look too. Can you tell me the insulin you use?
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Jennifer,
If you want to give her a shot, you have to do 2 things first. First, you need to make sure she eats okay, and as soon as she does, you need to check her BG again. Before the food starts to kick it up. You need to make sure that her BG is "rising" before you give her a shot. If she eats, and you are sure she is rising, I would give her .5 units. A reduced dose is better than skipping, but with a 180 you don't want to give too much and spend the night awake and worrying about her going too low. If you shoot, make sure and test her a couple hours later too. Post anything you do so people can help if needed.

Carl in SC
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Jennifer, I don't think you need to skip shots altogether when you are 180...or even 150. If you are uncomfortable, you should retest in 1/2 hour to make sure she's going up and shoot a lower dose.
With your dosing it's not a shoot/not shoot proposition....a lower number, but above 150 you may want to give a half dose too.
Are you posting over in the PZI forum.
Lori
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

These lower amps or pmps are actually what you are looking for. You need to get used to shooting them appropriately, lowering your dose...checking on her. You are looking for those single digit mid cycles right?
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Gave 1/2 U after retesting. PMPS +1= 197.

@Lori- Single digits?? She'd be dead if she got that low! I'm looking for those double digit numbers that are good for her, which should be 60-99, right? Isn't the range 60-150? And no, I haven't been posting in the Pzi forum. Should I be?
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Hi Jennifer,
That's good. The 197 is the food boost. Don't be surprised if you get some double-digits tonight. Funny, I read what Lori said, and my brain read "double digits" even though "single" is right there! But we knew what she meant.
60-150 is considered "normal" for a reformed sugarcat. Depends who you ask, but I've seen numbers ranging from 50-120 or 60-150.
You could also have gone with .75 like Lori said. I tend to be too conservative usually when advising shooting low numbers. But she and I said pretty much the same thing at the same time, so that's good.
Posting in the PZI forum could be helpful since you're using that insulin. There aren't anywhere near the number of people there at any given time as there are here or in Lantus Land for instance. Sometimes it is useful to just visit the forum, look at the bottom of the screen and see who is online in that forum. Once you start posting there, the names will become familiar too. I post there more lately, since Bob was a PZI kitty, and the folks that do frequent that forum are very helpful. Several of them have been doing this dance thing for quite some time, so lots of PZI expertise there.
Why is it that our kitties always seem to throw these dosing riddles at us during the PM cycles? It's like they are thinking "after all the times you've screwed up my sleep routine with test and shots and vet visits, let's see how you like it when I screw up yours!" It's a kitty conspiracy!

Carl
 
Re: Dosage again tonight?

Lol, that last statement made me laugh, but I think it could be very true. Katie seems to be doing well this morning; she is very affectionate. Unfortunately, I fell asleep before I could get any more numbers off her. *sigh*
The only weird thing that I have noticed is the past two mornings she has thrown up. It's been right after she drank some water. It's mostly bile, or the water, with the smallest amount of hair in it. Hairballs have dramatically decreased since I started giving her wet food. Could the vomiting just be because she drank too fast?
 
Oh my Jennifer you are so right...no single digits! I of course meant double digits so please don't think I'm a loon ok?
I did'nt look again at your ss but wonder how that .5 went.
Looking now.
Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top