Dosage advice

Can you get a +2 and a +4 tonight? I don’t anticipate any problems, but the +2 will clue you into whether he’s going to do much of a drop or not.
 
And please give a small amount of LC wet food at +2 and +4.

When you get a chance, please set up your signature. Tell me again what you are feeding him and when you are feeding him.
 
These are the syringes I use not sure how to do 1.75


IMG_8869.jpeg
 
If you want to, send me a photo of it so I can confirm (there doesn’t have to be insulin in the syringe— just the position of the plunger.
 
I took a screenshot of your photo and tried to draw a red line between the 1.5 and the 2. I can’t be exact because I had to use my finger. But you get the idea? You will draw the plunger to between those two lines and do your best to eyeball it as close to the center as possible. Okay?
 
Your spreadsheet shows that you still have been shooting 2 units. His new dose was supposed to be 1.75 units starting with last night’s dose. It’s for safety’s sake. You won’t be locked into the 1.75 dose if he doesn’t do well on it. Just give it some days for the dose to settle and if his numbers really creep up we can take him back to 2 units.
 
So today his numbers were 406 pre shot but I preceded with the 1.75 units first day. He’s at 370 +2 and I noticed his thirst came back . But let’s see how it goes!!! 🤞
 
So today his numbers were 406 pre shot but I preceded with the 1.75 units first day. He’s at 370 +2 and I noticed his thirst came back . But let’s see how it goes!!! 🤞
He’s coming down now. He seems to do this periodically (even recently when you had him on 2.5 units - look at January 13 and 14. I think part of it is that he’s not getting good duration from the ProZinc (meaning the previous shot is completely worn off by morning) and some of it is probably his body’s reaction to the lower numbers like the green you caught last night (a good green).

To be fair, we at least need to give it three full days on the 1.75 dose to see if it’s a good dose or if he needs to go back up to 2.

Can you think of anything else that could be contributing to the higher PMPS? Dry food overnight or eating within two hours of AMPS.
 
Numbers looking the same today. Should I stay at the 1.75 for one more day or can/should I go back to 2units
 
Ooooh. I see a 135 on his spreadsheet! Nice blue. He has broken the bounce for now. Sweet! (Or rather not so sweet in the BG department anyway 😁
 
What a fantastic nadir. Hopefully you just fed a spoonful of Low carb and retested. Oftentimes feeding just a little LC helps them surf in green longer.

Reduce his dose tonight to 1.5 units. Congratulations on the reduction.
 
Another reduction eek but okay!!!
Also im trying to stop the free feeding when should I be feeding him??
 
I was going to say you need to increase back to 1.75, but that green today makes me say to hold this dose a little longer. Was there anything different about today that would have led to the lower number?
 
Just been trying to stop the free feeding and started giving him boiled chicken breast which to my surprise he enjoys .
Thank you I’ll keep him on 1.5 👍🏼
That can really improve the numbers. Thanks for telling me that. Let’s keep him at 1.5 for at least three more days and see how it goes. I’m really proud of you. You’re doing such a great job!
 
No. I would not recommend increasing the dose because you have already been seeing nadirs in the greens with the 67 and 72 on January 29. If you increase the dose now you really risk dropping him too low. In fact, on that day he had the green nadirs he earned a reduction down to 1.25 units according to the Start Low Go Slow dosing method.

Is he still eating the dry food sometimes?
 
Back
Top